We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Right where you want to be” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ibis Amsterdam Centre

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
Ranked #142 of 361 Hotels in Amsterdam
GreenLeadersSilver level
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Right where you want to be”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

After a quick trip from Schipol Airport by train it is just around the corner from the station. The rooms are very functional with a very large double bed. It is also an easy level walk to the Cruise Terminal where we embarked on a 14 day cruise of the Baltic. Needless to say we stayed again at the Ibis on our return from the cruise.
You can walk anywhere in Amsterdam from this Hotel.
Staff were excellent.
We did not try the breakfast as we found plenty of eating places nearby

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Libandpen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DennisRullens, Manager at Ibis Amsterdam Centre, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear Libandpen,

Thank you for choosing Ibis Amsterdam Centre twice!

Good to hear our hotel met your expectations and that you experienced our staff to be excellent. They will be delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us at our unbeattable location.

We're looking forward to welcoming you again in the future!

Best regards,

Dennis Rullens
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,598 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    985
    2,290
    981
    206
    136
See reviews for
721
1,836
340
549
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (532)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Farmington Hills, Michigan
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

This hotel's only advantage is the great location. It is busy hotel but the front desk was efficient. Rooms are very small and are overpriced for their small size, but this is true with most hotels in this area. AC was noisy and barely adequate. Beds were small and not very comfortable - had thin mattress toppers. Ask for rooms away from the train noise by requesting rooms in floors 6 and higher.

If you don't get breakfast included in the room rate, just stop by the Starbucks in the train station or the bakery several blocks down from the station on the right hand side of the Damrak--Bakkerij de Waal.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Paddyboy777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

This hotel was reasonably priced and is right next to the train station. It's super easy to find. The trams are just feet from your door and they will take you to most of the tourists spots. Get to know how to use the trams instead of taking taxis...it is a great system. We were a little confused at first but once you get it, it's great.

The rooms are super small but very clean and comfortable. The staff were helpful and cordial and the little restaurant is fine. Food isn't really a problem thought because you are super central...restaurants are everywhere and there is a grocery store across the street. Bike rentals are also next door.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dscotlandrules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DennisRullens, Manager at Ibis Amsterdam Centre, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear dscotlandrules,

Thank you for choosing Ibis Amsterdam Centre.

I'm happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Indeed the tram system in our beatiful city is very convenient. Probably less dangerous that riding a bike here as well :-).

Hopefully we can welcome you again in the future!

Best regards,

Dennis Rullens
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
44 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here over New Years and really enjoyed myself. Clean cosy and comfortable in perfect central location rooms well sound proofed as next to the train station. Loved the breakfast and have to say staff excellent always there to answer questions . Thanks to hotel for a wonderful start to the new year :) x

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Choinne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DennisRullens, Manager at Ibis Amsterdam Centre, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear Choinne,

Thank you very much for your kind words on Tripadvisor.

I'm happy to hear you enjoyed yourself some time ago already. Luckily this doesn't make your comments less valuable :-). Our staff will be delighted to hear you had a good stay!

NYE is coming up shortly; we're looking forward to welcoming you again!

Best regards,

Dennis Rullens
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

Ibis Amsterdam Centre offers good value for money in a central location.

Getting there is an easy 30 mins from Schipol airport using the train. That costs 3.90 Euro using the ticket machine in the airport baggage collection area, and the trains run from platform 1 and 2). The ticket machine now has English instructions, so it's easy to use, just bring coins.

The hotel checking was both friendly and efficient.

The rooms are compact but clean and modern.

Bed is good, bathtoom tiny but functional. There is no cable or pay TV, so no English TV channels. Other than soap, there's no other niceties like moisturiser or tissues, but plenty of convenience stores within short walk.

The hotel is in a good location to everything.

I would recommend this hotel for tourists looking for reasonable tariffs and a good location in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Seyahbiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DennisRullens, Manager at Ibis Amsterdam Centre, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear Seyahbiz,

Thank you for choosing Ibis Amsterdam Centre and posting your review here.

I'm happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us.

Regarding the English tv channels I'm happy to inform you that we'll soon be changing providers, so we will be able to offer you more foreign channels besides the basic offered at the moment. You'll be able to enjoy television on the rare moments you're not exploring our wonderful city!

Thank you again for your kind words. Hopefully we can welcome you again in the future!

Best regards,
Dennis Rullens
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willemstad, Curacao
Level Contributor
81 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

We stayed for one night as we had to get a train the next morning.
Price/quality is good.The rooms are small but clean and everything worked as it should in the room.
The beds or pillows were not very comfortable. The breakfast was good and with enough to choose from. The staff was very friendly and efficient. Furthermore the location is excellent.

Room Tip: we stayed on the 5-th floor and had no noise from the trainstation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank argonfroes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DennisRullens, Manager at Ibis Amsterdam Centre, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear argonfroes,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on tripadvisor.

I'm happy to hear you enjoyed your short stay with us. It's especially good to hear that you experienced our staff to be friendly; I will pass your compliments on to them!

I'm sorry to hear you found the beds to be uncomfortable. The vast majority of our guest experience the Ibis Sweet Bed to be very comfortable. Of course, this is very personal and varies for each guest.

Thank you for your feedback which is most valuable to us.

I hope we can welcome you again in the future.

Best regards,

Dennis Rullens
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

i stayed at ibis center in amsterdam,the location of the hotel is excellent just next to metro/tram and bus services
one can take excursions from here
the hotel is quit rooms are clean and staff is friendly
my room was on the 9th floor.
two problem. one has to come down to ground floor if one wanted to have a cup of coffee or tea
my suggestion to the hotel will be to keep vending mechines on each floor and if not possible at on the 5th floor the floor of transtion
other to provide drinking water in the rooms
pay my thanks to staff for there cooperation and making my stay memorable

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jeetu44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DennisRullens, Manager at Ibis Amsterdam Centre, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear jeetu44,

Thank you very much for your review on Tripadvisor.

I'm happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and that our staff were able to make your stay memorable. They will be delighted to hear you enjoyed their service!

Thank you as well for your recommendations. Your feedback is most valuable to us. Regarding the drinking water I can inform you that the tap water in Amsterdam is perfectly drinkable and of an outstandig quality.

We're looking forward to welcoming you again in the future!

Best regards,

Dennis Rullens
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Ibis Styles Amsterdam Central Station
Plantage & the East
Ibis Amsterdam Centre Stopera
Ibis Amsterdam Centre Stopera
#123 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,560 reviews
Ibis Amsterdam City West
#127 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City
#115 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,824 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Amsterdam Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Amsterdam Centre

Property: Ibis Amsterdam Centre
Address: Stationsplein 49, 1012 AB Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#91 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#110 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Amsterdam Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 363
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Paul van Ommen, the manager of the ibis Amsterdam Centre hotel, would like to give you a very warm welcome.At the ibis Amsterdam Centre, you are in the middle of the action. The city centre is at your doorstep. Within walking distance you will find the famous dam square, the red light district, historical canals and hundreds of bars and restaurants. Right in front of the hotel there are trains, metros, buses, canalbuses and trams to take you to museums, the airport (15min), the Rai convention centre and the Anne Frank house.The hotel offers 363 modern, convenient rooms equipped with all the necessary facilities such as a hairdryer, tv, Free WiFi, glass fibre internet, safe and phone (a water kettle can be borrowed at the reception desk).Feeling hungry? Breakfast is served daily from 6am to noon; our restaurant is open until 10:30pm and a variety of snacks and sandwiches are available 24/7. After a long day of exploring the beautiful city, you can relax and enjoy a hot or cold beverage in our stylish bar, while having a view on hundreds of bicycles. Our friendly employees welcome you until 1am.We’ll see you soon at the ibis Amsterdam Centre! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Priceline, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Ibis Amsterdam Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Amsterdam Centre Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing