We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Little cracker!”
Review of Avenue Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Avenue Hotel
Ranked #168 of 375 Hotels in Amsterdam
Reviewed November 28, 2012

I've stayed in quite a few hotels in Amsterdam, some good and some not so good. The Avenue however ticks all the boxes, on this occasion we only stayed one night but we could not fault it. Nice sized room (212) comfy bed & pillow. Clean all round the hotel, great staff and free (fast) Wifi included. For the price you won't find many better! Great location and if you have a car it's only about 20mtr from the car park entry too. oh and a hot breakfast too not just the usual hum drum cold cheese and meats. Quality hotel for a budget price 10/10 from us, thank you.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Philip S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,590)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

702 - 708 of 1,590 reviews

Reviewed November 26, 2012

I enjoyed staying at this beautiful hotel. It is close to the city centre and most of the main attractions including the red light district. The staff were very helpful in directing us around Amsterdam and answering any other questions we had. Breakfast was included with the price. This was in the form of a buffet and had a fabulous range of different foods- anything you could want for breakfast! I would definitely stay here again if I return to Amsterdam!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lucieeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2012

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
2  Thank Daleg_10
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed November 24, 2012

I will make it short and sweet.

Hotel was ok standard wise, everything we needed for a city break as we spend most of our days out and about not cooped up in a room watching tv.
Location was perfect 2 minute walk to Dam Square, 10 minute tram ride to the museams and to the Iamsterdam sign (typicall tourist I am taking a million photos of it).

Amsterdam is barking mad!! but its why I keep going back I love the buzz of the place, just keep an eye out for the scroungers.
P.S take plenty of pocket money, its not the cheapest city.

Room Tip: as high as possible to get less noice from the busy streets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TCtravelagent1992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2012

Hotel good and clean, I was given bottom room beside reception which was spacious but with steep steps to the toilet, Very dangerous if drunk or infirm and the room was adjacent to the street so noisy in morning, But cant fault hotel other than that, only advice I would give is update webiste with exact location and how to get from centraal station as there are one or two side streets to access to get you there exactly.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
2  Thank FORELAND
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

Good breakfast buffet, though cheeses should be covered overnight, dried out edges after two days. Clean room, but pillows are of the worst quality and should be replaced - flat and lumpy.
Centrally located, near main railroad station, good restaurants and shops nearby.

Room Tip: bring your own pillow
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1kearsarge2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2012

Hotel location fab . Hotel breakfast varied n yum
Hotel free wifi great
Service great
Foyer lovely
Only bad thing was our room stank every time we went out n came back it was gross not sure exactly what it was
I wanted complain but hubby didnt want me too

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank uptowngirl01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Singel Hotel Amsterdam
Singel Hotel Amsterdam
#178 of 375 in Amsterdam
968 reviews
Centrum
Hotel The Exchange
Hotel The Exchange
#118 of 375 in Amsterdam
1,264 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Sint Nicolaas
Hotel Sint Nicolaas
#54 of 375 in Amsterdam
997 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam
Centrum
Ibis Styles Amsterdam Central Station
Centrum
Nova Hotel Amsterdam
Nova Hotel Amsterdam
#120 of 375 in Amsterdam
1,072 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avenue Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avenue Hotel

Address: Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 33, 1012 RD Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum , Dam Square
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #168 of 375 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: $113 - $372 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Avenue Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A number of historic buildings make up the Avenue Hotel. Part of these premises even dates back to the 17th century. An interesting fact about the building: during the Golden Age it was used as a warehouse by the 'V.O.C.' (United East India Company). Since that time the building has had many different owners and served different purposes. It has now turned into a hotel, that is up to contemporary standards. The rooms are divided over the different parts of the hotel so they all have a unique style and shape. You can reach all floors by elevator. Our 3 star-hotel has 82 comfortable rooms. Furthermore we offer free WIFI-connection and continental breakfast. All our rooms come with a flatscreen-tv, private bathroom with shower and/or bath, airconditioning and a desk. Discover numerous sights in the vicinity of the Avenue Hotel: Dam Square, the Red Light District, The Nine Streets, the canals and several shopping streets can be reached by foot. The hotel staff will gladly answer your questions about the public transport system, museums and excursions. The best way to explore Amsterdam is by bike, we also offer you the posibility to rent a bike. In the video below you will see why this is te best way to explore Amsterdam ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Avenue Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avenue Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing