We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ibis Amsterdam Centre

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
Ranked #146 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
GreenLeadersSilver level
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2014

Very central and great if you're taking a train in/out. No noise at all considering its above the rail tracks.
Solid Ibis standard as you'd expect of any Ibis anywhere. Breakfast is expensive tho. You can even pick up breakfast at the station food outlets which is cheaper.
Would recommend staying here if you want to sightsee and be central.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Lela_JR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PascalleBijveot, Commercial Manager at Ibis Amsterdam Centre, responded to this review, September 4, 2014
Dear Lela_JR,

Thank you for choosing Ibis Amsterdam Centre.

I'm happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us.

Hopefully we can welcome you again in the future!

Best regards,
Pascalle Bijvoet
ibis Amsterdam Centre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,456 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    948
    2,225
    953
    202
    128
See reviews for
700
1,773
334
534
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (516)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2014

Local of the Ibis is great right next to the railway station and central for Amsterdam itself. Room basic but clean enough, bed small but comfortable with well ironed good quality linen. Coffee and breakfast available in the foyer. Coffee, from a machine, very good but a bit pricey at 2 euros a time. Mind you Amsterdam is pricey per se.
Our room overlooked the station and with the window open was noises even though we were on the 6th floor, window closed quiet enough.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sally F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PascalleBijveot, Commercial Manager at Ibis Amsterdam Centre, responded to this review, September 4, 2014
Dear Sally F,

Thank you for choosing Ibis Amsterdam Centre.

I'm happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us.

Hopefully we can welcome you again in the future!

Best regards,
Pascalle Bijvoet
ibis Amsterdam Centre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2014

We stayed two nights. Location is good as close walking to main train station which has direct connection to airport express (it cost Euro 4 each way as compared to taxi cost Euro 40 each way) and close to main attractions & restaurants. One side/block of rooms are bit noisy due to directly over train lines and have a building view. Expensive at our time of stay.

Room Tip: New (Red) Block with river facing, high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Umakant G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PascalleBijveot, Commercial Manager at Ibis Amsterdam Centre, responded to this review, September 4, 2014
Dear Umakant G,

Thank you for choosing Ibis Amsterdam Centre.

I'm happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us.

Concerning the rates, Amsterdam is a beautiful, but pricy city. Advance bookings can help you get a lower rate. Please check accorhotels.com for the best available rates.

Best regards,
Pascalle Bijvoet
ibis Amsterdam Centre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2014

Like all previous posts, the location of the hotel couldn't be better if you arrived by train as the hotel is located next to the station.

Like all big hotels chains, everything in the hotel were clean and modern and the staff were friendly and efficient. They also have a large secure room in which you can leave your luggage for the day if you have a late flight.

The room I stayed in had some charm in the and was located above the main platform of the station with windows facing out to to the river. The bathroom was cleaned and replenished daily with the essentials.

The rooms were reasonably priced in my experience at £106 for 2 nights in august. I have visited Amsterdam before and paid £160 for 2 nights in a hostel so the this price come as quite the surprise considering its location.

I would definitely recommend this hotel and will be looking to stay there again when i visit next year.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank yosemite007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PascalleBijveot, Commercial Manager at Ibis Amsterdam Centre, responded to this review, September 4, 2014
Dear yosemite007,

Thank you for choosing and reviewing Ibis Amsterdam Centre.

I'm happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and that you would like to come back.

We're looking forward to welcoming you again in the future!

Best regards,
Pascalle Bijvoet
ibis Amsterdam Centre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
74 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2014

Good location next to the Amsterdam railway station. Good place to go out from to see the sights. Clean hotel. THe room given was just next to the railway tracks but the noise from the trains was not heard, rather it was the sound from the corridors was more apparent

Room Tip: Take a higher room to see more of the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hawkuan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PascalleBijveot, Commercial Manager at Ibis Amsterdam Centre, responded to this review, September 4, 2014
Dear hawkuan ,

Thank you for choosing Ibis Amsterdam Centre.

I'm happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us.

Hopefully we can welcome you again in the future!

Best regards,
Pascalle Bijvoet
ibis Amsterdam Centre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2014

Two minute walk from the Central Station for train and tram travel, which allows easy access to anywhere in the city. We stayed here for two nights. The room was small, but perfect for our needs (sleeping and taking showers). The staff at the front desk was very friendly and helpful. We encountered two room cleaning staff who were arguing with each other in Spanish near the elevator, which looked very unprofessional. Other than that, no real complaints, and would recommend this hotel for short stays and travelers looking for a convenient location.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shyam G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PascalleBijveot, Commercial Manager at Ibis Amsterdam Centre, responded to this review, September 4, 2014
Dear Shyam G,

Thank you for choosing Ibis Amsterdam Centre.

I'm happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us.

I will inform our Facility Manager about the room attendants, to make sure this does not happen in the future.

Thank you again for your feedback, which is most valuable to us.

Hopefully we can welcome you again in the future!

Best regards,
Pascalle Bijvoet
ibis Amsterdam Centre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Plantage & the East
Ibis Amsterdam Centre Stopera
Ibis Amsterdam Centre Stopera
#125 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,475 reviews
Centrum
Ibis Styles Amsterdam Central Station
Ibis Amsterdam City West
#127 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Hotel The Exchange
Hotel The Exchange
#111 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,082 reviews
Centrum
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Centrum
A-Train Hotel
A-Train Hotel
#133 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 820 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Amsterdam Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Amsterdam Centre

Property: Ibis Amsterdam Centre
Address: Stationsplein 49, 1012 AB Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#91 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#110 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Amsterdam Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 363
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Paul van Ommen, the manager of the ibis Amsterdam Centre hotel, would like to give you a very warm welcome.At the ibis Amsterdam Centre, you are in the middle of the action. The city centre is at your doorstep. Within walking distance you will find the famous dam square, the red light district, historical canals and hundreds of bars and restaurants. Right in front of the hotel there are trains, metros, buses, canalbuses and trams to take you to museums, the airport (15min), the Rai convention centre and the Anne Frank house.The hotel offers 363 modern, convenient rooms equipped with all the necessary facilities such as a hairdryer, tv, Free WiFi, glass fibre internet, safe and phone (a water kettle can be borrowed at the reception desk).Feeling hungry? Breakfast is served daily from 6am to noon; our restaurant is open until 10:30pm and a variety of snacks and sandwiches are available 24/7. After a long day of exploring the beautiful city, you can relax and enjoy a hot or cold beverage in our stylish bar, while having a view on hundreds of bicycles. Our friendly employees welcome you until 1am.We’ll see you soon at the ibis Amsterdam Centre! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Ibis Amsterdam Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Amsterdam Centre Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing