We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal for short City Break”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ibis Amsterdam Centre Stopera
Ranked #112 of 368 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Hertfordshire UK
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Ideal for short City Break”
Reviewed February 24, 2014

Recently stayed 3 nights in this hotel on our first trip to Amsterdam. Found the staff friendly and helpful. Room was fresh, clean and adequate for a short city break. Nice dining room and plenty of choice on breakfast menu. Hotel well placed to explore the Jewish Quarter (and City Zoo), also the 'Skinny' Bridge. The Van Gogh and Rijts museums were within a 30 minute pleasant walk along the canals and the old centre was easily walkable. I would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank keentraveller003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisStopera, Public Relations Manager at Ibis Amsterdam Centre Stopera, responded to this review, March 15, 2014
Dear Sir/Madame,

Thank you for your kind comments and compliments – I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards,

Hotel Ibis Amsterdam Centre Stopera
Nathalie van der Vos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,757 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    673
    1,472
    487
    87
    38
See reviews for
381
1,339
98
190
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kazakhstan
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2014

We have just returned from our trip to Amsterdam and were lucky to have stayed at this hotel .At check-in Mr.Nielz warmy welcomed us and upgraded our room for the room with the view to canal which is made our stay amazing.We've been in Amsterdam to celebrate our anniversary and St.Valentine! Mr.Nielz and other staff were extremelly professional and polite.The room was superb, was always clean and warm,pillows and bed were very comfortable(slept like at home). Hotel is situated in very a quiet street but is just a little far from the main center.
We will definitely be coming back!!! Un saluto Dinara e Davide

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dinara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisStopera, Guest Relations Manager at Ibis Amsterdam Centre Stopera, responded to this review, March 15, 2014
Dear Sir/Madame,

Thank you for your very kind words. Very much appreciated and my team will be delighted and specially Niels to hear that you enjoyed yourselves and have remarked and appreciated our services. Look forward to welcoming you back.

Hotel Ibis Amsterdam Centre Stopera

Nathalie van der Vos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2014

We went to Amsterdam for a weekend to celebrate Valentine's Day and found in this hotel everything we were looking for. Great value for money . Staff was excellent and rooms always very clean, specially enjoyed the breakfast, great variety of items and open from 6 am until 11!! They gave us the morning of the Valentine's day a piece of chocolate as a gift which I considered a very nice touch.
The only thing is the lack of amenities in the room , I really missed some tea and coffee , however when you check in you have the opportunity to upgrade your room to one overlooking the canal plus amenities and toiletries for £20 but I did not think it was worth it
Very close to the central station and about 15 minutes walk from the centre

Room Tip: The hotel is placed next to a busy road so I would choose a room on the upper floors to get away fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MartaPastor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisStopera, Guest Relations Manager at Ibis Amsterdam Centre Stopera, responded to this review, March 15, 2014
Dear Sir/Madame,

Thank you for your very kind words. Very much appreciated and my team will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed yourselves. Look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards,

Hotel Ibis Amsterdam Centre Stopera
Nathalie van der Vos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed here in August 2012 for 3 nights. The hotel is like any other Ibis budget hotel. Our room was basic and functional yet quite spacious.

There was a lack of hanging space for our clothes which wasn't too much of an issue for us as we were only there for a few days. Our bathroom was very small but the shower was huge which was a plus. I found it a bit tight for space when drying my hair etc.

The room was very clean and it was exactly what we wanted. We didn't need luxury, we only wanted somewhere we could sleep and this place was perfect. I'm not sure what floor we were on but we had a lovely view out the back of the hotel over the canal which was really peaceful.

The breakfast was quite expensive (16e pp) so unfortunately we did not avail of this service but we found plenty of cafes nearby.

We planned to eat at the restaurant one night but it was closing by the time we got there. Luckily there was a vending machine so at least we had something. The city centre was just a bit too far to go back and get some food.

Although this hotel is a good distance from the city centre (10 - 15 mins or so) it is a scenic and enjoyable walk. I have great memories of this hotel and I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emmabob7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katerini, Greece
Level 6 Contributor
325 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2014

so close to all the things you want to see in AMsterdam and close to museums and cafes and next to a canal from the back side of the hotel...you can choose front rooms and rooms that facing the canal..its your choice...

Room Tip: the irst day we had the room 509 which had a small problem with the window and we juat changed the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisStopera, Guest Relations Manager at Ibis Amsterdam Centre Stopera, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Dear Sir/Madame,

Thank you for your kind comments and compliments – I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards,

Hotel Ibis Amsterdam Centre Stopera
Nathalie van der Vos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2014 via mobile

Myself and a friend stayed here for a long weekend. The hotel is clean and tidy and very similar to most ibis hotels worldwide. However, we found it difficult to find, and once we knew our bearings, we realised it wasn't completely central. We didn't mind the 15 minute walk but in the evening we didn't feel particularly safe walking about as it's in a quiet area away from most attractions so we ended up some nights in a taxi.
Anyway the room was clean and spacious and had a nice view. I would look at other hotels more central if I was to return.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bethhy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisStopera, Guest Relations Manager at Ibis Amsterdam Centre Stopera, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Dear Sir/Madame,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay.
I'm sorry to hear that you had a unsafe feeling. At this moment they are very busy to renovate the street. We hope therefore that our guest get a more secure feeling.

I still hope to seeing you again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Hotel Ibis Amsterdam Centre Stopera
Nathalie van der Vos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tortona
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2014 via mobile

What else?! We have passed three wondurfull days at Ibis Hotel Stopera. The staff was very kind and our room, at level 0 was new, clean and confortable. Maybe not big, but great satisfaction with a "normal" budget!

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Federico F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisStopera, Guest Relations Manager at Ibis Amsterdam Centre Stopera, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Dear Sir/Madame,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Hotel Ibis Amsterdam Centre Stopera
Nathalie van der Vos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
#144 of 368 in Amsterdam
5,033 reviews
Centrum
Hotel The Exchange
Hotel The Exchange
#115 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,202 reviews
Vondelpark
Conscious Hotel Vondelpark
Conscious Hotel Vondelpark
#87 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Ibis Styles Amsterdam Central Station
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Nadia
Hotel Nadia
#107 of 368 in Amsterdam
3,968 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
NH Amsterdam Caransa
NH Amsterdam Caransa
#122 of 368 in Amsterdam
966 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Amsterdam Centre Stopera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Amsterdam Centre Stopera

Property: Ibis Amsterdam Centre Stopera
Address: Valkenburgerstraat 68, 1011 LZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Plantage & the East , Binnenstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#83 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Amsterdam Centre Stopera 3*
Number of rooms: 207
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ibis Amsterdam City Stopera hotel is ideally located in the city centre, a few minutes from the Stopera Opera House, Dam Square, Rembrandtplein and Waterlooplein. Easily accessible by public transport or by car. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, ACCOR, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ibis Amsterdam Centre Stopera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Amsterdam City Stopera Hotel Amsterdam
Accor Amsterdam City Stopera

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing