We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, friendly and near the city centre”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ibis Amsterdam Centre Stopera
Ranked #116 of 375 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed March 29, 2012

I'd recommend this hotel for 3 reasons above. Our room although basic was spotless on arrival. We found the staff to be friendly and didn't mind our poor Dutch! It's also only a 10 minute ramble to Dam centre. You can get a taxi from the central station to the hotel but it took us about 15 minutes to walk to. It can be pricey in Amsterdam, but if you book early you can get a decent price for a room here that it's in a thriving City that's a must see on your Journeys way, this Hotel is a good place to start!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ElderlemonDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,906)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,077 - 1,083 of 2,906 reviews

Reviewed March 28, 2012

I found it a bit far from center, but it was silent, clean and the room was small but nice. Close to the Artis Zoo though. We tried to find a place to eat nearby and failed, only coffee-shops that serves no coffee (LOL) and that didn't interest us.
But there is a supermarket on the corner so we bought something there. Staff was nice and gave us a free city map.
We had pasta at the restaurant but I didnt like it, I dont think I can call that tomato sauce.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dulac7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2012

Clean, excellent location, and such helpful and friendly staff! Minor niggle about cooked options on the breakfast menu - eggs very leathery and dried up, and only eat the sausages if you like veal or chicken! But the bread, pastries, etc were all very nice, as were the evening meal options. Ibis capsule bathrooms always seem to have a distinct sewage smell, but at least they are always clean.

Room Tip: Definitely go for the canal view, as it makes a lot of difference to the experience!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lulubellcornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2012

We stayed at the Ibis Stopera for 2 reasons - firstly it offered a good price (204 Euros for 3 nights for 2 people) and secondly its location - it is far enough out of the city centre to be quiet but close enough to still walk everywhere.
With the IBIS you know what you are getting - small but clean rooms - free wi-fi was good but breakfast and drinks are expensive. We never ate at the hotel as there are loads of cafes and restaurants within walking distance. I don't need to go on about Amsterdam because everyone knows it all by now. We had a lovely time there with friends and would recommend this hotel to anyone who is planning a trip there.

Room Tip: If you want breakfast choose a little cafe which is only 50 meters from the hotel if you turn left o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tonyfromdeal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2012

Nice, clean and professional all around.

The breakfast buffet in the restaurant is the usual continental selection. The food quality is quite good.

The room was clean with a safe and a very nice ensuite bathroom that had a comfortably sized shower stall. My only complaint about the room was that the closet space was a bit lacking for two people sharing the room.

The real appeal of this hotel is in it's location. It's within easy walking distance of the centre and the port area.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BeyondPrague
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2012

Stayed here for the 3rd time in 5 years. As usual the staff are friendly and helpful and the rooms clean and tidy. Breakfast is ok, with plenty of choice and the hotels location is great for seeing all parts of the city.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kitsunegari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
An Accor traveler
London, United Kingdom
12
Reviewed March 12, 2012

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank An Accor traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
#145 of 375 in Amsterdam
5,335 reviews
Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City
#105 of 375 in Amsterdam
2,182 reviews
Centrum
Hotel The Exchange
Hotel The Exchange
#118 of 375 in Amsterdam
1,262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ibis Amsterdam City West
#129 of 375 in Amsterdam
1,612 reviews
Vondelpark
Conscious Hotel Vondelpark
Conscious Hotel Vondelpark
#81 of 375 in Amsterdam
1,308 reviews
Amsterdam Tropen Hotel
#135 of 375 in Amsterdam
872 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Amsterdam Centre Stopera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Amsterdam Centre Stopera

Address: Valkenburgerstraat 68, 1011 LZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Plantage & the East , Binnenstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#83 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: $103 - $206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Amsterdam Centre Stopera 3*
Number of rooms: 207
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ibis Amsterdam City Stopera hotel is ideally located in the city centre, a few minutes from the Stopera Opera House, Dam Square, Rembrandtplein and Waterlooplein. Easily accessible by public transport or by car. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Ibis Amsterdam Centre Stopera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Amsterdam City Stopera Hotel Amsterdam
Accor Amsterdam City Stopera

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing