We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A poor beginning with a happy ending”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Avenue Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Avenue Hotel
Ranked #167 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Write a Review

1,468 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    272
    654
    329
    136
    77
See reviews for
181
560
140
105
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012

The hotel was situated in a good place, easy walking distance from Central Station about 5 mins and 5 mins from Dam Square. The staff were really friendly, the hotel room was a bit small but adequate for the time we spent in it. The bathroom was really clean and the shower was good . There was no tea making facility in the room, but they did have a coffee machime in the lobby. The breakfast was adequate too. They had little sweets on the reception for guests which was a nice touch. I would definately stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
2 Thank Jane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

We have just come back from Amsterdam today, we went on a mini cruise from Hull but stayed extra night in Amsterdam at the Avenue Hotel. Excellent location, rooms really clean, staff very helpfull and the breakfast was good lots of different food to choose from either english or continental. We will certainly stay at this hotel again. Everything within walkin distance.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jackie b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
128 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

I have just returned from a four night stay at this hotel a few days ago and here is my opinion. This hotel is situated in an excellent location, just a few minutes walk from the central station. From a personal and nostalgic point of view, I have always liked to stay on this street whenever I have been to Amsterdam and this goes back to the late 70's.

The reason I choose this hotel was its close location to the station, the Damrak and the red light distict and about five minutes walk to Dam Square. It is just on the edge of these places so therefore it is quiet enough to be where the action is and get a good nights sleep. Also only yards from the hotel are a few bars, fast food places, restaurants, cafes and a mini red light area. The start of the main pedestrian shopping street that runs through the city is also only yards away.

The hotel itself is housed in a few buildings that still look like typical separate buildings of Amsterdam from the outside and is cleverly done, and works well. It is a small, spotless and cosy. The staff, well most of them were very friendly. The breakfast was really good consisting of different cheeses, meats, beans, boiled eggs, scrambled eggs, bacon, toast, rolls, fruit, coffee, tea, juices etc. Not all of Amsterdam's small hotels offer decent breakfasts and some don't offer any at all. The room was also excellent, spotless, and the bed was so comfortable, one of the best hotel beds I have slept in for comfort.

You could do a lot worse and stay in some of the flea, cockroach, even rat ridden hotels on the Damrak which are really run down these days, where my friends have stayed at the same time as I stayed here, where one of them had their room door kicked in and money stollen.

Amsterdam isn't a cheap city if you're not familiar with it and not really value for money in the smaller two and three star hotels, but if you want to stay central and don't want to pay the prices of the larger four and five star hotels, for comfort, location, breakfast and everything really, I would recommend this hotel when visiting this city.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TooWander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012

We had a great 5 day break at the Avenue Hotel.
Excellent location, staff, cleanliness, service and the breakfast was pretty good too. A good basic hotel we would use it again. We had our fourth and best visit to the Dam in this hotel. Oh, and the the lifts are fun; a great way to meet the other guests.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Izball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kensington, Maryland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

We had a great stay at the Avenue hotel. I was very pleased that they had an ice machine I was missing my cold water. The shower was very interesting, it did not have a wall but was very good. Sabrina at the front desk was very helpful with getting us an extra pillow, fixing our remote, and just giving us some good tips for dinner. They have a great buffet and I loaded up for the day. It was a short walk to get to the canal boats and public transportation. If I get to go back next year I hope to stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rickfortune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

We stayed at avenue hotel for 4 nights in a triple sharing room. We were glad to have stayed here as the staff are very helpful and pleasant. The room and toilet are very clean as well. Breakfast provided was pretty good. Location was near most of the attractions and the central station n tram just in front of the hotel. The only draw back for the hotel is that the furnitures are old and chips in the walls. Walls between rooms are rather thin as we can sometimes hear our neighbours. Other than that, our stay here in Amsterdam was awesome! :)

PL, Singapore

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DinoPL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam
Centrum
Hotel The Exchange
Hotel The Exchange
#115 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,155 reviews
Centrum
Singel Hotel Amsterdam
Singel Hotel Amsterdam
#155 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 905 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Ibis Styles Amsterdam Central Station
Centrum
Hotel Sint Nicolaas
Hotel Sint Nicolaas
#68 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 865 reviews
Centrum
Inntel Hotels Amsterdam Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avenue Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avenue Hotel

Property: Avenue Hotel
Address: Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 33, 1012 RD Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum , Dam Square
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #167 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Avenue Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A number of historic buildings make up the Avenue Hotel. Part of these premises even dates back to the 17th century. An interesting fact about the building: during the Golden Age it was used as a warehouse by the 'V.O.C.' (United East India Company). Since that time the building has had many different owners and served different purposes. It has now turned into a hotel, that is up to contemporary standards. The rooms are divided over the different parts of the hotel so they all have a unique style and shape. You can reach all floors by elevator. Our 3 star-hotel has 82 comfortable rooms. Furthermore we offer free WIFI-connection and continental breakfast. All our rooms come with a flatscreen-tv, private bathroom with shower and/or bath, airconditioning and a desk. Discover numerous sights in the vicinity of the Avenue Hotel: Dam Square, the Red Light District, The Nine Streets, the canals and several shopping streets can be reached by foot. The hotel staff will gladly answer your questions about the public transport system, museums and excursions. The best way to explore Amsterdam is by bike, we also offer you the posibility to rent a bike. In the video below you will see why this is te best way to explore Amsterdam ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Avenue Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avenue Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing