We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent choice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
Ranked #147 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
GreenLeadersSilver level
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“An excellent choice”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

I have been on the Hull- Amsterdam mini-cruise before and noted that the Ibis would be a convenient hotel if I were to stay in Amsterdam overnight. I wasn't wrong, as well as being convenient for the coach point, it is very friendly and good value for money. There is a luggage room so you don't have to drag your bags about; and it is very clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Swaztastic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,745 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,015
    2,355
    1,016
    215
    144
See reviews for
748
1,897
351
560
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (550)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

If like us, if this is your first time in Amsterdam, choose this hotel, location is brilliant right next to the train station, no searching the streets to find the hotel especially when you arrive in the dark and very close to all major attractions. Rooms basic but very clean and ideal for a sight seeing break. Public areas very pleasant and again very clean and staff very helpful and polite.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carole P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drogheda, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

Super hotel, super location nicest staff of any hotel I have been to, extreamly clean. Have no negatives at all. It was our 2nd trip to the Ibis Amsterdam City Centre and will not be the last. Already planning trip no 3. Highly highly recomend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank foxysam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

Read the reviews before we went but did not contact the Hotel we got a room in Red Tulip which was over the train Station this was not a problem ther room was large and the bathroom a large one.
Room was above one of the platforms but did not hear the trains air con did not work too good and the room was quite hot did not stop us sleeping well.
Was strange you had to get one elevator from Reception walk across a bridge and get a 2nd elevator up to the 7th floor.
Our cousin had a room in Yellow Windmill section facing the City side and their room was just big enough for the double bed and you could not sit on the loo and shut the door.
Check in was smooth we arrived at 10 and were allowed to check in straight away.
There was no tea and coffee facilities in the room but the restuarant allowed us to take a cup up to the room.
Bar was expensive 6.10 Euro for a pint.
Cousin got stuck in the lift for 1 hour but the staff were there all the time asking if she wanted drinks and snacks altogether the staff were attentive and professional

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Level Contributor
167 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 354 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

We stayed here for one night, the check in and out was really easy with friendly staff.
The location is great as you are right next to central station, literally 1 minute to the front entrance. The hotel is very clean, modern and the staff are more than happy to help.
We stayed on the fifth floor over looking the canal, the room was small but very clean, all we needed for a one night stay. We both slept well and didn't hear any noise.
The breakfast was buffet style and was included in our package, it consisted of a small selection of cereals, yogurts, fruits, breads, pastries and then had bacon, eggs, beans sausages. Then had a few coffee machines and juice machines for you to select your drinks.

I would definatly recommend staying here for 1/2 nights as its a great base right next to central station and all the Tram stops.

Room Tip: Ask for a canal view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lizzy_lu123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
157 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

Check in and out was easy with lovely friendly staff. The location is excellent being located RIGHT next to the central station. We had a lovely 6th floor corner room with massive windows overlooking Amsterdam. Fantastic views! The room was clean and contemporary with a decent amount of space to get around the room.

It should be noted that the walls are a bit thin so if you have rowdy neighbours (which can happen with all the stag dos in Amsterdam) then it might be a problem. The bathroom had a sewage smell several times when we were in the room and the shower door wouldn't close. But these are small gripes so considering the price the pros seriously outweighed the cons!

Room Tip: Ask for the 6th floor corner room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gillz100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Plantage & the East
Ibis Amsterdam Centre Stopera
Ibis Amsterdam Centre Stopera
#126 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,644 reviews
Centrum
Ibis Styles Amsterdam Central Station
Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City
#114 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,905 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Amsterdam Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Amsterdam Centre

Property: Ibis Amsterdam Centre
Address: Stationsplein 49, 1012 AB Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#91 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#110 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Amsterdam Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 363
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Paul van Ommen, the manager of the ibis Amsterdam Centre hotel, would like to give you a very warm welcome.At the ibis Amsterdam Centre, you are in the middle of the action. The city centre is at your doorstep. Within walking distance you will find the famous dam square, the red light district, historical canals and hundreds of bars and restaurants. Right in front of the hotel there are trains, metros, buses, canalbuses and trams to take you to museums, the airport (15min), the Rai convention centre and the Anne Frank house.The hotel offers 363 modern, convenient rooms equipped with all the necessary facilities such as a hairdryer, tv, Free WiFi, glass fibre internet, safe and phone (a water kettle can be borrowed at the reception desk).Feeling hungry? Breakfast is served daily from 6am to noon; our restaurant is open until 10:30pm and a variety of snacks and sandwiches are available 24/7. After a long day of exploring the beautiful city, you can relax and enjoy a hot or cold beverage in our stylish bar, while having a view on hundreds of bicycles. Our friendly employees welcome you until 1am.We’ll see you soon at the ibis Amsterdam Centre! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ibis Amsterdam Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Amsterdam Centre Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing