We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just great!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Heemskerk Suites- Adults only
Ranked #113 of 367 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
1 review
“Just great!”
Reviewed May 21, 2014 via mobile

The appartment is comfortable, fully equipped, all dishes look new, everything is clean. The location is great if you like music the concert all is next to the appartment, all the museums are few minutes walking. Tram stop is near bye even a taxi station is next to the appartment. In summary one of the best places we stayed.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank doritktz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    8
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
30
89
8
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 20, 2014

The suites are very well located, highly convenient for the three main museums and of course the concert hall. They are well furnished with all your will need for a short stay. Everything is very clean and Norman is very helpful. A supermarket is just around the corner for all your food requirements. Beware there is an extra charge of 50 euro for cleaning after your stay plus a local tax. Overall a little expensive but probably worth it for the extra room.
If travelling from the airport, look for the bus 197, it takes you to Museumplien, next to the concert hall for just 5 euro in about 30 minutes. I would recommend this to other travellers and would be happy to go back myself.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 526TMB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2014

We stayed here from 28 April to 2 May. The location is superb. Within walking distance to the tram, Rijksmuseum, VanGogh museum. Excellent restaurants nearby and a supermarket and ATM within one block. The apartment (Fire room) had a wonderfully comfortable king bed in a bedroom that had its own bathroom. The living room/kitchen was spacious and had a sofa bed. It is clear that Norman and Sonya put their heart into remodeling this hotel and they are very helpful in answering questions and making recommendations. The room had normal hotel amenities: hairdryer, toiletries, towels. But also a full sized refrigerator, stove, oven, dishwasher, and kitchen table with 4 chairs. Wireless internet was fast and flawless. Norman has VOIP telephone in the room, so you can make calls to your home country free of charge. There was an ironing board, iron, washer, dryer just outside the room. There is a taxi stand just around the corner!
Initially I was going to book at Andaz or a chain hotel more close to the city center. I am so glad that we did not. We avoided the crowds and noise but were within minutes of any part of the city center.
I would stay here again without hesitation.

Room Tip: We liked the Fire room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FloridaADK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensbury, New York
2 reviews
Reviewed May 1, 2014

My husband and I couldn't have chosen a better apartment than Heemskerk Suites for our stay in Amsterdam. The location was ideal. It was an easy bus trip from the airport to the apartment, steps away from the Concertgebouw, and a few minutes walk to the art museums. We had access to the city because city transportation stops were nearby. But perhaps the best part of our stay at Heemskerk Suites was the helpfulness and generosity of Norman and Sonia. They made our trip perfect!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, NJ
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2014

We stayed here for four nights and had an amazing time. To me this place is a cross between a luxury hotel and a bed and breakfast - you get the amenities and privacy you expect in a hotel, but the personal attention of a bed and breakfast. For us, it was perfect. Norman was extremely helpful and always available (even when he warned us ahead of time that he would not be). He handled all aspects of our stay from check in, key difficulties, shower controls, restaurant recommendations, taxis to check out himself. We never dealt with any lines or forms.
The location of the hotel is great. You can easily walk to the major musuems and to a wide variety of restaurants. There is a taxi stand right outside the door and a grocery store within walking distance. Each suite has a full bathroom and an incredibly tiny second toilet. A nice convenience. The kitchens are fully stocked and there were welcoming snacks. Bath amenities were also provided.
Just a great place to stay. Thanks Norman!

Room Tip: All rooms require navigating at least one flight of stairs. The courtyard rooms (1 and 3) were quie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 92JeanR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ware
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2014

Lovely apartment with very helpful host. A home from home with a quirky luxurious feel. We really enjoyed the stylish décor and comfort level. The stairs are a killer so request a lower floor if you have any mobility issues.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank JaneinWare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
197 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2014

This is just an excellent place to stay. We got a bus from the airport (5 Euros instead of a taxi 45 Euros). The bus stop is about 100 metres from the front door. The Concertgebouw is 50 metres away, Stedelijk Museum 150 and Rijksmuseum about 350. The neighbourhood is very much "up market" and was quite quiet at night.
We were given a wonderfully warm welcome by Sonia and Norman, the owners. When we arrived Norman spent about 20 minutes taking us through all the local information (places of interest, restaurants, organic market, local supermarket, transportation etc.) as well as the way the apartments work. This was really helpful and meant that we were able use the apartment as our own thereafter.
We had chosen a "Fire" apartment for two people. It was lovely. Smartly-decorated, bright, clean and well-equipped. The bed was comfortable and the bath enormous. There were fresh flowers too.The kitchen area was capable of being used to prepare meals but we just used it for breakfasts.
We normally choose hotels when we travel so an apartment was a bit of a change. Nevertheless, Heemskerk was excellent and up to the very highest standards. We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DavidCarolKt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Conscious Hotel Museum Square
Conscious Hotel Museum Square
#83 of 367 in Amsterdam
940 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
The Muse Amsterdam - Boutique Hotel
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Conservatorium Hotel
Conservatorium Hotel
#16 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Nova Apartments Amsterdam
Nova Apartments Amsterdam
#171 of 367 in Amsterdam
170 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken
Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken
#82 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,020 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia
Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia
#103 of 367 in Amsterdam
855 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heemskerk Suites- Adults only? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heemskerk Suites- Adults only

Property: Heemskerk Suites- Adults only
Address: Jan Willem Brouwersstraat 25 | Amsterdam Centre, Museumplein, 1071 LH Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Hotel Heemskerk)
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#5 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#10 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#11 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#37 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#72 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Heemskerk Suites- Adults only 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bedstee Hotel is a new concept that recreates the style of capsule hotels in a real Dutch vintage tradition: sleeping in a closet. The hotel has 30 comfortable and private Bedstee boxes, only for adults, totally renewed, in 2017. All the bedstee will welcome you in a relaxing and informal sphere. Each box has a double and luxe bed, a closet for cabin luggage, led mood light and media panel for recharging your phone. Bathrooms are separate for men and women; the showers, in Delfts blue style, have a powerful rain shower and eco-all natural toiletries. The hotel has a bar and eating room, completely vegan/vegetarian and organic and it is situated in the most exclusive neighborhood of Amsterdam and located in an historical building in authentic architectonic style "Amsterdamse School" (Art Deco). The location is ideal, in the beautiful and quiet surroundings of the museum district where you can find the Van Gogh Museum, Rijks Museum and the Museum of Modern Art, all located next to the Museumplein. The famous Vondelpark is just around the corner. For some exciting nightlife you can visit the Leidseplein, which is within only ten minutes walking distance. Supermarkets or street markets are 5 to 10 minutes walking. We will provide you with all the information you may need and we can also book any tour for you. Stay cozy, stay convenient, stay Dutch. See you soon at De Bedstee Hotel!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Heemskerk Suites- Adults only reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heemskerk Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing