We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Is worth a dinner” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tagore

Tagore
Ranked #1,986 of 3,371 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Cuisines: Indian, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Biel, Switzerland
1 review
“Is worth a dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013 via mobile

The staff was very kind and warm, tried to satisfie every wish. Nice atmosphere and pleasently done up. The food was good, especially the spicy things.

Helpful?
Thank Annapelpie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    25
    6
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Brighton and Hove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Disappointing food in a nice enough setting!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

I completely agreed with the other negative review on here...the ingredients were so poor and cheap, and the sauces were thin or oddly viscous and lacking any depth of flavour. In fact, the sauces reminded me of that 'curry sauce' you get in chip shops in England. The staff were perfectly nice, as was the restaurant setting, but the food was really poor and really expensive. I do wonder if we all get spoiled by the amazing Indian restaurants we get all over England..a restaurant with food like this would not survive there. Such a shame.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Cat M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zug, Switzerland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best Indian I have had in continental Europe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

My family dined here on recommendation of our hotel nearby.
Food was excellent and my own view best I have had in continental Europe.
Service excellent, ambiance good. A very friendly family restaurant.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 19Traveller58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moutier, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Gerber Switzerland”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

The food is really excellent. Fireworks in your mouth ! warm welcome, great service, very nice atmosphere.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
51 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great Indian food in a very cosy, homely ambiance”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Simple, authenthic Indian food, served with a lot of attention by the family that runs the restaurant. Liked the starters. The lamb and chicken dishes were very good. We had called ahead and let them organize the menu for us (a group of 10), and they did a wonderful job. Would definately go back again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank emptyjay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tagore also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Tagore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing