We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Comfortable and clean” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Apollofirst boutique hotel Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Apollofirst boutique hotel Amsterdam
Ranked #141 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham
Level Contributor
61 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Comfortable and clean”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014 via mobile

Very brief stay here. Very convenient for the RIA centre which is an enjoyable walk through the park. Large rooms nice balcony good beds. No restaurant in the evening but that's made clear. Short walk will find you somewhere local.
Reasonable decor although far from modern it is clean. The rates are very reasonable and I would use this again.

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank rjmacf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    105
    28
    11
    1
See reviews for
22
90
10
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

It is a nice classic hotel in a quiet residential area. Although it is not in the tourist area, tram 5 takes you directly to Dam Square and the Central Station. If you prefer walk, it takes 15 minutes to RAI convention center and 20 minutes to museum area. Room is small, but functional. Price is good. Remember, it included breakfast.

Room Tip: Free wifi is slow, but enough for checking emails. Elevator is small, just enough for three slim peo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ye Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

We will strongly recommend Apollo First Hotel in Amsterdam to our friends
and family members. It is a hotel with a very positive charming character which can be definitelly said also for their friendly and efficient staff.
Our only suggestion is to have more local Dutch cheese variants at the
breakfast room, instead of sliced cheese and to have blankets in the rooms
instead of duvees which are too hot for this period of the year.

Room Tip: Due to the warmth of the weather we had to open our window therefore were a bit disturbed by the tra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampshire Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Kizilkaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

Free wifi??? - could not down load emails - needed to pay for upgrade
Room clean and comfortable, free bottled water. No tea or coffee making facilities
Breakfast buffet, normal continental style. ok
Pleasant bar area but empty of people, no restaurant.
This hotel was booked by the cycling tour company as the last hotel on our 6 day cycle trip. The hotel was straight forward to find and the friendly gentlemen on reception took care of our bikes.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Deva2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, Washington
Level Contributor
70 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

We chose this hotel because of it's proximity to friends home. We happened to be In Amsterdam for the first Kings Day ( national celebration of the monarchs birthday held annually) when, it seemed to us the city turned into one enormous outdoor rummage sale and party. Apollolaan, the street running in front off the hotel, is one of the major streets where people set up tables to peddle their wares and the place where many people partied the night before Kings Day. I mention this because our first room overlooked the street and we could see it would mean little sleep. It was a lovely room with 2 comfortable chairs and plenty of space. The staff were gracious in understanding our need for a quieter room on the back of the hotel which was quiet and adequate ... Just smaller. Great bathroom and comfortable beds. Because it was warm we had the windows wide open and it was troublesome to have someone on a balcony below smoking a lot and we were forced to close the windows of our non smoking room. Delicious buffet breakfast with wide choices available was 16Euros per person. The staff were friendly and helpful. One negative was the TV/internet "thing" in the room. Even the staff admitted, to a person, to being confused and frustrated by the system.

Room Tip: A room on the back of the hotel overlooking the garden would be necessary if city noise bothers you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
63 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014 via mobile

Located in a residential area around 15 min walk to Van Gogh museum. Tram station within 2 minutes walk.

The free wifi is only 256k speed, email is restricted. Faster speed is for pay.

The room is of average size, bed is ok. No refrigerator and no free coffee or kettle for heating water.
They gave free bottled water upon check in but they didn't replenish.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank msg2108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Faversham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014 via mobile

We only stayed here one night having escaped the nightmare of Centre Parcs and found this hotel just by chance. I didn't like the look of the room in the Best Western just down the road so asked to see the room here before committing. It was bright and airy and with a balcony overlooking the garden area. The price for the room was the same as for a double room, we had an extra bed for myself and my 2 sons. The extra bed was a real bed and not a pull out!
The breakfast was an extra 16 euros each so we decided not to go for this option but instead walk to the main shopping area (5mins away) and go to Starbucks.
The tram station was here too to take you into the main tourist areas of Amsterdam.
I would definitely stay here again, not over priced, quiet and away from the madness of the main tourist areas!

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Zung T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
BEST WESTERN Delphi Hotel
#154 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 404 reviews
Bilderberg Garden Hotel
#102 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,221 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
The College Hotel
The College Hotel
#136 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vondelpark
Park Plaza Vondelpark, Amsterdam
Wyndham Apollo
#81 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,427 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apollofirst boutique hotel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apollofirst boutique hotel Amsterdam

Property: Apollofirst boutique hotel Amsterdam
Address: Apollolaan 123, 1077 AP Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#82 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#83 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#98 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#100 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Apollofirst boutique hotel Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This classic four-star boutique hotel is housed at one of the most beautiful avenues of Southern Amsterdam and has a distinct personal service and impeccably designed interior. The houses at this avenue were constructed around 1920 in the Amsterdam School of Architecture style. The hotel consists of 40 smoke-free rooms, a breakfast room, romantic interior garden with Orangery, a pleasant Library Bar & Lounge, Boardroom and a small Theater. All rooms are equipped with a private bath/shower, toilet, TV- film channel, mini bar, coffee and tea facilities, safe and free internet access. The Apollofirst is near Museum Square, with the Van Gogh Museum, Rijksmuseum and Stedelijk Museum, the Vondelpark and the Leidseplein square with many theaters, bars and restaurants. The tram stop is a 3-minute walk away and offers a direct connection to the city center, the Central Train Station and the World Trade Center. Around the corner of the hotel, you will find the Beethoven Street, to shop, wine and dine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotwire, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Apollofirst boutique hotel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apollofirst - Hampshire Classic Hotel Amsterdam
Apollofirst Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing