We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel, friendly staff, would stay again!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Apollofirst

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Apollofirst to your Saves list
Apollofirst
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Apollolaan 123, 1077 AP Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #107 of 357 Hotels in Amsterdam
Faversham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel, friendly staff, would stay again!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014 via mobile

We only stayed here one night having escaped the nightmare of Centre Parcs and found this hotel just by chance. I didn't like the look of the room in the Best Western just down the road so asked to see the room here before committing. It was bright and airy and with a balcony overlooking the garden area. The price for the room was the same as for a double room, we had an extra bed for myself and my 2 sons. The extra bed was a real bed and not a pull out!
The breakfast was an extra 16 euros each so we decided not to go for this option but instead walk to the main shopping area (5mins away) and go to Starbucks.
The tram station was here too to take you into the main tourist areas of Amsterdam.
I would definitely stay here again, not over priced, quiet and away from the madness of the main tourist areas!

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Zung T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014 via mobile

The hotel interior is very nice and classic. However, the elevator is really tiny. Surprisingly my baby stroller can fit in the elevator, however the rest of the family had to take the stairs or wait for us to get down first. I think they don't have a bell service, because we arrive with 6 big lugage and we had to take it to our room ourselves.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank QeylaAleeqa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

Title expresses how I feel about the hotel but I acknowledge this is slightly unfair.

Explanation:
Wasn't sure what to expect as this was booked on spec (& Trip Advisor recommendation) due to lack of availability at hotels recommended.
Not your standard chain fare - no restaurant on site (italian around the corner apparently), bar snacks (including a mean croque monsieur with ketchup) available.
At 10pm anything was better than going out to eat & toasted sandwich more than filled the hole.

Room was also not standard chain format - laminate flooring & a wardrobe clearly not constructed to accommodate the width of a normal hanger width meant that unpacking felt like a noisy and uncomfortable affair.

Maybe I am too concerned at next door neighbours but echoing in room due to lack of carpeting made me feel uncomfortable - others may not feel so worried.

That being said I had no real complaints although I was glad that I had set an alternative alarm as the requested wake up call did not materialise.

Other than this can't really fault, 230 Euros for the room seemed a bit steep but if demand exceeds supply then one has to pay the going rate.

In conclusion - not my cup of tea but perfectly acceptable - not convinced I would stay here if there was an alternative but would consider as I had no real complaints.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jav_taxi_man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014 via mobile

Very good hotel on a quiet, residential street. 24hr reception provides knowledgeable service for business and tourist info. Good breakfast with hot selection - all self service. Wifi is chargeable. Room was well kept. Note: no a/c or tea/coffee in room. Bottled water is provided. Very good service from helpful staff however this hotel is quiet in the bar are even when all rooms are full. If you prefer, there are several restaurants within 10mins walk. Trams stop just 3mins away takes you through to central station.
Booked for return visit and reception gave a €10 discount against best online deal. Good value for money €145 twin room inc breakfasts.

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank dumpybumpy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is in a beautiful residential zone, nearest tram stop is a minute away and the museum quarter 2 stops away, while the Dam Square is about 15 minutes on the tram. The staf is not overly friendly but professionally helpful. The room we stayed in, 27, had a nice view and was very spacious for 2. The best thing about this hotel was how spotlessly clean everything was during 4 days we stsyed there. If that's more important to you than a central location, than go for this lovely hotel.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Mia N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014 via mobile

Just returned from staying here for a few nights. The hotel is not right in the centre of amsterdam, but it's a nice quiet area with shops and restaurants around it, and only 5 mins on a tram to the museumplein and 10 mins to leidesplein area. You can get either tram 5 or 24 direct to most places you want to be, from just near the hotel and you can buy travel cards for as long as you are there, if you buy one for a few days it works out about 5 eur per person per day.

Rooms are nicely done, and modern bathroom with helpful reception staff. Didn't try breakfast, expensive at about 16 eur per person as can get breakfast elsewhere for cheaper.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Simon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

Staff very pleasant/helpful, lounge/bar cozy, adequate breakfast, trams 24&5 (for the centre or Rijksmuseum) within 1 min walk, quiet area, shopping/restaurants just round the corner, good value, RAI about 10 minutes walk, taxi to Schiphol around € 50

Room Tip: room 27 is spacious, but none of the rooms have tea/coffee making facilities -> needs to introduc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank volendam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
citizenM Amsterdam
#37 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 3,763 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#1 of 357 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 2,023 reviews
Bilderberg Garden Hotel
#98 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,043 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apollofirst? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apollofirst

Address: Apollolaan 123, 1077 AP Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#63 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#82 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#98 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#100 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Apollofirst 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Venere and Odigeo so you can book your Apollofirst reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apollofirst - Hampshire Classic Hotel Amsterdam
Apollofirst Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
#