We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, also for wheelchairs”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
Ranked #144 of 373 Hotels in Amsterdam
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed May 8, 2014

We have had a wonderful trip to amsterdam on kings day. the personal was very friendly and helpful and spoke english and german. the room was clean but a bit degenerated on some point, like the chair and a big part of the bathroom. But still usable ;)
We have been there with an electronic wheelchair and had no problems.
Best was that our room (the two disable rooms are both) on 7th floor with a huge window. We had a gigantic few over the whole city center.
I also loved that the hotel is next to the main station, but quiet when the windows are closed.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pinkinhell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DennisRullens, Manager at Ibis Amsterdam Centre, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2014

Dear pinkinhell,

Thank you for reviewing our hotel on Tripadvsior.

I'm happy to hear you had a wonderful trip and a good experience in our hotel.
You picked quite the day to visit Amsterdam :-). Hopefully you enjoyed the King's Day festivities!

Your comment regarding the bathroom quite surprised me. Normally our rooms and bathrooms are considered to be very clean, well maintained and 'up to date'. I will have our maintenance department look into this and take appropriate action where needed.

We're looking forward to welcoming you again in the future!

Best regards,
Dennis Rullens
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (5,282)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,787 - 1,793 of 5,282 reviews

Reviewed May 7, 2014

Stayed here for 4 days in winter, having arrived from Paris. Lugging my 3-weeks worth of luggage stuff from the Train Station to the Stationsplein seemed simple enough. You will pass the biggest bicycle parking lot ever ( its even elevated for a few levels) and its testament to how bike-friendly the city is. Almost all buses and trams run to and from the Train Station so accessibility is great.

Nice view from my 5th room. Just close the soundproof windows and you will sleep soundly. Nice, comfy double bed and the rooms are of a pretty good size for a solo traveller or a party of two. All basic amenities provided for in the room.

Reception competent enough though not the world's friendliest. My stay did not include with a breakfast service and skip that. A short walk to Damtrak will allow you to choose a plethora of culinary options any time of the day. There was a 24/7 food & drinks convenient bar which you can grab sandwiches and drinks at not-worth-it prices. (Just buy from the numerous convenience stores down Damtrak for your any of your needs..)

Hotel was close to the Tourist Info Centre and a canal cruise terminal. A short walk away to Dam Square and the Red-light District hence it is a great base to explore the Canal City.Safety not an issue as the train station area is also bustling with activity.

Saw an Ibis Styles nearby at Prinsengracht and did not stay there. Prices there are slightly higher but wonder how the branch would be like..

Pretty nice hotel but its safe and central location trumps everything else.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kaputnik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DennisRullens, Manager at Ibis Amsterdam Centre, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2014

Dear kaputnik,

Thank you very much for your extensive review on Tripadvsior.

I'm happy to hear you enjoyed your stay in our unbeattable location.

Hopefully we can welcome you again in our hotel or the nearby ibis styles in the future!

Best regards,
Dennis Rullens
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2014

This basic hotel offers compact rooms that are clean and modern, but it's proximity to the Central Station can't be beat. Not only is it convenient to the train station, but is also to trams, buses, canal boat tours, and coach tours. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shamaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DennisRullens, Manager at Ibis Amsterdam Centre, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2014

Dear shamaria,

Thank you for choosing Ibis Amsterdam Centre.

I'm happy to hear you liked your stay and that you'd stay with again.

We're looking forward to welcoming you again in the near future!

Best regards,
Dennis Rullens
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2014

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank TanJo29
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
DennisRullens, Manager at Ibis Amsterdam Centre, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed May 5, 2014

A great find!
Location: you can see it right from the train station, at the heart of the touristy areas, and very walkable to everything we wanted to see!
Room: compact but well-laid out. Bed was comfortable and lots of storage spaces for all of our stuff. We had a view of the bike parkade (you gotta see it to believe it!) and the city - and with the window open it was quite loud but with the window closed we could hear almost nothing!
Staff: pleasant and professional, no complaints here!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lori C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DennisRullens, Manager at Ibis Amsterdam Centre, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2014

Dear Lori C,

Thank you for reviewing us on Tripadvisor.

I'm happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and the view from your room. I'm even more pleased to hear you experienced our staff to be pleasant and professional.

We're lookinf forward to welcoming you again in the future!

Best regards,
Dennis Rullens
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2014

This isn't the type of hotel that we would normally stay, but as most of the higher rated hotels were fully booked we chose the Ibis as the remaining best option. To be honest we were unsure on what to expect we need not have worried. The hotel was clean, the bed was very comfortable, the room was a bit on the small side,but we were very satisfied with the Ibis.
The close proximity to the train station was an added bonus.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Renard06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DennisRullens, Manager at Ibis Amsterdam Centre, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2014

Dear Renard06,

Thank you for choosing Ibis Amsterdam Centre.

I'm happy to hear you were satisfied with your stay. Please keep in mind you can have the same expectations for every Ibis hotel!

Hopefully we can welcome you again in the future.

Best regards,
Dennis Rullens
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2014

My husband and I had an excellent stay at this hotel in April of this year. The staff went above and beyond to welcome us to Amsterdam. The location is ideal, situated close to the train station so was perfect home base for our excursions. Even being close to activity of the train station, we felt secure. The hotel facilities (room and dining room) were pleasant and exceptionally clean. The room is small but this did not detract from our comfort, having expected that prior to checkin (based upon the good price as compared to other Amsterdam hotels). The staff (especially Nadine in the front lobby and Naima in the dining room) were outstanding in helping us book tours and for providing advice about Amsterdam. Breakfast buffet/dining room was extremely pleasant. We definitely would stay here again on a future trip to Amsterdam!

Room Tip: We had a room on the 5th floor (quiet and comfortable). I believe that rooms above a certain level...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KathyRuiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DennisRullens, Manager at Ibis Amsterdam Centre, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2014

Dear KathyRuiz,

Thank you very much for your kind words on Tripadvisor.

I'm happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. It's especially nice to hear your comments regarding our staff. I will pass your compliments on to them and Nadine and Naima in particular.

We're looking forward to welcoming you again in Amsterdam!

Best regards,
Dennis Rullens
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
XO Hotels Park West
#64 of 373 in Amsterdam
4,000 reviews
XO Hotels Couture
#43 of 373 in Amsterdam
1,964 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Novotel Amsterdam City
#121 of 373 in Amsterdam
2,901 reviews
Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied)
Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy
Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City
#103 of 373 in Amsterdam
2,150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Amsterdam Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Amsterdam Centre

Address: Stationsplein 49, 1012 AB Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#110 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: $122 - $238 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Amsterdam Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 363
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Paul van Ommen, the manager of the ibis Amsterdam Centre hotel, would like to give you a very warm welcome.At the ibis Amsterdam Centre, you are in the middle of the action. The city centre is at your doorstep. Within walking distance you will find the famous dam square, the red light district, historical canals and hundreds of bars and restaurants. Right in front of the hotel there are trains, metros, buses, canalbuses and trams to take you to museums, the airport (15min), the Rai convention centre and the Anne Frank house.The hotel offers 363 modern, convenient rooms equipped with all the necessary facilities such as a hairdryer, tv, Free WiFi, glass fibre internet, safe and phone (a water kettle can be borrowed at the reception desk).Feeling hungry? Breakfast is served daily from 6am to noon; our restaurant is open until 10:30pm and a variety of snacks and sandwiches are available 24/7. After a long day of exploring the beautiful city, you can relax and enjoy a hot or cold beverage in our stylish bar, while having a view on hundreds of bicycles. Our friendly employees welcome you until 1am.We’ll see you soon at the ibis Amsterdam Centre! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ibis Amsterdam Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Amsterdam Centre Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing