We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Made our Amsterdam trip a success”
Review of De Bedstee Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
De Bedstee Hotel
Ranked #187 of 371 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed March 27, 2014

This is just an excellent place to stay. We got a bus from the airport (5 Euros instead of a taxi 45 Euros). The bus stop is about 100 metres from the front door. The Concertgebouw is 50 metres away, Stedelijk Museum 150 and Rijksmuseum about 350. The neighbourhood is very much "up market" and was quite quiet at night.
We were given a wonderfully warm welcome by Sonia and Norman, the owners. When we arrived Norman spent about 20 minutes taking us through all the local information (places of interest, restaurants, organic market, local supermarket, transportation etc.) as well as the way the apartments work. This was really helpful and meant that we were able use the apartment as our own thereafter.
We had chosen a "Fire" apartment for two people. It was lovely. Smartly-decorated, bright, clean and well-equipped. The bed was comfortable and the bath enormous. There were fresh flowers too.The kitchen area was capable of being used to prepare meals but we just used it for breakfasts.
We normally choose hotels when we travel so an apartment was a bit of a change. Nevertheless, Heemskerk was excellent and up to the very highest standards. We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DavidCarolKt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (181)
There are newer reviews for De Bedstee Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

102 - 108 of 181 reviews

Reviewed February 24, 2014 via mobile

We had such a wonderful stay and Norman was the best host ever! We requested if he could arrange a Valentine surprise and he turned the room into a a romantic place with roses and rosepetals and a great breakfast! Thanks again!!
But please note that when less than 3 nights are booked an additional fee has to be paid!! This is not mentioned clearly on Tripadvisor and makes booking for just one night quite expensive.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MariaNetherlands59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2014

I visited Amsterdam in order to attend a Concertgebouw concert. This hotel is ideal for concerts as well as art museums. It was very clean, comfortable and sunny. I would highly recommend this hotel. Norman Heemskerk was very helpful in suggesting excellent restaurants and shops.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ViolaLinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2014

The apartment was roomy and beautifully furnished with all amenities anyone could want, including new modern kitchen appliances. The location is perfect for museum goers and concert attendees. Public transportation and a supermarket are a block away. We were greeted warmly by Norman who was very generous in giving us information about sites to visit and use of public transportation. It was comforting to know that He was available at any time. We would heartily recommend this charming apartment to anyone visiting Amsterdam.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Tolya123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2014 via mobile

These luxurious themed apartments are fabulous. My boyfriend & I stayed in the Air room for 5 days and couldn't have been happier. The room was clean and spacious with perfect facilities. If you would like do some cooking for yourself then the room is equipped with a state of the art kitchen. The bathroom was huge and the best shower I've ever experienced. These apartments exceeded our expectations. The owner (Norman) was delightful, offering up advice and direction to us when we failed locate certain attractions and services. The location of the apartment was perfect and quiet, situated in a lovely suburb in the museum district. If we were to return to Amsterdam we wouldn't hesitate to stay here again. You won't be disappointed; quality, location or price-wise.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Chay9352
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2014

This was a lovely, clean, well maintained and superbly located place to stay. Within walking distance of many museums and other tourist attractions. The apartment is very spacious and modern with all the necessities and more. The welcome basket was a nice touch. Norman and Sonia are very accommodating and provided great advice on where to go, what to see and do in a short visit. This was worth every euro. I will be back.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Tammy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2014

We stayed in the Water apartment. It was warm, spacious and comfortable and could hardly have been better placed as it's next door to the Concertgebouw and a short walk across the park from the Rijksmuseum, Our host Norman Heemskerk could not have been more helpful and friendly and we really enjoyed talking to him. He had great advice on where to eat, to book a canal cruise, how to get around and so on.
Amsterdam is a wonderful city. In a long weekend we managed two lengthy visits to the Rijksmuseum (the €15 admisison covers a whole year!), an orchestra concert, an afternoon in the Rembrandthuis, a boat trip and some lovely meals out. There is even an "outpost" of the Rijksmuseum with free admission at Schiphol airport.
All in all it was a most wonderful weekend that we'll never forget. If we manage a return trip we'll definitely book to stay at the Heemskirk suites.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Amsterdam Teleport Hotel
#81 of 371 in Amsterdam
850 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Conscious Hotel Museum Square
Conscious Hotel Museum Square
#78 of 371 in Amsterdam
953 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia
Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia
#110 of 371 in Amsterdam
871 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stadsdeel Zuid
Euphemia Hotel
Euphemia Hotel
#263 of 371 in Amsterdam
207 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
The Muse Amsterdam - Boutique Hotel
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Verdi
Hotel Verdi
#189 of 371 in Amsterdam
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Bedstee Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Bedstee Hotel

Address: Jan Willem Brouwersstraat 25 | Amsterdam Centre, Museumplein, 1071 LH Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Heemskerk Suites- Adults only)
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#5 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#10 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#10 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#37 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: $96 - $168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — De Bedstee Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bedstee Hotel is a new concept that recreates the style of capsule hotels in a real Dutch vintage tradition: sleeping in a closet. The hotel has 30 comfortable and private Bedstee boxes, only for adults, totally renewed in 2017. All the Bedstee will welcome you in a relaxing and informal sphere. Each box has a double and luxe bed, a closet for cabin luggage, led mood light and media panel for recharging your phone. Bathrooms are separate for men and women; the showers, in Delfts blue style, have a powerful rain shower and eco-all natural toiletries. The hotel has a bar and eating room, completely vegan/vegetarian and organic and it is situated in the most exclusive neighborhood of Amsterdam and located in an historical building in authentic architectonic style "Amsterdamse School" (Art Deco). The location is ideal, in the beautiful and quiet surroundings of the museum district where you can find the Van Gogh Museum, Rijks Museum and the Museum of Modern Art, all located next to the Museumplein. The famous Vondelpark is just around the corner. For some exciting nightlife you can visit the Leidseplein, which is within only ten minutes walking distance. Supermarkets or street markets are 5 to 10 minutes walking. We will provide you with all the information you may need and we can also book any tour for you. Stay cozy, stay convenient, stay Dutch. See you soon at De Bedstee Hotel!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your De Bedstee Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heemskerk Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing