We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Bord'Eau

Bord'Eau
Ranked #33 of 3,753 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $51 - $127
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Scenic view, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Centrum
Description: Two Michelin stars awarded Bord'Eau offers a culinary adventure directed by Executive Chef Richard van Oostenbrugge and Sous Chef Thomas Groot. Exceptional ingredients are blended to create symphonies of flavour, all complemented by the finest wines from around the globe. The intimacy of the salon-like setting, the classical simplicity of the decor and the grace and attentiveness of the service suggest high style and privilege overlooking the Amstel River.
Curzay-sur-Vonne, France
Level Contributor
99 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2014 via mobile

Bord'Eau restaurant reminded me of some restaurants in my country. The restaurant had great view, perfect location and romantic atmosphere. Get inside I could also feel its luxurious and delight. The food was delicious and tasty with scrumptious wine. The dessert was also yummy. I shared wonderful experience here.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ggodoa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

580 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    443
    87
    26
    13
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
York
Level Contributor
311 reviews
228 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Outstanding food,wine and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2014

Went there for a special celebration.Absolutely delighted with the whole experience.Fantastic,knowledgeable staff who set the tone of the whole evening.We chose the tasting menu with accompanying wines and were more than happy with everything.Perhaps the highlight was the dessert apple. Do try! The tempo was just right- no long waits between courses.Well done Bord'eau! Highly recommend.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank YorkJean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
300 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“It's two stars are well deserved”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2014

The evening was a great dining experience. The staff were knowledgeable and friendly. Each course of the tasting menu was described to us with passionate detail. The atmosphere was light and friendly. Great care was applied to the presentation of the food. This included the plating and the coordinated delivery of the food to the table. The food was creatively prepared and inspired. I was somewhat surprised when several people showed up for dinner in jeans.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sheldon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
159 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Exquisite dishes executed perfectly”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2014 via mobile

Last night I went to bord eau with my wife and brother we had the 5 course surprise menu and a bottle of wine. When I ordered the wine I was told they had sold out of that one but I was suggested another one which was excellent.
We began with 3 pre amuses and 2 amuses all of them were presented beautifully and tasted great, for me this is what the difference between a 1 and 2 star restaurant is the amuses and they showed why they have 2 stars.
The 5 courses were excellent following on from each other perfectly featuring an excellent crab dish and a dessert with a wow factor. A special mention should go to the pre dessert which my brother and wife loved, it was a combination of chocolate and blue cheese.
I would highly recommend this restaurant although it was expensive it was worth every penny. A truly amazing experience.

Helpful?
1 Thank fimiguma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Seriously good”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2014

Well worth their Michelin stars this was one of the best birthday dinners of my life. We went for the five courses with their choice of wines for each course. Gorgeous tempting appetisers before we even got to the first course. Expensive of course but well worth the money if you enjoy fine food, lovingly and creatively prepared and presented. Thank you!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Acwade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bord'Eau also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Bord'Eau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing