We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Michelin Starred Food and Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bord'Eau

Bord'Eau
Ranked #19 of 3,431 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $54 - $133
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Romantic, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Red Light District (De Wallen)
Description: Two Michelin stars awarded Bord'Eau offers a culinary adventure directed by Executive Chef Richard van Oostenbrugge and Sous Chef Thomas Groot. Exceptional ingredients are blended to create symphonies of flavour, all complemented by the finest wines from around the globe. The intimacy of the salon-like setting, the classical simplicity of the decor and the grace and attentiveness of the service suggest high style and privilege overlooking the Amstel River.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
371 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
“Michelin Starred Food and Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

This is one of my favorite Michelin-starred restaurants and also a memorable one. Food was great, particularly the wild duck tea. Presentation and execution were done perfectly. What distinguishes this Michelin-starred restaurant from the rest is the service. One of the problems I often find in Michelin-starred restaurants is that they are very attentive and yet very intrusive too. However, all the staff at Bord'Eau were genuinely friendly, attentive and were very happy to serve us! Highly recommend it to all!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Micahglory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

523 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    402
    76
    23
    13
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Amazing lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014 via mobile

Fantastic lunch. Requested a window seat which we got - definitely worth requesting. Great view. We had the set course lunch which was great value. Lots of very interesting appetizers and fabulously innovative food. The restaurant is stunning and the service is outstanding. A real delight!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lehmann123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
112 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Highly recommended!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

Everything was great! Starting from fresh bread and finishing with home made chocolate :) once I had see bass fish and it was the best one I have ever had!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Graz20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

Wonderful, innovative food; friendly service and a great dining experience without being stuffy or overly formal.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Amber L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
177 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Two Shining Stars”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

My wife and I were fortunate enough to dine at Bord'Eau shortly after they had been awarded their second Michelin star. The entire staff was proud and excited about this well deserved recognition. We were fortunate enough to be seated by the window, giving us the elegance of the dining room plus the relaxing and enchanting view of the canal, with a never ending parade of canal boats.

We found everything outstanding: food, service and decor. We ordered the four course meal and enjoyed every morsel. The wine list is excellent. Sicking with the theme, we ordered the 2005 Lanassan Bordeaux which has perfect with our meal. The service was seamless and wonderful. Our wine glasses were kept topped up, as was our water. The delicious breads we replaced without notice. We finished with the apple core dessert. It was magical, as the photo we took should evidence.

The chef and his staff have obviously worked had to achieve success. The second star should be there.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sfinestone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bord'Eau also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Bord'Eau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing