We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Location!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
Ranked #143 of 367 Hotels in Amsterdam
GreenLeadersSilver level
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Excellent Location!”
Reviewed September 18, 2013

This would have got 4 starts instead of five except I dont think the rooms are actually that nicely decorated. I stayed here for a total of three nights and the location is absolutely amazing. Its right next to the central station literally, and it is a piece of cake to get a tram to anywhere in Amsterdam as its about 2 minutes walk from the hotel door.
The room is small, and has a weird terracotta colour inside but when in Amsterdam you wont be spending much time there, so its not a big deal! Didnt have the breakfast as part of my booking so cant comment on that. It was super clean in this hotel as well and the bathroom was brilliant!
Would stay here again purely because of the location!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelBenji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DennisRullens, Manager at Ibis Amsterdam Centre, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Dear TravelBenji,

Thank you very much for your comment on Tripadvisor. Your feedback is most valuable to us.

I'm happy to hear you liked the location and that you enjoyed you stay.

We're looking forward to welcoming you again in the future!

Best regards,
Dennis Rullens
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,980 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,073
    2,460
    1,067
    227
    153
See reviews for
794
2,008
360
580
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (581)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ferndale, Michigan
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 18, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is next to the main train station in Amsterdam which was a relief after a long week of traveling. We were able to get off the train from the airport and walk next door to a clean room and warm shower. The staff was kind and helpful and the rooms were bright and clean. It's a basic hotel but a good starting point since its close to so many restaurants and metro stops.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank em2morse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DennisRullens, Manager at Ibis Amsterdam Centre, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
Dear em2morse,

Thank you for posting your thoughts on tripadvisor.

I'm happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and that you were able to relax a little after a long journey.

We're looking forward to welcoming you again in the future!

Best regards,

Dennis Rullens
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013

The hotel is situated beside the main train station and harbour, if you have been on a river cruise it is only a 10 minute walk from where you dock. The rooms are neat and clean and are perfect for a night or two stop over. The staff are very helpful and polite. It is only 10 minutes walk from the hotel to Dam square and all the attractions

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jaspas0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DennisRullens, Manager at Ibis Amsterdam Centre, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
Dear jaspas0,

Thank you for choosing Ibis Amsterdam Centre for your stop over.

I'm happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and will pass your compliments on to the staff.

Hopefully we can welcome you again in the future!

Best regards,
Dennis Rullens
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013

I only rated this hotel 4 out of 5 stars due to the fact I only stayed there for one night so I didn't get to experience enough of the facilities etc to be able to give it a full five out of five. However, from what I did experience in the Ibis, it was a very clean hotel with modern rooms and comfortable beds. Room came with tv, radiator, and overlooked the railway. Bathroom was quite small but usable. Staff were lovely. Would reccomend this hotel, it is lovely and I am going to stay here again soon.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DennisRullens, Manager at Ibis Amsterdam Centre, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear Sarah T,

Thank you very much for your kind words and recommendation on Tripadvisor. I'm especially happy to hear you found our staff lovely and will definitely pass your compliments on to them.

I understand you stayed here december 2012, so it can't be long before we can welcome you again. We're looking forward to it!

Best regards,

Dennis Rullens
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is next to the central station and good for exploring Amsterdam as well as central in NL for taking trains elsewhere. Good breakfast, rooms aren't huge but adequate for business use ie its just a bed, though tv is a bit high and far away. Shower is good and clean as you would expect from an ibis.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DennisRullens, Manager at Ibis Amsterdam Centre, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear John D,

Thank you for choosing Ibis Amsterdam Centre.

I'm happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and breakfast in our hotel.

Hopefully we can welcome you again in the future.

Best regards,

Dennis Rullens
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2013

After a quick trip from Schipol Airport by train it is just around the corner from the station. The rooms are very functional with a very large double bed. It is also an easy level walk to the Cruise Terminal where we embarked on a 14 day cruise of the Baltic. Needless to say we stayed again at the Ibis on our return from the cruise.
You can walk anywhere in Amsterdam from this Hotel.
Staff were excellent.
We did not try the breakfast as we found plenty of eating places nearby

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Libandpen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DennisRullens, Manager at Ibis Amsterdam Centre, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear Libandpen,

Thank you for choosing Ibis Amsterdam Centre twice!

Good to hear our hotel met your expectations and that you experienced our staff to be excellent. They will be delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us at our unbeattable location.

We're looking forward to welcoming you again in the future!

Best regards,

Dennis Rullens
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmington Hills, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2013

This hotel's only advantage is the great location. It is busy hotel but the front desk was efficient. Rooms are very small and are overpriced for their small size, but this is true with most hotels in this area. AC was noisy and barely adequate. Beds were small and not very comfortable - had thin mattress toppers. Ask for rooms away from the train noise by requesting rooms in floors 6 and higher.

If you don't get breakfast included in the room rate, just stop by the Starbucks in the train station or the bakery several blocks down from the station on the right hand side of the Damrak--Bakkerij de Waal.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Paddyboy777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Plantage & the East
Ibis Amsterdam Centre Stopera
Ibis Amsterdam Centre Stopera
#119 of 367 in Amsterdam
2,724 reviews
Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City
#104 of 367 in Amsterdam
2,010 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Ibis Styles Amsterdam Central Station
Centrum
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Amsterdam Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Amsterdam Centre

Property: Ibis Amsterdam Centre
Address: Stationsplein 49, 1012 AB Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#91 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#110 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Amsterdam Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 363
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Paul van Ommen, the manager of the ibis Amsterdam Centre hotel, would like to give you a very warm welcome.At the ibis Amsterdam Centre, you are in the middle of the action. The city centre is at your doorstep. Within walking distance you will find the famous dam square, the red light district, historical canals and hundreds of bars and restaurants. Right in front of the hotel there are trains, metros, buses, canalbuses and trams to take you to museums, the airport (15min), the Rai convention centre and the Anne Frank house.The hotel offers 363 modern, convenient rooms equipped with all the necessary facilities such as a hairdryer, tv, Free WiFi, glass fibre internet, safe and phone (a water kettle can be borrowed at the reception desk).Feeling hungry? Breakfast is served daily from 6am to noon; our restaurant is open until 10:30pm and a variety of snacks and sandwiches are available 24/7. After a long day of exploring the beautiful city, you can relax and enjoy a hot or cold beverage in our stylish bar, while having a view on hundreds of bicycles. Our friendly employees welcome you until 1am.We’ll see you soon at the ibis Amsterdam Centre! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Orbitz, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ibis Amsterdam Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Amsterdam Centre Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing