We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth a visit for a different experience.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Laliberla Ethiopian Restaurant

Laliberla Ethiopian Restaurant
Ranked #725 of 3,557 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: African, Ethiopian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Worth a visit for a different experience.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

off the beaten track but if your not riding a bike what the hell are you doing in the Dam? big platter with enough food for two, a bottle of malbec and a tip for 50 euros. in the dams thats excellent value and the food was ace. nice to eat with your fingers and some tasty fare. real good for the veggies as lots of choice and the chap service was a gent. some of the decor was a little interesting as the missus has a Guinea Pig skin stapled to the wall next to her head which i found rather amusing but its all part of the fun. intimate setting and something you should go and do.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tozey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    39
    7
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
158 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Lovely food & authentic atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2013

This low key and homey spot serves delicious Ethiopian food, very freshly prepared. We went on a cold May weekday, and the spicy (but not overwhelmingly hot) dishes were just the ticket. Although we reserved, it wasn't necessary, but certainly would be on the weekend or later in the tourist season; there are only a few tables.

We made two vegetarian choices which were clearly freshly prepared (it took about 1/2 hour), and were absolutely delicious, surrounded by the customary sides of lentils (both warm and cold), spinach, potatoes and yams, and salad, all sitting on the traditional injera bread/very thin pancake. Wonderful flavour combos, as usual for Ethiopian food, all served in a friendly, family atmosphere. Not the place for a rushed bite, but a delightfully relaxed, great value (less than 30€ for two with three beers) meal.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Mild”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

We went here after reading review in Lonely Planet. Apparently it's the oldest Ethiopian restaurant in Amsterdam. Sadly everything tasted the same and all of the dishes were really watery which made the injera soggy. This is not true Ethiopian- I hope somewhere else in town is serving something more authentic.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BME_the_change
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spain
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013

It doesn't look much from the outside, but it's cosy. Super service, eat with your hands and drink banana-flavoured beer from coconut shells - a great meal out.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sarah O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful food, lovely owner, great experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

This was my first time eating Ethiopian food. I have eaten some typical foods from other African countries, so I was a little nervous. The owner was very gracious, made suggestions for first timers, and yes, you DO eat with your hands, with pieces of a pancake-like bread to pick the food up with. it was tasty, spices are used in Ethiopian cooking that we Americans don't normally use with meat and savory dishes, but not a strong nor hot spicy, just delicious and different. It is a small, cozy and clean place in a quiet, mostly residential neighborhood behind the Overtoom. We finished with a cardamom tea, and the owner told us how she ended up in Amsterdam. We enjoyed this very much and have recommended it to others we have met while in Amsterdam.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Marcia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Laliberla Ethiopian Restaurant also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Laliberla Ethiopian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing