We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing tasting experience!”
Review of Bord'Eau

Bord'Eau
Reserve with
Bord'Eau is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #31 of 3,909 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $56 - $138
Cuisines: French, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Late Night, Private Dining, Reservations
Neighborhood: Centrum
Description: Two Michelin stars awarded Bord'Eau offers a culinary adventure directed by Executive Chef Richard van Oostenbrugge and Sous Chef Thomas Groot. Exceptional ingredients are blended to create symphonies of flavour, all complemented by the finest wines from around the globe. The intimacy of the salon-like setting, the classical simplicity of the decor and the grace and attentiveness of the service suggest high style and privilege overlooking the Amstel River.
Level 6 Contributor
84 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Amazing tasting experience!”
Reviewed July 11, 2014 via mobile

Amazing tasting experience! I tried 3 course lunch course menu. With amuse bouche, it is almost 6 course meal. Food taste was amazingly unique and delicious. I also loved table wares and settings. Service was very friendly and proffessional. No doubt! It is a real Michelin 2 star!

Helpful?
1 Thank BJunkim
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

625 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    481
    91
    26
    15
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Medowie, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“OUTSTANDING.”
Reviewed July 10, 2014

Ruinously expensive, but worth every cent. For a special occasion, or as a one-off night to pamper yourself, this restaurant is exceptional. Every diner is made to feel special, and the food was to die for.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank KoalaLady_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Exceeded high expectations”
Reviewed July 4, 2014

We've been foodies for the 47 years of our marriage, with the last 20 been heavily guided by Michelin star ratings. Hence Bor d'eau's 2 star rating led us to expect a high level of culinary competence and creativity, with a possible attitude of arrogance toward us Americans. From the moment we first arrived, each staff person treated us with kindness and humor. This was despite our committing that Michelin cardinal sin - ordering NO wine with the meal. Each of the four ameuses Boucher was delicious and very creative, at times providing the visual pun which Thomas Keller is known for. And the three course market meal was outstanding and an incredible value. I don't want to give anything away, but if you ever have the opportunity to order their "cherry mousse," definitely do so. We might have to return to Amsterdam soon, just for another meal at this very fine and fun restaurant.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Bumbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mill Valley, California
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Excellent in all respects”
Reviewed July 4, 2014

Amsterdam has really grown in its food sophistication over the past decades. This is a restaurant you would be thrilled with anywhere in the world and it is open for lunch. We did not have the tasting menu so tried the individual dishes and everything was perfect. The wines suggested for my meal were South African and I am not familiar with them at all. Really delicious. Reminded us both of some of our favorite California wines at Chez Panisse. Well worth the visit.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank loveandpeace47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, null, Hong Kong
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“One of the best restaurants in Europe”
Reviewed July 3, 2014

Great service even we have a young child dinning with us, staff were all very patient. Excellent food and presentation, value for $ too, definitely will be back if we visit Amsterdam next time!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank RafanMallorca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bord'Eau also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Bord'Eau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing