We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Best food, ambiance and service!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bord'Eau

Bord'Eau
Ranked #19 of 3,334 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $53 - $129
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Business meetings, Scenic view
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Red Light District (De Wallen)
Description: Two Michelin stars awarded Bord'Eau offers a culinary adventure directed by Executive Chef Richard van Oostenbrugge and Sous Chef Thomas Groot. Exceptional ingredients are blended to create symphonies of flavour, all complemented by the finest wines from around the globe. The intimacy of the salon-like setting, the classical simplicity of the decor and the grace and attentiveness of the service suggest high style and privilege overlooking the Amstel River.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
123 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Best food, ambiance and service!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

Recently we had a dinner at Bord"eau and we had a great evening. The location is superb in the hart of Amsterdam, overlooking the canal and the "Munt" tower. We had a pre-dinner drink at Freddy's bar where the service was great and there was live music. We were later welcomed by a very friendly service team of Bord'eau. We took the 6 course menu whereby they took very well notice of individual requests. The amuses (5 of them) was a parade of mouth watering little dishes. The food of the menu was very tastefull, beautifull presented and well explained. The staff was very professional but still informal. especially the lady sommelier did a great job in explaining, in a very cordial way, all the wines. The executive chef also presented himself at the table. This restaurant for sure deserves its 2 Michelin stars. We had a delightfull evening!!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Alfred B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

504 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    389
    71
    23
    12
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Comme il faut”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

We had a perfect lunch, by the waterside window, looking out at the swans and canal boats. Service was impeccable, and the price was not insignificant but half what we paid in Barcelona for another 2 star MIchelin experience. The wines are very well chosen in the tasting menu and we were invited downstairs to see the cellar by Dannis Apeldoorn. My partner is gluten intolerant and a call ahead of time ensured her meal was prepared without any offending items, including fresly naked gluten-free bread, warm from the oven. Bravo!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank surfinpdr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leuven, Belgium
Level Contributor
328 reviews
246 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“great food, setting & staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

The restaurant offers great views on the canal, so be sure to book a table by the window. Staff is very professional, friendly and enjoyable. We had the 5-course menu, with the cheese platter as an extra. Perfect appetizers were followed by two starters: one with marinated salmon and one with crayfish. Mains were dover sole and tournedos rossini. Nice variety of cheese (not only dutch cheese...) and the dessert was one of the nicest we ever saw. Extensive wine list (and a charming somelier). Overall we were very pleased! It's a new 2* in Amsterdam, within a short time they will have earned their place next to Le Ciel Bleu.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank michel l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
366 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
“Michelin Starred Food and Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

This is one of my favorite Michelin-starred restaurants and also a memorable one. Food was great, particularly the wild duck tea. Presentation and execution were done perfectly. What distinguishes this Michelin-starred restaurant from the rest is the service. One of the problems I often find in Michelin-starred restaurants is that they are very attentive and yet very intrusive too. However, all the staff at Bord'Eau were genuinely friendly, attentive and were very happy to serve us! Highly recommend it to all!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Micahglory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Amazing lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014 via mobile

Fantastic lunch. Requested a window seat which we got - definitely worth requesting. Great view. We had the set course lunch which was great value. Lots of very interesting appetizers and fabulously innovative food. The restaurant is stunning and the service is outstanding. A real delight!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lehmann123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bord'Eau also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Bord'Eau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing