We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Stay at Heemskerk Suites” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Heemskerk Suites- Adults only

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Heemskerk Suites- Adults only
Ranked #41 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Stuttgart, Germany
Level Contributor
1 review
“Wonderful Stay at Heemskerk Suites”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

A wonderful stay. Norman and Sonia are very polite and we felt very comfortable immediately after our arrival.
Norman spend some time to explain his amazing city and gave some really nice tips for delicius dinner.
The apartment, we booked, the fire suite was excellent. The whirlpool sessions were very relaxing.
We are going to stay again. This time we would book the Air Suite with balcony.
Norman and Sonia thanks for this fantastic time at your home.
Greetings from Stuttgart
Tatjana & Marco

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Klee001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    8
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
30
89
8
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hobart, Tasmania, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

excellent location, lovely bottle of champangne and biscuits awaiting, more than any other hotel had in place, very close to rijks museum and van gogh musems, close to supermarket, and a few local shops. Two minutes walk to the tram, either no 16 or 24 to Amsterdam central which took about 15 minutes. The owners are very friendly and warm, nothing was a problem, very comfortable unit, good free wifi. Very quiet. We have stayed here twice during our 3 months overseas and would stay again if we returned. Loved it. After staying in hotels across the country it was nice to come back to the unit and relax and be able to do our washing. Thanks again Sonia and Norman, you have a wonderful place, keep up the good work.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gail d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brantford, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

This place is amazing. As others have noted, the location is fantastic. Around the corner from the Museumplein (Rijksmuseum, Van Gogh Museum, Concert Hall, etc.); and on a regular bus line that's 20 minutes to Schipol and a tram line that's no more than 15 minutes to Central Station.

The owner Norman Heemskerk is a joy. He's run the place forever and is very proud of what he's created. He provided us with a very helpful orientation when we arrived and was always happy to chat when we ran into him while coming and going.

We (husband, wife, two teenage boys) stayed in the Earth room and we loved it. The boys were comfortable sleeping on the pull-out sofa. My wife and I had our own room with a two-piece bathroom and the main bathroom with rainshower head was a real treat. The kitchen had everything we needed and with a Albert Heins grocery store a five-minute walk away we were able to save a lot of money on breakfasts and a few dinners. We also liked the sunlights so much that we're thinking of putting some in our own home.

All in all, if you're looking for something on a personal scale that can function as a self-sufficiency, this could be the place for you.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AndrewR34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Volendam, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

Heemskerk suites is a real jewel in Amsterdam, located just few minutes away from the Van gogh and the Rijskmuseum and in a really classy and elegant neighbourood.
I booked the Earth suite with my girlfriend for her birthday. Could not be more perfect, perfectly clean, fresh and comfortable.
Fresh flowers on the table a fresh bottle of Prosecco in the fridge and the amazing friendly welcome of Norman and his staff. We felt immediately home.
A quiet, clean, relaxing, spacious, fantastic gem in Amsterdam
Thank you for making our stay special!

Room Tip: The earth suite is silent, with a functional kitchen and a bid living room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank willem d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

From the moment we arrived to the moment we left, Norman and Sonia were fantastic hosts, very friendly and always willing to give us advice and tips for our trip. Accomodation was stunning, very clean, stylish and spacious with a few personal touches thrown in to make our stay more pleasant. In terms of location I don't think this could be any better, classy neighbourhood and within walking distance of everything. However, there are lots of transport options on the doorstop if you need them. I would also recommend a visit to Cafe Welling opposite the apartments, a traditional 'brown cafe' serving great beer and good conversation. A real slice of old Amsterdam. Thanks again to Norman and Sonia for making our stay so pleasant. We'll definitely be back to stay with you again. .

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank FloLib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aiken, South Carolina
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

On our first visit to Amsterdam, my husband and I wanted to stay close to the Museums and the area surrounding them. I did some searching and found Museum Mansion/Hemmskerk Suites. I booked the room there, but did not realize the little jewel that I had discovered. We had a wonderful stay, thanks to Norman, who greeted us at the door and welcomed us to his hotel. He was very helpful in helping us understand how to get around and what to see and do. Our room was very clean, comfortable and nicely decorated. There were fresh flowers on the table, a computer in the room, a bottle of Prosecco in the fridge, and wonderful caramel waffle cookies in the kitchen. All of these little things made us feel welcome the moment we walked in the room.
The bus and tram stations were right around the corner and the Van Gogh and Rijks Museums were across the street.
I would highly recommend this property to family, friends, or anyone looking for a comfortable, quiet getaway in Amsterdam.

Room Tip: I would recommend a first floor room for those with mobility issues. The stairs are a bit steep and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cboyleston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
Level Contributor
122 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2013

Lovely stay in the WATER suite on top floor. Norman has equipped these 1 bedroom apartments with everything you could need. The deep soaking tub in WATER was very welcome after a day on museum stone floors. The mini-dishwasher and the induction cooktop made cooking quick and easy. Our unit overlooked the peaceful garden of the Concertgebow providing a restful night. Excellent bed and bedding - I'm heading to Ikea to purchase the same bed for our guest room. We were welcomed with a vase of tulips, a package of stroopwaffel cookies, and advice on best bakeries, grocery, green markets, sightseeing, & the tram system. Kitchen basics like coffee, tea, sugar & salt, paper towels, dish soap, & dishwasher detergent are included and the kitchen was well equipped with quality pans & utensils for cooking. There is a safe for valuables. There is no elevator, so pack only what you can lift. The building is secure with a keypad combination required for the main door. The neighborhood on the west end of Museumplein is pleasant & attached to the Concertgebow which offers musical events every night. Stay here.....it's a wonderful location for visiting the Rijksmuseum, Van Gogh, or Stedjlik museums or to hear classical music.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank miss_utility
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel JL No76
Hotel JL No76
#32 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 837 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Roemer
Hotel Roemer
#60 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 651 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Aalders
Hotel Aalders
#54 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Conservatorium Hotel
Conservatorium Hotel
#9 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,133 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Nova Apartments Amsterdam
Nova Apartments Amsterdam
#157 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
De Pijp
Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam
Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam
#31 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heemskerk Suites- Adults only? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heemskerk Suites- Adults only

Property: Heemskerk Suites- Adults only
Address: Jan Willem Brouwersstraat 25 | Amsterdam Centre, Museumplein, 1071 LH Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Hotel Heemskerk)
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#5 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#10 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#31 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#37 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Heemskerk Suites- Adults only 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Heemskerk Suites has 4 luxury suites, only for adults, and are situated in the most exclusive neighborhood of Amsterdam and located in an historical building in authentic architectonic style "Amsterdamse School" (Art Deco). The four suites are totally renewed. All suites will welcome you in a relaxing sphere and will embrace you, whether it is your holiday or your business trip. The privacy and comfort of all suites will make sure you will have a pleasant stay. The location is ideal, in the beautiful and quiet surroundings of the museum district where you can find the Van Gogh Museum, Rijks Museum and the Museum of Modern Art, all located next to the Museum plein. The famous Vondel park is just around the corner. For some exciting nightlife you can visit the Leidse plein, which is within only ten minutes walking distance. The RAI Congress Centre is easy to reach by public transport or even by foot. Supermarkets or street markets are 5 to 10 minutes walking. We will provide you with all the information you may need and we can also book any tour for you. We do not serve dinner at our but there is a wide variety of excellent restaurants in the neighborhood. For breakfast you can of course use the kitchen in the apartment or visit one of the breakfast cafes which you will find nearby. Personal assistance and making our guests feel at home is our number one priority. We welcome people from all nations and nationalities. See you soon at Heemskerk Suites!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Heemskerk Suites- Adults only reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heemskerk Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing