We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location, great service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
Ranked #145 of 374 Hotels in Amsterdam
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed March 29, 2013

we only had one night in Amsterdam - the Ibis is so close to the train station it made everything faster and easier. the information and the front desk people were very helpful.wi-fi in the room is great!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank tkak100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (5,236)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,212 - 2,218 of 5,236 reviews

Reviewed March 29, 2013

Just back from Amsterdam. This is the third time i stayed in Hotel Ibis. The location is fantastic. Thats why when i travel to Amsterdam, i stay there. this time i got front side room, face to main road. nice to see Amsterdam in evening. However, the toilet was very small. but the room had WiFi what i liked most. Compare to the facilities i always find room rent bit high as it does not include breakfast.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rozana F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DennisRullens, Manager at Ibis Amsterdam Centre, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2013

Dear Rozana,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel.

I'm glad to hear you enjoyed the location, view and free WiFi!

For your next stay, try to book your room online and as far in advance as possible on ibis.com. You should be able to find a good deal, for example free breakfast with your room. Members of Le Club Accorhotels also enjoy special offers and extra benefits. If you're not a member yet (free membership!), you can become one on your next visit to any accor hotel.

Thanks again for your review and we hope to welcome you again in the near future!

Best regards,

Dennis Rullens
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2013

not very good hotel to stay in its a pure rip off just because its right by the station not much more I can say about this hotel don't waste your time paying these prices when you can get a better deal and better hotel if you just stay away from this area !!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nathan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DennisRullens, Manager at Ibis Amsterdam Centre, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2013

Dear Nathan,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel.

I'm sorry to hear that your expectations weren't in line with the price you paid. I fully agree that our rates are also influenced by the central location we're in, which is a the case anywhere around the world. A central location does offer a lot of advantages, for example less travel time during short city visits.

We try to offer a good product for a competitive price, given the local market. Should you visit Amsterdam again, you can check ibis.com well in advance and find a special offer, allowing you to stay downtown for a lower price.

Hopefully we, or one of our other hotels in and around the city centre, can visit you again in the future!

Best regards,

Dennis Rullens
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2013

Just come back from spending a 2 night break at the Ibis Amsterdam centre,this hotel is in a great location right by the train station,easy to find and get to from the airport.The staff are polite,friendly and efficient but...... The rooms are so small and really not that great,shabby and not very comfortable,maybe if your a single traveller on business then maybe the room would be ok,we stayed as a couple for a well earned break and the rooms are just not good enough,bathroom like one in a carvan.Sorry Ibis your service is great but rooms need a total refurb.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gaynorg66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DennisRullens, Manager at Ibis Amsterdam Centre, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2013

Dear gaynorg66,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of our hotel.

I'm happy to hear you enjoyed the location and that our staff offered you good service.

However, I'm sorry te hear the comfort of the room didn't meet up to your expectations. We've replaced all the beds last year for the ibis Sweet bed, which is usually considered to be very comfy. Also the interior of the rooms has been revamped not so long ago. The size of the room can be considered as 'cute', which is often the case in Amsterdam. I fully understand your disappointment if you were expecting a large room. Unfortunately we can't change the size of the rooms. If you're looking for a larger room for the same price, you're more likely to find an appropriate room outside the city centre.

In case I have misunderstood the meaning of total refurb, you're more than welcome to contact me directly at h1556-dm@accor.com. It will only give me the opportunity to enhance our service.

Thank you again for posting your thoughts on here.

Best regards,

Dennis Rullens
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Doesn't allow you to book a twin room on the internet booking or one of their wheelchair accessible rooms so had to phone the hotel in Amsterdam to reserve them and even then got a double room when we got there. Staff at hotel very helpful and sorted it out.

Otherwise great location and friendly service.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank pxsturgess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DennisRullens, Manager at Ibis Amsterdam Centre, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2013

Dear pxsturgess,

Thank you for taking the time for writing your review.

I'm glad that you enjoyed the location and friendliness of our staff.

Please allow me to apolize for not getting you the right room right away. It's correct you can't book a wheelchair accessible room through our reservation system. The easiest way is to send us an e-mail at h1556@accor with your specific wishes and we'll try to accommodate you accordingly. We offer one wheelchair accessible twin room and two doubles, which usually doesn't cause any problems. In your specific case however it did and, even though I'm happy our staff was able to sort it our for you, I do apoligize for any inconvenience caused. Hopefully we can better serve you in the future!

Thank you again for your comments.

Best regards,

Dennis Rullens
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

Good hotel really near the Train station and about 10 min walk from the Dam perfect for people coming from the airport as it reduces a lot of problems with luggage handling and avoid the need of a taxi. The rooms are clean but not that spacious. The hotel staff is good and take good care of all your worries.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Flavioteures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DennisRullens, Manager at Ibis Amsterdam Centre, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2013

Dear Flavioteures,

Thank you for posting your thoughts on here, we really value your feedback.

I couldn't agree with you more that our location is unbeatable, either for a city trip or to catch a flight at the airport. I'm also glad to hear our staff was able to give you a warm welcome.

See you next time!

Best regards,

Dennis Rullens
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2013

Mostly when we are in Amsterdam we booking rooms here. It's really facile from a lot points of view; close to Central Rail Station, close to metro and trams, and just 3-5 minutes walk from Dam Rak Square. A little bit noisy in the morning if your rooms has windows on that part where is the bike parking - but this is Amsterdam. Food and service more than Ok if your stay is just for a few days. I recommend this hotel 100 %

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adrian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DennisRullens, Manager at Ibis Amsterdam Centre, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2013

Dear Adrian,

Thank you for your kind comments and compliments. It's good to hear you've enjoyed our city and hotel several times already.

We will try to keep improving our service for your next visit!

Best regards,

Dennis Rullens
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
XO Hotels Park West
#65 of 374 in Amsterdam
3,973 reviews
XO Hotels Couture
#43 of 374 in Amsterdam
1,936 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Novotel Amsterdam City
#120 of 374 in Amsterdam
2,874 reviews
Plantage & the East
Ibis Amsterdam Centre Stopera
Ibis Amsterdam Centre Stopera
#114 of 374 in Amsterdam
2,856 reviews
Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City
#102 of 374 in Amsterdam
2,129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Amsterdam Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Amsterdam Centre

Address: Stationsplein 49, 1012 AB Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#91 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#110 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: $122 - $237 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Amsterdam Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 363
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Paul van Ommen, the manager of the ibis Amsterdam Centre hotel, would like to give you a very warm welcome.At the ibis Amsterdam Centre, you are in the middle of the action. The city centre is at your doorstep. Within walking distance you will find the famous dam square, the red light district, historical canals and hundreds of bars and restaurants. Right in front of the hotel there are trains, metros, buses, canalbuses and trams to take you to museums, the airport (15min), the Rai convention centre and the Anne Frank house.The hotel offers 363 modern, convenient rooms equipped with all the necessary facilities such as a hairdryer, tv, Free WiFi, glass fibre internet, safe and phone (a water kettle can be borrowed at the reception desk).Feeling hungry? Breakfast is served daily from 6am to noon; our restaurant is open until 10:30pm and a variety of snacks and sandwiches are available 24/7. After a long day of exploring the beautiful city, you can relax and enjoy a hot or cold beverage in our stylish bar, while having a view on hundreds of bicycles. Our friendly employees welcome you until 1am.We’ll see you soon at the ibis Amsterdam Centre! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ibis Amsterdam Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Amsterdam Centre Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing