We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,667)
Filter reviews
1,667 results
Traveler rating
1,438
196
25
7
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,438
196
25
7
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews library bar herengracht canal books signed brasserie restaurant perfect location quiet canal wonderful hotel room overlooking the canal nine streets beautiful room within walking distance anne frank house loved this hotel major attractions deluxe room flower market spent nights
Filter
Updating list...
577 - 582 of 1,667 reviews
Reviewed July 18, 2017

We had a lovely stay at the charming and spacious apartment unit next to the hotel. The rooms were clean and nicely furnished. The spiral canal house staircase was a challenge initially, but we quickly got used to it. The hotel is on a quiet section of the street, and yet close to the old town center, many attractions and the Tram lines. Would definitely go back!

Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WoodsideFoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2017

This is a lovely hotel. It is right on the beautiful Herrengracht canal and is very convenient for the main sites in Amsterdam. Our room was spacious, very clean with a view of the canal. The staff was very helpful getting us tickets to Van Gogh museum so we did not have to stand in line. Could not have been happier

Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Howard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2017

Ambassade is located in the city center, and short walking distances to many excellent restaurants. The hotel concierge was very helpful in recommending and making reservations for us, and very knowledgable and easy to communicate in English. The facilities are a row of very old, beautiful houses that are now all connected internally. I was in three different rooms (of relatives) and they each differed slightly although all were very nice.

Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jyp12017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2017 via mobile

We stayed at Ambassade Hotel after reading good reviews in TripAdvisor. What a great decision! We are extremely happy with our short stay. The location is perfect for exploring Amsterdam. It's right by the canal and one can literally walk to most attractions. There are also many wonderful coffee shops, restaurants and interesting shops right round every corner. Ambassade is unlike most international brand / commercial class of hotels. It's personable, quirky and unique in its service, decor and design. I highly recommend this hotel and would definitely stay here again when we next visit Amsterdam.

Date of stay: July 2017
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
3  Thank MYKLW33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2017

We changed our initial reservations from a big-name, 5-star, city-center hotel to try Hotel Ambassade as a smaller, boutique hotel recommended by Rick Steves. That will live-on as one of the best decisions we made in 2016-2017. Wow! It was a great experience. Located on one of the main canals with a great view of Amsterdam's historical architecture, the location was near-perfect...close (easy walking distance) to quite a few attractions, sites and shopping, plus city transportation hubs. Food in the restaurant was the best we had in the city, exceeded only by the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff. Our room (indeed all rooms as far as we could tell) was spacious, comfortable and beautifully appointed. Like most buildings of old Amsterdam, the layout is somewhat up & down and stairwells are narrow and often circular, so care is advised and proximity to the elevators is helpful. What a great stay...we shall return!

Room tip: Ask for a room close to the elevators, specify type bed desired (K or Q, etc).
Date of stay: May 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Robin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews