We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely and cosy hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Apollofirst boutique hotel Amsterdam
Ranked #114 of 372 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 10, 2013

Apollofirst is located in the beautiful Southern part of Amsterdam on the Apollolaan, a kind of boulevard with high class houses and offices. It is a relatively quiet location. The hotel itself is cosy and beautful. It is the kind of place where one feels at home.
They also have a lovely citygarden. Rooms are well decorated. Staff is friendly and efficient. Public transportation is round the corner. Breakfast is good and served in a beautiful room with gardenview.

Room Tip: Have a room on the garden Side and you have a very good sleep as there is no noise at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caspar v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (292)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

141 - 147 of 292 reviews

Reviewed October 25, 2013

I wanted to be in a quiet neighborhood, but still convenient ( especially since I would have a bike ). This hotel was elegant. I would certainly return.
Was 20-25 minutes on the tram from rail station - then 2 minutes to door step
Rented a bike and loved that - but takes GREAT CARE - with cars, trams, metal rails, pedestrians and getting lost all factoring ( It is REALLY easy to get lost in Amsterdam - gotta make that part of the experience - but make sure to have a good map ).
Pauline at the desk was lovely and very helpful at arrival and check out.
Room facing the boulevard was simply comfy. Wi-fi was slow ( even the pay high speed ). Some bulbs were burn out - hotel should check this daily. All that being said, I really liked this place for it's class, comfort, quietness, but easy access to museum district. If you want the high life, stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Skydiggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

This Hotel is well-situated in the Apollolaan in Amsterdam, near the Hilton, the Bilderberg Garden Hotel and Wyndham;'s Apollo Hotel. It is 7 minutes walk from the Concertgebouw, and about 12 minutes from the Rijksmuseum. The lobby is tastefully furnished. The room I had was simply but adequately furnished, with a decent-sized bathroom. The bedroom decor was uninspiring -0 a bit of a let-down after the furnishings in the hotel lobby.
I didn't stay for Breakfast (€16.50) - for a breakfast costing a lot less (€11.50), walk to the Concertgebouw cafe which opens at 8 a.m.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Magnifico M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Went to surprise a friend for his Birthday and chose this hotel as it is just around the corner from where he lives. Myself and a friend stayed for 2 nights and the hotel was ideal, we had a lovely room overlooking the courtyard. The bed was very comfortable a lot softer than i am used to but lovely. The room the was plenty big enough for the 2 of us, as we were only staying 2 nights the wardrobe was plenty big enough, may have been a problem if we had been there for the week. The shower over the bath was very efficient and it was good to have toiletries supplied as it saved us taking them. All staff were very friendly but i have to give a special mention to Sam ( or Samah which is his proper name ) he went out of his way for us and is a real asset to the hotel. I would definately return

Room Tip: We were in room 30 which was on the 1st floor and overlooked the courtyard and had a small balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MazGtYarmouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

Fine hotel,wonderful building and furniture.
Large room, but very hot.
Beds not comfortable because of plastic matrassprotection
Classical atmosphere, very good breakfast.
Kind people at the reception

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Anne V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2013

While the hotel is only a few minutes walk from the reasonably frequent trams, it was a little too far out from the city centre for our liking.

It is in a nice location, with shops, restaurants and bars situated within 500 metres. The twin room was a little bit small for two, though adequate for one. Thank goodness for the (small) lift as the stairs were steep. The breakfasts (€16.50 a head) were typical Dutch fare, and after the first day we chose to go to a cafe round the corner instead, where we got a better breakfast for much less.

If I had been staying here for business I would have been annoyed by:-
1) The lack of powerpoints for laptops etc. at the rather small desk.
2) Wi-fi was free for basic internet connectivity, but not free if you wanted to use it for large files/videos
3) The safe is not big enough for a 13" screen laptop.

Overall we had a perfectly comfortable stay, but would perhaps try somewhere a little closer to the City Centre next time.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are very quiet and you can comfortably leave the windows open at night without bei...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Parseltongue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

The hotel is on a lovely leafy street in the Old South near the museum quarter, just down the road from a tram stop that reguarly runs between the Zuid station (for access to the Airport) and Central Station. The staff were knowledgeable, helpful and friendly. The rooms were slightly on the small size as mentioned in other reviews, however they were not in my opinion too small- our room was more than adequate, well appointed with a lovely bathroom and a nice view over the courtyard.
If you're looking for something in a quiet location this hotel is highly recommended!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank slickt0ria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Apollo Hotel Amsterdam
#118 of 372 in Amsterdam
1,794 reviews
Bilderberg Garden Hotel
#116 of 372 in Amsterdam
1,489 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Conscious Hotel Museum Square
Conscious Hotel Museum Square
#82 of 372 in Amsterdam
957 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
The Muse Amsterdam - Boutique Hotel
De Pijp
Sir Albert Hotel
Sir Albert Hotel
#37 of 372 in Amsterdam
1,375 reviews
Best Western Delphi Hotel
#172 of 372 in Amsterdam
523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apollofirst boutique hotel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apollofirst boutique hotel Amsterdam

Address: Apollolaan 123, 1077 AP Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#71 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#82 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#96 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#99 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: $117 - $304 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Apollofirst boutique hotel Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This classic four-star boutique hotel is housed at one of the most beautiful avenues of Southern Amsterdam and has a distinct personal service and impeccably designed interior. The houses at this avenue were constructed around 1920 in the Amsterdam School of Architecture style. The hotel consists of 40 smoke-free rooms, a breakfast room, romantic interior garden with Orangery, a pleasant Library Bar & Lounge, Boardroom and a small Theater. All rooms are equipped with a private bath/shower, toilet, TV- film channel, mini bar, coffee and tea facilities, safe and free internet access. The Apollofirst is near Museum Square, with the Van Gogh Museum, Rijksmuseum and Stedelijk Museum, the Vondelpark and the Leidseplein square with many theaters, bars and restaurants. The tram stop is a 3-minute walk away and offers a direct connection to the city center, the Central Train Station and the World Trade Center. Around the corner of the hotel, you will find the Beethoven Street, to shop, wine and dine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Apollofirst boutique hotel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apollofirst - Hampshire Classic Hotel Amsterdam
Apollofirst Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing