We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Location if in Amsterdam for 1 or 2 days.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ibis Amsterdam Centre

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
Ranked #141 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
GreenLeadersSilver level
South Florida, Florida
Level Contributor
117 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Excellent Location if in Amsterdam for 1 or 2 days.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

This hotel is literally right next to Amsterdam Centraal Station. We walked right into it after arriving in this beautiful city from London. The hotel and our room were very clean; the beds were very comfortable and the bathroom space was a decent size, with good water pressure in the shower. There is no noise whatsoever from the trains coming in and out of Centraal station. Breakfast is not included, and it is a bit pricey, but there are plenty of restaurants in the area or right at the train station, where you can enjoy a cheap breakfast. Public transportation is within a couple of steps from the hotel. If you prefer walking, the distances to the touristic places are within a few minutes walking distance. In front of the hotel you can rent a bike or take a canal cruise if you wish. The price of the hotel is not cheap, but average compared to others in the same category. Overall, we had a great experience at this hotel and highly recommend it , especially if staying in this city for a day or two and planing to take an early train the following morning.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jast64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,183 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    892
    2,089
    906
    184
    112
See reviews for
656
1,660
315
502
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (487)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

I had the miss fortune of staying at this hotel while on business at a large exhibition at the RAI. The hotel is very low budget, check-in was slow, the receptionist serving another guest explained about the 'business centre' - 2 pc you can use for mins free and offered the guest an ACCORD loyalty card - which if you took out that day you would get a 'free' drink in the bar - i didnt get any of this information. I was given my room - 504 - lifts require your room card to activate, my card didnt work, so a maintenance chap helped me as i was standing with case, & handbag. On arrival at room, opened door to a very SMALL room with 2 single beds - positioned in an 'L' shape so no chance of pushing together anyway not enough room, small beds, cheap furniture and open wardbrobe - did have a safe. No tea/coffee facilities. Bathroom was VERY small. View from the bedroom was bedrooms opposite and platform below. Noise from the trains is ongoing. My room had a connecting door to the next room so I felt uncomfortable at times. I asked a the reception about the PC's and was told I could use them, also asked about the ACCORD card and was told I could apply for one but the ;free drink' wasnt offered to me! Breakfast room on the 1st floor is long section of booths/table and free standing tables, very canteenish and self-clearing. Food was ok, eat as much as you want buffet with hot foods/cereal/breads etc.
Main concern, i was in the room one afternoon and there was knock at the door and the rustling of keys so the person was coming in, i opened the door to i can only assume it was housekeeping staff who asked if i was happy with the room! I would this a bit odd. There is a snack-bar in reception where you can buy sandwiches/crisps/bottle beer & wine. Outside is always cluttered with bikes and opposite is a large bike-park.
Plus point, the tram to the RAI starts at the Central station which is a cpl of mins walk but will take about 20 mins. Wouldnt stay there again just too low budget but im sure for travellers or students will find it adequate

Room Tip: ask for a refurished room - 8th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank twinklestar2307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

Be careful booking online as the system can create multiple bookings if you let someone else book at the same time. We found that the IBIS then will delete these bookings even the correct ones. Found the staff generally rude and unhelpful. Be prepared for the typical IBIS mini bathroom and no fridge. Air conditioning was pathetic and barely worked. Room service is iffy, as sometimes don't service the room, however the rooms are clean and comfortable if small. Great location at Central Station and with trams and subway there as well as tourist info office. Easy walk to Dam Sq and other sites. Huge bike parking area at the front of the hotel and walking to the Station could mean having to weave past some bikes. comfortable big beds, but the mattress is bigger than the base so watch when you sit on the edge of the bed.

Room Tip: Rooms on the north side look toward the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Syd675
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niskayuna,NY
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

We stayed at the Ibis Amsterdam Center before our cruise for one night and enjoyed it very much. The room was comfortable and the pricing low. There was no noise from the train station adjacent to the hotel. We took the train from the airport to central Amsterdam and walked next door to the Ibis with our luggage. There were many restaurants nearby where we ate dinner and breakfast the next day. The location can't be beat as most of the tours both by boat and bus start less than a block from the train station.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room. We got one without even asking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank naomi2291
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

Beyond the budget hotel stigma IBIS obtains.

If you wish to go to Amsterdam and partake in the coffeeshop culture, ask for a smoking room otherwise a non-smoking room is just fine.

If you’re staying on the top five floors you’ll need to change the life at level five & word of advice, the vending machine here will give you a lot of grief.

The rooms don’t have bar fridges however the staff are extremely friendly and will place items in the staff fridge is you request.

Great value for money! Location is second to none and service is beyond the budget status that comes with IBIS.

We’ll be staying here for our next Holland trip.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mynameisbartman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
79 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

Others have adequately commented on this hotel. Spotlessly clean, in great position next to Central Station and Tramway Terminus. It is surrounded by largest cycle storagepark in Europe, has a good bar, and some rooms over platform in station but with good double glazing this is not an issue. It provided a central base for our 3 day trip to Amsterdam. Only downside is that IBIS seem to now be using a topper foam matress on beds and these are not very supportive. Still have a sore back 7 days on. Other than that a good stay. We did not use restaurant. Being at heart of tramway system it is esy to get about and 3 day ticket for 16 Euros each bought at Information office at far side of station square provided us with cost effective transport to all the museums etc. Map from hotel indicates which tram to catch and where to get off. Hotel is also well connected for Canal Cruises.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MatureStudent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Plantage & the East
Ibis Amsterdam Centre Stopera
Ibis Amsterdam Centre Stopera
#129 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 2,331 reviews
Centrum
Ibis Styles Amsterdam Central Station
Ibis Amsterdam City West
#112 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Centrum
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Amsterdam Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Amsterdam Centre

Property: Ibis Amsterdam Centre
Address: Stationsplein 49, 1012 AB Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#92 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#112 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Amsterdam Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 363
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Paul van Ommen, the manager of the ibis Amsterdam Centre hotel, would like to give you a very warm welcome.At the ibis Amsterdam Centre, you are in the middle of the action. The city centre is at your doorstep. Within walking distance you will find the famous dam square, the red light district, historical canals and hundreds of bars and restaurants. Right in front of the hotel there are trains, metros, buses, canalbuses and trams to take you to museums, the airport (15min), the Rai convention centre and the Anne Frank house.The hotel offers 363 modern, convenient rooms equipped with all the necessary facilities such as a hairdryer, tv, Free WiFi, glass fibre internet, safe and phone (a water kettle can be borrowed at the reception desk).Feeling hungry? Breakfast is served daily from 6am to noon; our restaurant is open until 10:30pm and a variety of snacks and sandwiches are available 24/7. After a long day of exploring the beautiful city, you can relax and enjoy a hot or cold beverage in our stylish bar, while having a view on hundreds of bicycles. Our friendly employees welcome you until 1am.We’ll see you soon at the ibis Amsterdam Centre! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, ACCOR, Agoda, Odigeo, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Travelocity so you can book your Ibis Amsterdam Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Amsterdam Centre Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing