We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Week in Amsterdam”
Review of De Bedstee Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
De Bedstee Hotel
Ranked #127 of 368 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Queensbury, New York
2 reviews
“A Week in Amsterdam”
Reviewed May 1, 2014

My husband and I couldn't have chosen a better apartment than Heemskerk Suites for our stay in Amsterdam. The location was ideal. It was an easy bus trip from the airport to the apartment, steps away from the Concertgebouw, and a few minutes walk to the art museums. We had access to the city because city transportation stops were nearby. But perhaps the best part of our stay at Heemskerk Suites was the helpfulness and generosity of Norman and Sonia. They made our trip perfect!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    166
    8
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
30
91
8
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chester, NJ
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2014

We stayed here for four nights and had an amazing time. To me this place is a cross between a luxury hotel and a bed and breakfast - you get the amenities and privacy you expect in a hotel, but the personal attention of a bed and breakfast. For us, it was perfect. Norman was extremely helpful and always available (even when he warned us ahead of time that he would not be). He handled all aspects of our stay from check in, key difficulties, shower controls, restaurant recommendations, taxis to check out himself. We never dealt with any lines or forms.
The location of the hotel is great. You can easily walk to the major musuems and to a wide variety of restaurants. There is a taxi stand right outside the door and a grocery store within walking distance. Each suite has a full bathroom and an incredibly tiny second toilet. A nice convenience. The kitchens are fully stocked and there were welcoming snacks. Bath amenities were also provided.
Just a great place to stay. Thanks Norman!

Room Tip: All rooms require navigating at least one flight of stairs. The courtyard rooms (1 and 3) were quie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 92JeanR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ware
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2014

Lovely apartment with very helpful host. A home from home with a quirky luxurious feel. We really enjoyed the stylish décor and comfort level. The stairs are a killer so request a lower floor if you have any mobility issues.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank JaneinWare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
197 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2014

This is just an excellent place to stay. We got a bus from the airport (5 Euros instead of a taxi 45 Euros). The bus stop is about 100 metres from the front door. The Concertgebouw is 50 metres away, Stedelijk Museum 150 and Rijksmuseum about 350. The neighbourhood is very much "up market" and was quite quiet at night.
We were given a wonderfully warm welcome by Sonia and Norman, the owners. When we arrived Norman spent about 20 minutes taking us through all the local information (places of interest, restaurants, organic market, local supermarket, transportation etc.) as well as the way the apartments work. This was really helpful and meant that we were able use the apartment as our own thereafter.
We had chosen a "Fire" apartment for two people. It was lovely. Smartly-decorated, bright, clean and well-equipped. The bed was comfortable and the bath enormous. There were fresh flowers too.The kitchen area was capable of being used to prepare meals but we just used it for breakfasts.
We normally choose hotels when we travel so an apartment was a bit of a change. Nevertheless, Heemskerk was excellent and up to the very highest standards. We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DavidCarolKt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2014 via mobile

We had such a wonderful stay and Norman was the best host ever! We requested if he could arrange a Valentine surprise and he turned the room into a a romantic place with roses and rosepetals and a great breakfast! Thanks again!!
But please note that when less than 3 nights are booked an additional fee has to be paid!! This is not mentioned clearly on Tripadvisor and makes booking for just one night quite expensive.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MariaNetherlands59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 24, 2014

I visited Amsterdam in order to attend a Concertgebouw concert. This hotel is ideal for concerts as well as art museums. It was very clean, comfortable and sunny. I would highly recommend this hotel. Norman Heemskerk was very helpful in suggesting excellent restaurants and shops.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ViolaLinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2014 via mobile

The apartment was roomy and beautifully furnished with all amenities anyone could want, including new modern kitchen appliances. The location is perfect for museum goers and concert attendees. Public transportation and a supermarket are a block away. We were greeted warmly by Norman who was very generous in giving us information about sites to visit and use of public transportation. It was comforting to know that He was available at any time. We would heartily recommend this charming apartment to anyone visiting Amsterdam.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Tolya123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Conscious Hotel Museum Square
Conscious Hotel Museum Square
#84 of 368 in Amsterdam
949 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
The Muse Amsterdam - Boutique Hotel
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Nova Apartments Amsterdam
Nova Apartments Amsterdam
#163 of 368 in Amsterdam
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Conservatorium Hotel
Conservatorium Hotel
#16 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,288 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken
Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken
#83 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,036 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia
Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia
#110 of 368 in Amsterdam
863 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Bedstee Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Bedstee Hotel

Property: De Bedstee Hotel
Address: Jan Willem Brouwersstraat 25 | Amsterdam Centre, Museumplein, 1071 LH Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Heemskerk Suites- Adults only)
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#5 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#6 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#10 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#37 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — De Bedstee Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bedstee Hotel is a new concept that recreates the style of capsule hotels in a real Dutch vintage tradition: sleeping in a closet. The hotel has 30 comfortable and private Bedstee boxes, only for adults, totally renewed, in 2017. All the bedstee will welcome you in a relaxing and informal sphere. Each box has a double and luxe bed, a closet for cabin luggage, led mood light and media panel for recharging your phone. Bathrooms are separate for men and women; the showers, in Delfts blue style, have a powerful rain shower and eco-all natural toiletries. The hotel has a bar and eating room, completely vegan/vegetarian and organic and it is situated in the most exclusive neighborhood of Amsterdam and located in an historical building in authentic architectonic style "Amsterdamse School" (Art Deco). The location is ideal, in the beautiful and quiet surroundings of the museum district where you can find the Van Gogh Museum, Rijks Museum and the Museum of Modern Art, all located next to the Museumplein. The famous Vondelpark is just around the corner. For some exciting nightlife you can visit the Leidseplein, which is within only ten minutes walking distance. Supermarkets or street markets are 5 to 10 minutes walking. We will provide you with all the information you may need and we can also book any tour for you. Stay cozy, stay convenient, stay Dutch. See you soon at De Bedstee Hotel!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your De Bedstee Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heemskerk Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing