We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ibis Amsterdam Centre Stopera
Ranked #107 of 372 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed March 19, 2014

The Ibis hotel had a great location not too far from the city centre. While there is no close metro or tram stop you can walk to where all the restaurants and bars in less than 10-15 minutes. There is also a supermarket just around the corner.
Service was good, beds were comfy and overall a very good stay. Hotel rooms were decently sized and a good size bathroom as well. A perfect location to explore the city from, with all major attractions within a 2km radius.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FelitaF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisStopera, Guest Relations Manager at Ibis Amsterdam Centre Stopera, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2014

Dear Sir/Madame,

Thank you for your very kind words. Very much appreciated and my team will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed yourselves. Look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards,

Hotel Ibis Amsterdam Centre Stopera
Nathalie van der Vos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,827)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

757 - 763 of 2,827 reviews

Reviewed March 18, 2014

Just returned from a 3 night break with my girlfriend. We arrived early in Amsterdam and walked to the hotel from Centraal Station - about 20mins.
At the hotel (around midday) and we were offered the upgrade to a room with a canal view and tea/coffee facilities for an extra 20 euros a night - we took it and were pleasantly surprised to find we were able to access our room straight away - that was really handy.

The room was clean and basic, similar to a Travelodge and although the shower room was basic, it was clean and the pod made it quite funky. The best thing was how quiet the room was - being at the back of the building on the top floor (Room 611) we had a lovely canal view rather than looking at a busy main road at the front of the building. The bed was very comfy and the air con worked fine.

With a simple tourist map, it was easy to find Dam Square - again 15-20min walk through Nieuwmarkt and the Red Light District. At no point did we feel unsafe walking to/from the city centre in daylight or in the dark.

We didn't eat breakfast in the hotel so I couldn't comment, but there are some lovely cafes nearby - Tisfris for example (if you turn right coming out of the hotel take the right at the main road and pass the shops and supermarket is then across the road by the canal) did a lovely breakfast for under 10euros each - and the service was great.

Back to the hotel, they gave us fresh towels, tea & coffee every day, there was no noise from other guests and they have a very secure store room for luggage if you need to leave it after check-out.

Overall we really enjoyed our stay there, and for a city break like Amsterdam, its clean, basic, great value for money, really well located away from the noise but close enough to walk (or cycle if you're brave enough) to everywhere. The staff were really friendly and helpful and we'd definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Pete M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisStopera, Guest Relations Manager at Ibis Amsterdam Centre Stopera, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2014

Dear Sir/Madame,

Thank you for your very kind words. Very much appreciated and my team will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed yourselves.

Look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards,

Hotel Ibis Amsterdam Centre Stopera
Nathalie van der Vos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2014

Just returned from a great stay at the Amsterdam ibis! We were a group of nine ladies on a hen party and found this hotel to be perfect for our one night stop over. The rooms were basic, but extremely clean and had very comfy beds (a prerequisite for tired hens). The shower was excellent and buffet breakfast in the morning went down a treat.
On the Saturday night (15th march) we went on what was a rather unpleasant pub crawl, leaving early to retire to the hotel. Decided to stop for a quick cuppa at the bar and found the man working the shift to be absolutely fantastic and definitely saved our night. He is the sole reason for these well deserved 5 stars!! We bumped into him again the next day after our ferry transfer bus did not turn up. He hadn't even started his shift but stopped to help us and direct us to the next stop. Great thanks to him from all of us!
Would definitely go here again.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Fay A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisStopera, Public Relations Manager at Ibis Amsterdam Centre Stopera, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2014

Dear Madame,

Thank you for your very kind words. Very much appreciated and my team will be delighted and specially Driss to hear that you enjoyed yourselves and have remarked and appreciated our services.

Look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards,

Hotel Ibis Amsterdam Centre Stopera
Nathalie van der Vos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2014

Very clean room. Smiley and friendly staff. Good location, close to trainstation and Amsterdam centre as well. Decent amount of food in continental buffet. The only con was very dry air in a room that made me drink water during the night.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Alicejane73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisStopera, Guest Relations Manager at Ibis Amsterdam Centre Stopera, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2014

Dear Sir/Madame,

Thank you for your kind comments and compliments – I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards,

Hotel Ibis Amsterdam Centre Stopera
Nathalie van der Vos.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2014

Stayed at the hotel for 4 nights. Have to say that it was a wonderful experience as the hotel was clean, the staff was friendly and it is quite central. Just a few minutes walk from the centre. Would definitely go again!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Justine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisStopera, Public Relations Manager at Ibis Amsterdam Centre Stopera, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2014

Dear Sir/Madame,

Thank you for your kind comments and compliments – I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards,

Hotel Ibis Amsterdam Centre Stopera
Nathalie van der Vos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2014 via mobile

This is a good choice for a value hotel - rooms are small but clean with great power showers. Breakfast has a fairly good range - all sorts of bread, plenty of hot food but little fruit to choose from. Staff were helpful and friendly, and there was a room to leave our luggage after we checked out. The one thing that annoyed me was that there was no kettle/tea/coffee in the rooms.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank angellibrarian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisStopera, Guest Relations Manager at Ibis Amsterdam Centre Stopera, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2014

Dear Sir/Madame,

Thanks for your review. I’m glad you have a good stay with us. Concerning your remark about a kettle I can inform you that we have some rooms areequipped with Coffee & Tea facilities for € 20,- per night per room extra which will make your next stay even a more enjoyable one.

See you on your next trip.

Kind regards,

Hotel Ibis Amsterdam Centre Stopera
Nathalie van der Vos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2014

Stayed here with my boyfriend a couple of weeks ago, the hotel its self was spot on. Maid service everyday, clean & comfy beds, nice restaurant.
The only downfall with this is its location I mean it took us about 10-15 to walk into the main centre from the hotel, its okay if you dont mind a bit of a walk but we did think it was a little bit closer. It's not bad to walk through the day but on a night time it is a bit weiry and i was a little bit scared just with some of the weird people you see around the area.
There is a Spar local shop which is just across the road and about a 5 minute walk you have your first coffee shop and also a beautiful steak house.
We visited the restaurant in the hotel a couple of times we had cheese and ham toasties which were lovely but 6euro for a little toastie is quite a bit but i suppose it was in the hotel and its always the same where ever you go.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amber T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
#142 of 372 in Amsterdam
5,186 reviews
Centrum
Hotel The Exchange
Hotel The Exchange
#119 of 372 in Amsterdam
1,226 reviews
Vondelpark
Conscious Hotel Vondelpark
Conscious Hotel Vondelpark
#81 of 372 in Amsterdam
1,271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City
#103 of 372 in Amsterdam
2,100 reviews
Centrum
WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Nadia
Hotel Nadia
#101 of 372 in Amsterdam
4,015 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Amsterdam Centre Stopera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Amsterdam Centre Stopera

Address: Valkenburgerstraat 68, 1011 LZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Plantage & the East , Binnenstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#83 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: $106 - $228 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Amsterdam Centre Stopera 3*
Number of rooms: 207
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ibis Amsterdam City Stopera hotel is ideally located in the city centre, a few minutes from the Stopera Opera House, Dam Square, Rembrandtplein and Waterlooplein. Easily accessible by public transport or by car. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Ibis Amsterdam Centre Stopera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Amsterdam City Stopera Hotel Amsterdam
Accor Amsterdam City Stopera

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing