We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Jewel on the Museum Square!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Heemskerk Suites- Adults only
Ranked #113 of 367 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Volendam, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Jewel on the Museum Square!”
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Heemskerk suites is a real jewel in Amsterdam, located just few minutes away from the Van gogh and the Rijskmuseum and in a really classy and elegant neighbourood.
I booked the Earth suite with my girlfriend for her birthday. Could not be more perfect, perfectly clean, fresh and comfortable.
Fresh flowers on the table a fresh bottle of Prosecco in the fridge and the amazing friendly welcome of Norman and his staff. We felt immediately home.
A quiet, clean, relaxing, spacious, fantastic gem in Amsterdam
Thank you for making our stay special!

Room Tip: The earth suite is silent, with a functional kitchen and a bid living room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank willem d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    8
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
30
89
8
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2013

From the moment we arrived to the moment we left, Norman and Sonia were fantastic hosts, very friendly and always willing to give us advice and tips for our trip. Accomodation was stunning, very clean, stylish and spacious with a few personal touches thrown in to make our stay more pleasant. In terms of location I don't think this could be any better, classy neighbourhood and within walking distance of everything. However, there are lots of transport options on the doorstop if you need them. I would also recommend a visit to Cafe Welling opposite the apartments, a traditional 'brown cafe' serving great beer and good conversation. A real slice of old Amsterdam. Thanks again to Norman and Sonia for making our stay so pleasant. We'll definitely be back to stay with you again. .

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank FloLib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aiken, South Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2013

On our first visit to Amsterdam, my husband and I wanted to stay close to the Museums and the area surrounding them. I did some searching and found Museum Mansion/Hemmskerk Suites. I booked the room there, but did not realize the little jewel that I had discovered. We had a wonderful stay, thanks to Norman, who greeted us at the door and welcomed us to his hotel. He was very helpful in helping us understand how to get around and what to see and do. Our room was very clean, comfortable and nicely decorated. There were fresh flowers on the table, a computer in the room, a bottle of Prosecco in the fridge, and wonderful caramel waffle cookies in the kitchen. All of these little things made us feel welcome the moment we walked in the room.
The bus and tram stations were right around the corner and the Van Gogh and Rijks Museums were across the street.
I would highly recommend this property to family, friends, or anyone looking for a comfortable, quiet getaway in Amsterdam.

Room Tip: I would recommend a first floor room for those with mobility issues. The stairs are a bit steep and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cboyleston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2013

Lovely stay in the WATER suite on top floor. Norman has equipped these 1 bedroom apartments with everything you could need. The deep soaking tub in WATER was very welcome after a day on museum stone floors. The mini-dishwasher and the induction cooktop made cooking quick and easy. Our unit overlooked the peaceful garden of the Concertgebow providing a restful night. Excellent bed and bedding - I'm heading to Ikea to purchase the same bed for our guest room. We were welcomed with a vase of tulips, a package of stroopwaffel cookies, and advice on best bakeries, grocery, green markets, sightseeing, & the tram system. Kitchen basics like coffee, tea, sugar & salt, paper towels, dish soap, & dishwasher detergent are included and the kitchen was well equipped with quality pans & utensils for cooking. There is a safe for valuables. There is no elevator, so pack only what you can lift. The building is secure with a keypad combination required for the main door. The neighborhood on the west end of Museumplein is pleasant & attached to the Concertgebow which offers musical events every night. Stay here.....it's a wonderful location for visiting the Rijksmuseum, Van Gogh, or Stedjlik museums or to hear classical music.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank miss_utility
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krefeld, Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 28, 2013

We had a very pleasent stay, very friendly people and a wonderful place to stay. Everything is clean and nice. You have only 5 min into downtown and need no expensive taxi or anything.
5 Stars from me,
highly recomendable.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Easytoo E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Start with the welcoming and very helpful Norman Heemskerk- he gave us an Amersterdam overview and recommendations for touring and eating - all of which were great.
Move up a flight of stairs to a wonderfully comfortable, impeccably clean apartment - supplied with coffee and paper goods - enahced with flowers and cookies. WOW
Step outside and you are at a tram & bus stop - big, beautiful grocery store and van gogh and national museum within one block - very convenient location.
When the trip came to a close - Norman arranged for a friend to pick us up at an ungodly hour and take us to the airport at a good rate.
We can't recommend the Heemskerk Suites enough.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Carol P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Molesey, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2013

My husband and I stayed for 2 nights with our 6 year old daughter in 'Fire' apartment and my parents stayed next door in 'Air'. The welcome was excellent and Norman took the time to point out
several places of interest on the map and also recommendations for places to eat. Our apartment was very spacious and very clean. The kitchen area was well appointed and we were provided with a bottle of Prosecco, waffles and fresh flowers. The bed was the most comfortable I have ever slept in and we have traveled quite a lot! As well as an en-suite toilet we had the luxury of a huge spa bath and shower in a spacious bathroom. There was plenty of storage space and extra bedding. The apartments are well located on a quiet side street but within easy reach of the Museum district and just around the corner from the Concert hall. We walked to the Vondel Park and the street market. There is a tram stop just across the road and tram travel was seemless. In the evenings we walked to the local Pijp district and enjoyed excellent food. Also worth mentioning was the fact that a small laptop computer was provided for our use. Overall an excellent stay and we will definitely return for a longer stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cappy2108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Conscious Hotel Museum Square
Conscious Hotel Museum Square
#81 of 367 in Amsterdam
940 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
The Muse Amsterdam - Boutique Hotel
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Conservatorium Hotel
Conservatorium Hotel
#15 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Nova Apartments Amsterdam
Nova Apartments Amsterdam
#171 of 367 in Amsterdam
170 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken
Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken
#78 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,021 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia
Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia
#107 of 367 in Amsterdam
855 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heemskerk Suites- Adults only? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heemskerk Suites- Adults only

Property: Heemskerk Suites- Adults only
Address: Jan Willem Brouwersstraat 25 | Amsterdam Centre, Museumplein, 1071 LH Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Hotel Heemskerk)
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#5 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#10 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#13 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#37 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#72 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Heemskerk Suites- Adults only 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bedstee Hotel is a new concept that recreates the style of capsule hotels in a real Dutch vintage tradition: sleeping in a closet. The hotel has 30 comfortable and private Bedstee boxes, only for adults, totally renewed, in 2017. All the bedstee will welcome you in a relaxing and informal sphere. Each box has a double and luxe bed, a closet for cabin luggage, led mood light and media panel for recharging your phone. Bathrooms are separate for men and women; the showers, in Delfts blue style, have a powerful rain shower and eco-all natural toiletries. The hotel has a bar and eating room, completely vegan/vegetarian and organic and it is situated in the most exclusive neighborhood of Amsterdam and located in an historical building in authentic architectonic style "Amsterdamse School" (Art Deco). The location is ideal, in the beautiful and quiet surroundings of the museum district where you can find the Van Gogh Museum, Rijks Museum and the Museum of Modern Art, all located next to the Museumplein. The famous Vondelpark is just around the corner. For some exciting nightlife you can visit the Leidseplein, which is within only ten minutes walking distance. Supermarkets or street markets are 5 to 10 minutes walking. We will provide you with all the information you may need and we can also book any tour for you. Stay cozy, stay convenient, stay Dutch. See you soon at De Bedstee Hotel!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Heemskerk Suites- Adults only reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heemskerk Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing