We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Enjoyable stay at Apollo First” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Apollofirst boutique hotel Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Apollofirst boutique hotel Amsterdam
Ranked #106 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Istanbul
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Enjoyable stay at Apollo First”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2014

We will strongly recommend Apollo First Hotel in Amsterdam to our friends
and family members. It is a hotel with a very positive charming character which can be definitelly said also for their friendly and efficient staff.
Our only suggestion is to have more local Dutch cheese variants at the
breakfast room, instead of sliced cheese and to have blankets in the rooms
instead of duvees which are too hot for this period of the year.

Room Tip: Due to the warmth of the weather we had to open our window therefore were a bit disturbed by the tra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampshire Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Kizilkaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    116
    29
    11
    1
See reviews for
26
101
12
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2014

Free wifi??? - could not down load emails - needed to pay for upgrade
Room clean and comfortable, free bottled water. No tea or coffee making facilities
Breakfast buffet, normal continental style. ok
Pleasant bar area but empty of people, no restaurant.
This hotel was booked by the cycling tour company as the last hotel on our 6 day cycle trip. The hotel was straight forward to find and the friendly gentlemen on reception took care of our bikes.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Deva2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, Washington
Level Contributor
72 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2014

We chose this hotel because of it's proximity to friends home. We happened to be In Amsterdam for the first Kings Day ( national celebration of the monarchs birthday held annually) when, it seemed to us the city turned into one enormous outdoor rummage sale and party. Apollolaan, the street running in front off the hotel, is one of the major streets where people set up tables to peddle their wares and the place where many people partied the night before Kings Day. I mention this because our first room overlooked the street and we could see it would mean little sleep. It was a lovely room with 2 comfortable chairs and plenty of space. The staff were gracious in understanding our need for a quieter room on the back of the hotel which was quiet and adequate ... Just smaller. Great bathroom and comfortable beds. Because it was warm we had the windows wide open and it was troublesome to have someone on a balcony below smoking a lot and we were forced to close the windows of our non smoking room. Delicious buffet breakfast with wide choices available was 16Euros per person. The staff were friendly and helpful. One negative was the TV/internet "thing" in the room. Even the staff admitted, to a person, to being confused and frustrated by the system.

Room Tip: A room on the back of the hotel overlooking the garden would be necessary if city noise bothers you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
76 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2014 via mobile

Located in a residential area around 15 min walk to Van Gogh museum. Tram station within 2 minutes walk.

The free wifi is only 256k speed, email is restricted. Faster speed is for pay.

The room is of average size, bed is ok. No refrigerator and no free coffee or kettle for heating water.
They gave free bottled water upon check in but they didn't replenish.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank msg2108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Faversham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2014 via mobile

We only stayed here one night having escaped the nightmare of Centre Parcs and found this hotel just by chance. I didn't like the look of the room in the Best Western just down the road so asked to see the room here before committing. It was bright and airy and with a balcony overlooking the garden area. The price for the room was the same as for a double room, we had an extra bed for myself and my 2 sons. The extra bed was a real bed and not a pull out!
The breakfast was an extra 16 euros each so we decided not to go for this option but instead walk to the main shopping area (5mins away) and go to Starbucks.
The tram station was here too to take you into the main tourist areas of Amsterdam.
I would definitely stay here again, not over priced, quiet and away from the madness of the main tourist areas!

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Zung T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2014 via mobile

The hotel interior is very nice and classic. However, the elevator is really tiny. Surprisingly my baby stroller can fit in the elevator, however the rest of the family had to take the stairs or wait for us to get down first. I think they don't have a bell service, because we arrive with 6 big lugage and we had to take it to our room ourselves.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank QeylaAleeqa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2014

Title expresses how I feel about the hotel but I acknowledge this is slightly unfair.

Explanation:
Wasn't sure what to expect as this was booked on spec (& Trip Advisor recommendation) due to lack of availability at hotels recommended.
Not your standard chain fare - no restaurant on site (italian around the corner apparently), bar snacks (including a mean croque monsieur with ketchup) available.
At 10pm anything was better than going out to eat & toasted sandwich more than filled the hole.

Room was also not standard chain format - laminate flooring & a wardrobe clearly not constructed to accommodate the width of a normal hanger width meant that unpacking felt like a noisy and uncomfortable affair.

Maybe I am too concerned at next door neighbours but echoing in room due to lack of carpeting made me feel uncomfortable - others may not feel so worried.

That being said I had no real complaints although I was glad that I had set an alternative alarm as the requested wake up call did not materialise.

Other than this can't really fault, 230 Euros for the room seemed a bit steep but if demand exceeds supply then one has to pay the going rate.

In conclusion - not my cup of tea but perfectly acceptable - not convinced I would stay here if there was an alternative but would consider as I had no real complaints.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Oldmanjez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Bilderberg Garden Hotel
#99 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,291 reviews
BEST WESTERN Delphi Hotel
#150 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
The College Hotel
The College Hotel
#137 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia
Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia
#114 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 795 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Conscious Hotel Museum Square
Conscious Hotel Museum Square
#90 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 860 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
The Muse Amsterdam - Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apollofirst boutique hotel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apollofirst boutique hotel Amsterdam

Property: Apollofirst boutique hotel Amsterdam
Address: Apollolaan 123, 1077 AP Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#69 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#82 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#96 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#99 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Apollofirst boutique hotel Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This classic four-star boutique hotel is housed at one of the most beautiful avenues of Southern Amsterdam and has a distinct personal service and impeccably designed interior. The houses at this avenue were constructed around 1920 in the Amsterdam School of Architecture style. The hotel consists of 40 smoke-free rooms, a breakfast room, romantic interior garden with Orangery, a pleasant Library Bar & Lounge, Boardroom and a small Theater. All rooms are equipped with a private bath/shower, toilet, TV- film channel, mini bar, coffee and tea facilities, safe and free internet access. The Apollofirst is near Museum Square, with the Van Gogh Museum, Rijksmuseum and Stedelijk Museum, the Vondelpark and the Leidseplein square with many theaters, bars and restaurants. The tram stop is a 3-minute walk away and offers a direct connection to the city center, the Central Train Station and the World Trade Center. Around the corner of the hotel, you will find the Beethoven Street, to shop, wine and dine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Apollofirst boutique hotel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apollofirst - Hampshire Classic Hotel Amsterdam
Apollofirst Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing