We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Quirky” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Apollofirst boutique hotel Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Apollofirst boutique hotel Amsterdam
Ranked #133 of 363 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Hastings
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Quirky”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This is a small, boutique hotel with an art deco/retro feel and a beautifully decorated breakfast room and bar. The hotel is located in a nice residential area about 5 mins walk from Vondelpark and close to a tram line (60 seconds walk) that runs right into the city without having to change. The hotel is also just under 15 mins walk to Olympic Stadium.
The breakfast was excellent and served well by a waiter.
Service is generally friendly and professional. My room was a double and whilst not large was perfectly adequate and quiet. The bed is very comfortable.
My only issues with the hotel were that the room did not have a shower; just a bath and shower extension that would not work. Also this hotel is a theatre as well which sounds interesting (and is) but if a show is on, and you fancy sitting in the bar for a drink or meal, this prevents doing so.
My view was that the price charged for the hotel was a bargain.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MikeySmiler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    109
    28
    11
    1
See reviews for
24
93
10
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

On the first night I arrived it was heavily raining. So I thought the water sounds I heard all night was water running down the guttering outside the room. . But the noise carried on for the rest of my stay, even when the rain had stopped, so that I had a terrible nights sleep.
Hotel looks a bit dated to me. Didn't try restaurant or bar.
Location is a t least good.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alltech@elivefree.net
Level Contributor
180 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

just returned from staying in a rubbish bestwestern hotel in a soulless part of amsterdam. Have stayed in the Apollo first twice before and the comparisons are huge. Apollofirst - atmosphere, class, character and warmth. The Bestwestern hotel (the Bluesquare) - cold, drab, boring. The Apollofirst is in a lovely part of Amsterdam, outside the centre but very close for convenience, it also has number of good restuarants and shops within a few minutes walking distance, and a nice green area outside the door. The decor and interiors are almost belle epoque - the reception and dining area are beautiful. Also we had two different rooms either time we stayed but both were beautifully decorated and very large. We also enjoyed the breakfast very much, and the bar was lovely and cosy and the barman whose name now escapes me was always friendly with a nice easy banter.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank iseult
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

We stayed at the hotel for a weekend. Room was small that was bit disapointing, but beds very comfortable.bathroom clean.Breakfast continental, fresh bread was delisious, choice of jams and jouices very nice.Expencive drinks at the evening at the bar we've paid for two gin and tonic 26 euros. Tram to centrum every few minutes takes about 15 minutes. Overall very nice, however bit expencive.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Grzegorz S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antrain
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

This is most likely the place Moriarty stayed whilst plotting to shove poor Sherlock off the Reichenbach Falls. It oozes atmosphere and character. The stairs are narrow and steep enough to hold off half a dozen Pinkerton agents at once and the lift only sufficient to hold one American tourist at a time. Set in a quite location near Amsterdam’s principal museums opposite a pleasant green where strangely enough on the days of my stay there was a bloodhound was running loose. Mustard soup is a Dutch speciality but unfortunately without the aid of Sherlock I could not locate any restaurant that served it. I visit Amsterdam regularly on Business and this hotel is my favourite.To quote the ex- governor of California “I will be back!”

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
BEST WESTERN Delphi Hotel
#153 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 419 reviews
Bilderberg Garden Hotel
#96 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,245 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
The College Hotel
The College Hotel
#134 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia
Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia
#100 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 776 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Conscious Hotel Museum Square
Conscious Hotel Museum Square
#91 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 830 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apollofirst boutique hotel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apollofirst boutique hotel Amsterdam

Property: Apollofirst boutique hotel Amsterdam
Address: Apollolaan 123, 1077 AP Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#81 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#82 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#97 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#100 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Apollofirst boutique hotel Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This classic four-star boutique hotel is housed at one of the most beautiful avenues of Southern Amsterdam and has a distinct personal service and impeccably designed interior. The houses at this avenue were constructed around 1920 in the Amsterdam School of Architecture style. The hotel consists of 40 smoke-free rooms, a breakfast room, romantic interior garden with Orangery, a pleasant Library Bar & Lounge, Boardroom and a small Theater. All rooms are equipped with a private bath/shower, toilet, TV- film channel, mini bar, coffee and tea facilities, safe and free internet access. The Apollofirst is near Museum Square, with the Van Gogh Museum, Rijksmuseum and Stedelijk Museum, the Vondelpark and the Leidseplein square with many theaters, bars and restaurants. The tram stop is a 3-minute walk away and offers a direct connection to the city center, the Central Train Station and the World Trade Center. Around the corner of the hotel, you will find the Beethoven Street, to shop, wine and dine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Apollofirst boutique hotel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apollofirst - Hampshire Classic Hotel Amsterdam
Apollofirst Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing