We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic dinner and friendly staff!”
Review of Bord'Eau

Bord'Eau
Reserve with
Bord'Eau is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #38 of 3,853 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $53 - $131
Cuisines: French, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Late Night, Private Dining, Reservations
Neighborhood: Centrum
Description: Two Michelin stars awarded Bord'Eau offers a culinary adventure directed by Executive Chef Richard van Oostenbrugge and Sous Chef Thomas Groot. Exceptional ingredients are blended to create symphonies of flavour, all complemented by the finest wines from around the globe. The intimacy of the salon-like setting, the classical simplicity of the decor and the grace and attentiveness of the service suggest high style and privilege overlooking the Amstel River.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic dinner and friendly staff!”
Reviewed June 2, 2014

We booked a table three months in advance and got a corner table with excellent view over the canal Amstel. The staff was amazing, very competent and friendly. We even got tourist-advice for the rest of the weekend.
We ate a five course meal with wine-package and most dishes where amazing. The dove with fois gras was the peak of the evening. Fantastic dish.
The prices for this kind of gastronomic restaurant was fair! So we left very happy!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Linus A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

615 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    471
    91
    26
    15
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A lovely experience”
Reviewed May 25, 2014 via mobile

Beautiful food, Staff lovely and knowledgeable and attentive without being pests. Had the tasting menu with wines and it was superb. Not cheap by any stretch of the imagination but a real experience and a great evening

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Andrew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
103 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Great service; fantastic atmosphere”
Reviewed May 21, 2014 via mobile

But maybe my palate isn't quite refined enough to appreciate the "different" flavors they presented.

The food's presentation was also fantastic. But to tell the truth, there was very little of which I liked the flavor. The beef was excellent but was served with duck liver and other things not listed on the menu and for which I really did not care.

Again, service was first-rate, as was atmosphere. But they got a little too fancy in the recipe department for my taste. So for me, the food itself was a huge disappointment.

Would not go back because the food itself just wasn't my cup of tea, as it were.

Helpful?
1 Thank herzoke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Tasting Menu with Wines”
Reviewed May 14, 2014 via mobile

4 of us came for the meal. Setup great, fun and elegant interior. Waiters are friendly and good amount of knowledge. We felt a lottle rushed. 9.30 table tasting menu with wines. Some courses we had the wine poured before the dish came, other time food on table frah glasses not even nearby. There were tables arriving after us and we were not the last to leave. Food was good, nice combinations. The wasabi was clever with beetroot however very powerful amount. I liked the chocolate&roquefort combo as pre-dessert.
In general good but not the best meal I ever had. Would I go back? Possibly yes.

Helpful?
Thank markpatonyi20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“mixed feelings”
Reviewed May 13, 2014

Expectations were high since this is a two star Michelin restaurant. Expectations were not met and therefor the bill seemed a mismatch. Waiters were friendly and quick in catering to every need. Great job done. Unfortunately they were also speedy in serving the amuses and courses. Because my husband was still struggling with the gigantic wine menu, amuses were piling up next to him. He even got a little bit frustrated; whilst his struggle with the wine bible was completely ignored, a waiter insisted that my husband should eat one of the amuses because otherwise it would collapse. However this encounter didn't slow down the pace of serving. When the sommelier finally came, she did some good suggestions.
We loved all of the amuses but certainly not all of the courses. The rice couscous tasted wonderful and so did the oyster look-a-like, and crab surprise. The bread was great. The beetroot with wasabi ice-cream looked amazing but tasted just like beetroot with cold wasabi cream. The red mullet was all right nothing memorable. The rhombus tasted even dull. But then the dessert: a transparent apple with an apple core of sorbet ice and the grain made of chocolate. It looked stunning and the combination of flavors enhanced the experience. Both the dessert and marvelous chocolates during coffee saved the evening.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bienchen4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bord'Eau also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Bord'Eau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing