We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“These guys are awesome!”

Omy Amsterdam Tours
Ranked #8 of 79 Food & Drink in Amsterdam
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Omy Amsterdam Tours conducts tours of 4 to 6 people daily in Amsterdam. Larger groups are accepted by appointment. Small groups allow us to cater to your needs and to show you the real area. As a local business we like to show other local places where mainstream tours cannot. Small groups of 4 to 6 people allow us to show you more. Tours are flexible to your needs and the circumstance of the day. We conduct daily tours of groups of 4 people maximum: - Amsterdam history tours - Amsterdam Food Tours - Beer Tours of Amsterdam Omy Amsterdam Tours believe that exploring the Old City Centre on foot is the best way to see Amsterdam. What better experience of the Netherlands can you take back home?
Reviewed November 23, 2014

We took 2 tours with OMY.

Julian was our guide for the 3 hour City Center walking tour of Amsterdam. He was so knowledgeable and so much fun! It was just my husband and I, so it was very personal. We felt like we were walking around with an old friend! We learned so much about the city. And we ended the tour by having a beer together at a local café, while we waited for our guide for the second tour to finish up.

Michael was our guide for the Afternoon Beers tour. What a great way to relax after a very busy morning walking about the city! Michael took us to several of the local cafes (bars). Our favorite was a place called Café Chris – small neighborhood bar where mostly only locals go – it was perfect! In fact, we went back here on our own the next day we liked it so much! We also really enjoyed the Cafe Los, which is right on Rembrandtplein. Although it was a much more lively place, still lots of locals drinking and having a good time here, and we had a great time. We even stayed and had some extra beers with Michael after the tour was over, and somehow managed to stumble back to our hotel! Michael was such an interesting person - had led a very fascinating life, and we enjoyed visiting with him - just like having a few beers with an old friend!

We travel a lot, so we have used lots of different tour companies all over the world, and these guys are right up there at the top of the list! I really can’t speak highly enough of this tour company! If you are planning a trip to Amsterdam, you MUST book them! You won’t be disappointed.

4  Thank Cindy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omy_Amsterdam_Tours, Owner at Omy Amsterdam Tours, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2014

Thanks Cindy for your review. We are so happy to read that you enjoyed the city centre and beer tour. they are a great combination taken one after the other. Learn about the city and then find local places for a few beers and meet the locals. Our little introductions go a long way to assist people enjoy the rest of the time in Amsterdam.

We are so happy you enjoyed the places enough that you went back to some of the establishments with which we introduced you. Thank you again and fun and exciting travel wished to you and your husband in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (232)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"small group"
in 22 reviews
"guide michael"
in 5 reviews
"red light district tour"
in 10 reviews
"private tour"
in 11 reviews
"great tour"
in 14 reviews
"personal tour"
in 4 reviews
"three hours"
in 7 reviews
"these guys"
in 4 reviews
"interests"
in 20 reviews
"company"
in 23 reviews
"culture"
in 21 reviews
"knowledge"
in 13 reviews
"companies"
in 3 reviews
Filter

73 - 77 of 232 reviews

Reviewed November 15, 2014 via mobile

The Jordaan food tour is a fantastic experience and couldn't be a more perfect way to see, feel and taste Amsterdam. You can immediately tell the tour guide Michael knows his stuff and has a real love of all that is Amsterdam! A tour through a real locals eyes was priceless!

1  Thank Phoebe D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omy_Amsterdam_Tours, Owner at Omy Amsterdam Tours, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2014

We are happy to read that you enjoyed the Jordaan Food Tour. Our group limit is 4 people. This lets you casually interact with the guide and places that you enter. As you found out it also allows you to meet and talk to the locals with out making them feel uncomfortable like in larger groups. Thank you for your review it greatly assists our small business. We look forward to seeing you in Amsterdam in the future for another adventure. Regards, Kieren

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2014

My husband and I did the Red Light District Tour with Michael. There was only 1 other people on the tour.
Michael was very informative and it was interesting to hear about this district of Amsterdam. Good value for money and would recommend.

1  Thank Rellie2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omy_Amsterdam_Tours, Owner at Omy Amsterdam Tours, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2014

Thank you for your review. With a group limit of 4 people we try to provide the best value for money for the size of the tour. Our guides enjoy talking with guests and not at guests. We are happy that you appreciated this style of tour while in Amsterdam. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2014

Earlier this month my husband and I enjoyed Omy Amsterdam's walking tours of the city centre and red light district. Both tours were led by Michael, who did a great job of not only showing us around the city (taking less touristy streets and hitting some good local places for food & drink along the way), but also providing some depth on its long and colorful history, politics, and culture. He made some great recommendations that we followed up on later, and sent us even more information by email. We highly recommend these tours, especially with Michael if he is available!

Thank DKCTripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omy_Amsterdam_Tours, Owner at Omy Amsterdam Tours, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2014

Thank you for your review. We are happy that you enjoyed your time with us and our personal style of tours. The good thing about our group limit of 4 people as you found out sometimes you get a private tour. Happy to helped you understand and enjoy Amsterdam. Regards, Kieren

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed October 23, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I both enjoyed the tour offered by Michael. he made a point to ask us what we hoped to get from the tour and customized things so that we maximized our time. Michael's skills as a guide and his warm, genuine personality made you feel comfortable and appreciated as a client. The area and topics covered were extremely interesting and he shared with us his depth of knowledge and gus perspective on this very unique and fascinating place. I would highly recommend this tour and Michael.

1  Thank Greg E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omy_Amsterdam_Tours, Owner at Omy Amsterdam Tours, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2014

Thank you Greg for the review. All reviews are worthwhile but to see such an avid reviewer enjoy our tour means a lot. We are happy to have added enjoyment and interest to your time in Amsterdam. Regards, Kieren

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Omy Amsterdam Tours also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Omy Amsterdam Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing