We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend Visit” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ibis Amsterdam Centre

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
Ranked #143 of 363 Hotels in Amsterdam
GreenLeadersSilver level
A TripAdvisor Member
“Weekend Visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2011

The hotel is ideally situated for the Central Railway station and as all trams terminate and depart from here it was absolutely ideal for our purposes. The hotel staff were courteous and friendly and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Although the bedroom was a touch on the small side it was always very clean. For a budget hotel we definitely would recommend it.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,274 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    915
    2,130
    923
    189
    117
See reviews for
670
1,698
319
511
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (499)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2011

Nice hotel, right beside central station so great for the airport and transport links to anywhere in Amsterdam. Rooms are small but perfectly functional (with safety box too). If you staying here between flights consider leaving your main luggage in the lockers at the airport to avoid having to carry it around.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
genova
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2011

We stayed here for 3 nights in the second weekend of December and although the hotel is in a very good central location (very near to Amsterdam central station) the quality of the hotel is basic, the rooms are too little and poorly cleaned. There are better hotels available than this, in Amsterdam, for better price.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nannige
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2011

£100 per night for a modern, cosmopolitan city centre hotel room is reasonable nowadays, but jeez the prices of the add-ons! As with all continental hotels there are no coffee or tea making facilities in the rooms, but having just 1 coffee machine in the lobby charging €2.50 for an egg-cupful of Espresso is a robbery. Then, in theory, a further €2.50 for hot water to make the coffee 'long' comes in at a fiver.

Walking downstairs at 10am, still half-mashed from the previous night's debauchery, dressed only in a t-shirt, jeans and barefoot, to carry 2 scalding paper cups at a TENNER back up 7 floors and a loooong walk is crazy.

That night in the bar, a single Brandy and a single Baileys as a nightcap- £15?!

Anyone would think that half the guests in this hotel were using recreational drugs to dull the pain of these prices, but of course, I'm sure that never goes on. . . . .

Good part- unlimited buffet breakfast for stoners from 4am until 12 noon! We had two, one when we came back from town and one when we woke up!!

Room Tip: elevator noise is significant in certain rooms, and this is a place where people wander back LATE!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tom h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level Contributor
27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2011

At first, I was a bit hesitant on staying here because of the location being right next door to Centraal Station. But, it turned out to be great and so convienent! I was lucky to be given a spacious room as soon as I checked in (early in the morning) with one of the best views of a city I have ever have. I found the beds to be comfortable. The breakfast was alot to choose from and served from early morning until almost noon! Suprisingly I did not hear and noise coming from the train station. I found the staff to be friendly and helpful. The young lady at the front desk on our arrival even gave us a recommendation for getting a cheap sandwich at the train station (rather than buying an overpriced meal at the hotel). There was one staff member at check out at 4 am who was worth avoiding.
All in all, it was a good stay here and I would return to this location if I return to Amsterdam. The only complaint that I have is that the room floors were not as clean as I would have liked. Bring light slippers or cheap flip flops if you go.

Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank skivnj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2011

I had to wait 10 - 15 minues every time at front desk; to check in, when my room card stopped working, to ask a question. I did want to use WiFi but couldn't be bothered queueing once again so just left it. You need more staff on the front desk, or make the process faster to check in!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2011

Very good location, complete breakfast, room size, noise insulation and free internet connection were the positive points. Staff was friendly.
On the other hand, some towels were stained and their cleanliness could be better.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Plantage & the East
Ibis Amsterdam Centre Stopera
Ibis Amsterdam Centre Stopera
#126 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 2,380 reviews
Centrum
Ibis Styles Amsterdam Central Station
Ibis Amsterdam City West
#119 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Centrum
Hotel The Exchange
Hotel The Exchange
#104 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,038 reviews
Centrum
A-Train Hotel
A-Train Hotel
#137 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 783 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Amsterdam Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Amsterdam Centre

Property: Ibis Amsterdam Centre
Address: Stationsplein 49, 1012 AB Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#92 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#111 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Amsterdam Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 363
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Paul van Ommen, the manager of the ibis Amsterdam Centre hotel, would like to give you a very warm welcome.At the ibis Amsterdam Centre, you are in the middle of the action. The city centre is at your doorstep. Within walking distance you will find the famous dam square, the red light district, historical canals and hundreds of bars and restaurants. Right in front of the hotel there are trains, metros, buses, canalbuses and trams to take you to museums, the airport (15min), the Rai convention centre and the Anne Frank house.The hotel offers 363 modern, convenient rooms equipped with all the necessary facilities such as a hairdryer, tv, Free WiFi, glass fibre internet, safe and phone (a water kettle can be borrowed at the reception desk).Feeling hungry? Breakfast is served daily from 6am to noon; our restaurant is open until 10:30pm and a variety of snacks and sandwiches are available 24/7. After a long day of exploring the beautiful city, you can relax and enjoy a hot or cold beverage in our stylish bar, while having a view on hundreds of bicycles. Our friendly employees welcome you until 1am.We’ll see you soon at the ibis Amsterdam Centre! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, ACCOR, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Ibis Amsterdam Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Amsterdam Centre Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing