We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“you get what you pay...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Concert Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Concert Hotel
Ranked #212 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“you get what you pay...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

a sad stay, perfect location but a serious sewage issue.

first hotel to request full payment up from for the three nights stay... no preview of room

Room was perfect size, great view overlooking the buildings but the smells hit us as we opened the bathroom door - had to plug over the outlets of shower and basin as the smells were unbearable to start. we realised that this maybe a temporary issue and then considered it to be the cleaning materials??

Great dining facility - good breakfast options and lovely enclosed quart yard for summer !

Room Tip: good location, well priced over saw the issues which we resolved personally without reception as the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank A T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    80
    41
    14
    10
See reviews for
31
56
29
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bergen, Hordaland, Norway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

The room was clean and perfect a little small but on the whole had a bathroom and closet and safety box and coffee tea.The staff were very helpful and friendly.The trams were all very close to the hotel Number 16 drooped us right outside the hotel and both trams 2 and 24 were a small walk away aswell as a supermarket with everything.The breakfast was perfect each morning with a nice selection and filled you easy for a day of seeing the sights.I will be back to this hotel for sure.

Room Tip: Double room was perfect not huge but more than enough with a nice double bed and breakfast included...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Des587
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights in March 2013. Even allowing for the off-season time, price was excellent- €150 ex-breakfast. Room was small, but comfy and warm. given that it's a converted Amsterdam house, this is to be expected. Check-in/Checkout staff were helpful, courteous and friendly.

All-in-all, can't fault it at all.

Room Tip: Tram outside, so some noise until about midnight. Therefore, a higher room will be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GeorgePJS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

We arrived here 8 at night on Thursday and was greeted by a guy on reception that didn't have a clue what he was doing. We had pre-booked a double room considering we were a travelling couple. Expecting this, we were so disappointed when we climbed 3 floors and found out that we were stuck in a very small room with 3 single beds. Now, considering we were so tired, we thought we would just leave it and sort it out in the morning, when a manager or somebody else more experienced was present.

We found out the night porter that was on front desk the first night had only been in Amsterdam a week and was from Hungary. Not very good management to begin with.

We went down the next morning to try and sort out what we had actually pre-booked, the superior double room, and got another room number hoping it was what we paid 371 euro for. Opened the door and it was a twin room again but slightly bigger. Their reason for putting us in these rooms is because they "overbooked". So it was a complete waste of money.

My partner and I came to experience the coffee shop culture. Being smokers ourselves, and experiencing the smoking facilities at first hand, we would not recommend this to anyone who smokes. The facilities are two wooden tables, a couple of benches and two ash trays, out in the freezing cold.

The other downside is that housekeeping staff randomly walk into your room at 11.30 in the morning, when you could be still sleeping, and start cleaning your room. Yes it's nice to have your room cleaned for you when your away on holiday but to just come in the room without knocking is just ridiculous. We got woke up every morning we were there.

However, the hotel is in a reasonably good location with a bank machine 200 yards away and an underground supermarket that has everything you need.

All in all it was a different experience, I will be returning to Amsterdam, just not to this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Elder1992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

Liverpool
Level Contributor
25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

We stayed here for our second trip to amsterdam, its a good budget hotel on the outskirts of amsterdam. Its close to the main museums and an albert hejin (small supermarket equivalent to a co-op in the UK) isnt too far away.
We arrived at the hotel early and the guy on reception kindly allowed us to get into our room to leave lugage. The room was extreamly small if you had any more than hand lugage you would struggle in the small rooms to fit in! The bathroom was washroom style very small on space but had everything you needed in it. The room we stayed in needed a fresh coat of paint with some attention needed on the bathroom. The heating was a nightmare, the thermostat on the radiator appeared broken so it was either a sauna or a fridge in the room, we ended up sleeping with the door open to the balcony which was less than ideal!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SarahandChris69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Level Contributor
124 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

This is not a bad choice if you are on a limited budget. You arrive straight from the airport on bus 197 (4 euros). Very close to main museums. The room was small but clean, warm. Breakfast room nice, breakfast OK, plentiful. It is cheaper if you pay cash or Maestro. While I was there there was a minor interior reconstruction going on downstairs. Very friendly staff.

Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank David V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Stayed ihere for three nights in mid-September. Two minutes from Concert Gebow and Museumplein, Concert Hotel is also easy to reach from the airport, the 197 bus station (Museumplein) is less than 200 m from the hotel, on the same street. Leidseplein is within walking distance, reachable in no more than 10 minutes..
In our reservation we said that we would like a top floor room with a double bed. When we arrived we were informed that we can have either one or he either. So, between the top floor room with twin beds and the ground floor one with a double we choosed the second one. The rooms in the main building seemed to be a little small, the elevator looked old and to get to the top floor you have to climb some not very comfortable stairs. The room we had is actually a separate little house in the backyard and I think it's the best in the hotel, very spacious, a nice bathroom and a little kitchinette. There is also another good room situated in the main building but with a separate entrance from the garden also. The terrace in the garden is a very nice place to end up your night or to serve breakfast in the morning.
Breakfast is good and fresh. The staff, very kind and helpful.

Room Tip: The rooms in the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank monique_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Washington
Hotel Washington
#239 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 450 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel City Garden Amsterdam
Hotel City Garden Amsterdam
#234 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 551 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Aalders
Hotel Aalders
#45 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 1,149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Conscious Hotel Museum Square
Conscious Hotel Museum Square
#89 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 802 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Atlas Vondelpark
Hotel Atlas Vondelpark
#188 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 112 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Max Brown Hotel Museum Square
Max Brown Hotel Museum Square
#150 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 810 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Concert Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Concert Hotel

Property: The Concert Hotel
Address: De Lairessestraat 11, 1071 NR Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly AMS Hotel Concert Inn)
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier) , Museumplein
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #212 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Concert Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Agoda, Odigeo, Booking.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your The Concert Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ams Hotel Concert Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing