We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Heemskerk Suites- Adults only
Ranked #112 of 367 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous”
Reviewed June 29, 2014 via mobile

Traveling with 3 people is frequently a hassle when it comes to hotels, so I booked the Heemskerk Suites based on that and the great reviews on Trip Advisor. The reviews were right--we absolutely loved it. First on the list of things to love is Norman! He greeted us when we got there with a map on which he proceeded to mark things we might want to see and good places to eat in the area, and answered our questions. He showed us the apartment and where everything was and explained how things worked. Every morning when we left he greeted us and answered any questions we might have.
The apartments are located in a lovely and very quiet neighborhood. It is very convenient to the trams which stop a few blocks away in front of the Concertgebouw. Right near the tram stop is a supermarket where we did our shopping. And it is very close to two of the great sights in Amsterdam, the Van Gogh Museum and the Rijksmuseum.
The apartment itself was lovely. We stayed in the Air suite, and loved the balcony. It looks out over a beautiful garden with birds chirping. The jacuzzi tub is terrific after a long day of sightseeing. I slept on the sofa bed which was very comfortable. We also loved the strong and reliable wifi. And since this was in the middle of a month long trip, the clothes washer and dryer were a godsend.
I really can't recommend this place too highly. We enjoyed it immensely! P.S. For lunch, try Le Pain Quotidien a couple blocks away (recommended by Norman)--it has scrumptious salads.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank ElleElleH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    8
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
30
89
8
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mountain View, California
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2014

A big THANK YOU to Norman Heemskerk for offering a wonderful place to stay at a fair rate, and also for offering us many tips on where to go for best canal cruise, best dinners (especially for that hard to find vegetarian fare), and best brewery to visit (no it is not Heineken). The Heemskerk Suites are very comfortable (we slept four adults in the Earth room) and conveniently located next to several bus and tram routes for your easy day ventures through the city. The suites are also located next door to the famous Concertgebouw where we enjoyed the free Wed noon concert. Take bus 197 from Schipol right to the Heemskerk Suites front door and begin the your adventure in Amsterdam! Thank you Norman!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dave B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston UK
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2014

We have been visiting Amsterdam for more than twenty years and have always used hotels. As there were four of us this time we decided to try two apartments.
This was a really good choice.mthe apartments are he best we have experienced anywhere. A really good situation in the Old South. The neighbourhood feel means we went to plenty of bars and restaurants in the area we wouldn't normally have stumbled upon. the Cafe Welling right across the street was convenient and welcoming. Well situated for the museums and trams into the city.
The apartments themselves are really comfortable, well designed and equipped to the highest standard. We had the Air apartment and used the balcony overlooking a quiet garden to drink the complimentary Prosecco left in the room.
Norman,the owner is always around for a chat and to give any assistance you need. He does a great job.
If you are looking for apartments then look no further.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vermeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2014

The Suites are located close to the Museumplein. Numerous trams and buses connect at this location although Amsterdam is small enough that most sites are within easy walking distance. Bus 197 can take you direct from Schiphol Airport to within a hundred meters of the Suites. This bus goes about every 15 minutes and you can pay on board. Norman was very helpful and informative of the surrounding area. The kitchen was well supplied with plates and cutlery.My wife and I would definitely stay at the Heemskerk Suites again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank GerhardH75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed May 21, 2014 via mobile

The appartment is comfortable, fully equipped, all dishes look new, everything is clean. The location is great if you like music the concert all is next to the appartment, all the museums are few minutes walking. Tram stop is near bye even a taxi station is next to the appartment. In summary one of the best places we stayed.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank doritktz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 20, 2014

The suites are very well located, highly convenient for the three main museums and of course the concert hall. They are well furnished with all your will need for a short stay. Everything is very clean and Norman is very helpful. A supermarket is just around the corner for all your food requirements. Beware there is an extra charge of 50 euro for cleaning after your stay plus a local tax. Overall a little expensive but probably worth it for the extra room.
If travelling from the airport, look for the bus 197, it takes you to Museumplien, next to the concert hall for just 5 euro in about 30 minutes. I would recommend this to other travellers and would be happy to go back myself.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 526TMB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2014

We stayed here from 28 April to 2 May. The location is superb. Within walking distance to the tram, Rijksmuseum, VanGogh museum. Excellent restaurants nearby and a supermarket and ATM within one block. The apartment (Fire room) had a wonderfully comfortable king bed in a bedroom that had its own bathroom. The living room/kitchen was spacious and had a sofa bed. It is clear that Norman and Sonya put their heart into remodeling this hotel and they are very helpful in answering questions and making recommendations. The room had normal hotel amenities: hairdryer, toiletries, towels. But also a full sized refrigerator, stove, oven, dishwasher, and kitchen table with 4 chairs. Wireless internet was fast and flawless. Norman has VOIP telephone in the room, so you can make calls to your home country free of charge. There was an ironing board, iron, washer, dryer just outside the room. There is a taxi stand just around the corner!
Initially I was going to book at Andaz or a chain hotel more close to the city center. I am so glad that we did not. We avoided the crowds and noise but were within minutes of any part of the city center.
I would stay here again without hesitation.

Room Tip: We liked the Fire room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FloridaADK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Conscious Hotel Museum Square
Conscious Hotel Museum Square
#81 of 367 in Amsterdam
939 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
The Muse Amsterdam - Boutique Hotel
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Conservatorium Hotel
Conservatorium Hotel
#15 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Nova Apartments Amsterdam
Nova Apartments Amsterdam
#172 of 367 in Amsterdam
170 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken
Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken
#82 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,020 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia
Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia
#110 of 367 in Amsterdam
855 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heemskerk Suites- Adults only? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heemskerk Suites- Adults only

Property: Heemskerk Suites- Adults only
Address: Jan Willem Brouwersstraat 25 | Amsterdam Centre, Museumplein, 1071 LH Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Hotel Heemskerk)
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#5 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#10 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#12 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#37 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#70 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Heemskerk Suites- Adults only 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bedstee Hotel is a new concept that recreates the style of capsule hotels in a real Dutch vintage tradition: sleeping in a closet. The hotel has 30 comfortable and private Bedstee boxes, only for adults, totally renewed, in 2017. All the bedstee will welcome you in a relaxing and informal sphere. Each box has a double and luxe bed, a closet for cabin luggage, led mood light and media panel for recharging your phone. Bathrooms are separate for men and women; the showers, in Delfts blue style, have a powerful rain shower and eco-all natural toiletries. The hotel has a bar and eating room, completely vegan/vegetarian and organic and it is situated in the most exclusive neighborhood of Amsterdam and located in an historical building in authentic architectonic style "Amsterdamse School" (Art Deco). The location is ideal, in the beautiful and quiet surroundings of the museum district where you can find the Van Gogh Museum, Rijks Museum and the Museum of Modern Art, all located next to the Museumplein. The famous Vondelpark is just around the corner. For some exciting nightlife you can visit the Leidseplein, which is within only ten minutes walking distance. Supermarkets or street markets are 5 to 10 minutes walking. We will provide you with all the information you may need and we can also book any tour for you. Stay cozy, stay convenient, stay Dutch. See you soon at De Bedstee Hotel!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Heemskerk Suites- Adults only reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heemskerk Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing