We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Stay here - a perfect apartment in Amsterdam” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Heemskerk Suites- Adults only

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Heemskerk Suites- Adults only
Ranked #44 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Denver, CO
Level Contributor
122 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Stay here - a perfect apartment in Amsterdam”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

Lovely stay in the WATER suite on top floor. Norman has equipped these 1 bedroom apartments with everything you could need. The deep soaking tub in WATER was very welcome after a day on museum stone floors. The mini-dishwasher and the induction cooktop made cooking quick and easy. Our unit overlooked the peaceful garden of the Concertgebow providing a restful night. Excellent bed and bedding - I'm heading to Ikea to purchase the same bed for our guest room. We were welcomed with a vase of tulips, a package of stroopwaffel cookies, and advice on best bakeries, grocery, green markets, sightseeing, & the tram system. Kitchen basics like coffee, tea, sugar & salt, paper towels, dish soap, & dishwasher detergent are included and the kitchen was well equipped with quality pans & utensils for cooking. There is a safe for valuables. There is no elevator, so pack only what you can lift. The building is secure with a keypad combination required for the main door. The neighborhood on the west end of Museumplein is pleasant & attached to the Concertgebow which offers musical events every night. Stay here.....it's a wonderful location for visiting the Rijksmuseum, Van Gogh, or Stedjlik museums or to hear classical music.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank miss_utility
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    155
    7
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
29
83
7
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Krefeld, Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

We had a very pleasent stay, very friendly people and a wonderful place to stay. Everything is clean and nice. You have only 5 min into downtown and need no expensive taxi or anything.
5 Stars from me,
highly recomendable.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Easytoo E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Start with the welcoming and very helpful Norman Heemskerk- he gave us an Amersterdam overview and recommendations for touring and eating - all of which were great.
Move up a flight of stairs to a wonderfully comfortable, impeccably clean apartment - supplied with coffee and paper goods - enahced with flowers and cookies. WOW
Step outside and you are at a tram & bus stop - big, beautiful grocery store and van gogh and national museum within one block - very convenient location.
When the trip came to a close - Norman arranged for a friend to pick us up at an ungodly hour and take us to the airport at a good rate.
We can't recommend the Heemskerk Suites enough.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Carol P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Molesey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

My husband and I stayed for 2 nights with our 6 year old daughter in 'Fire' apartment and my parents stayed next door in 'Air'. The welcome was excellent and Norman took the time to point out
several places of interest on the map and also recommendations for places to eat. Our apartment was very spacious and very clean. The kitchen area was well appointed and we were provided with a bottle of Prosecco, waffles and fresh flowers. The bed was the most comfortable I have ever slept in and we have traveled quite a lot! As well as an en-suite toilet we had the luxury of a huge spa bath and shower in a spacious bathroom. There was plenty of storage space and extra bedding. The apartments are well located on a quiet side street but within easy reach of the Museum district and just around the corner from the Concert hall. We walked to the Vondel Park and the street market. There is a tram stop just across the road and tram travel was seemless. In the evenings we walked to the local Pijp district and enjoyed excellent food. Also worth mentioning was the fact that a small laptop computer was provided for our use. Overall an excellent stay and we will definitely return for a longer stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cappy2108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
101 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013 via mobile

Where to start? First location: situated behind the Concertgebouw you have access to about 5 tram lines and more buses which will connect you anywhere across town. The bus from Schiphol even stops directly outside the front door. As the property is located behind the main road it is really quiet and the side streets house a few tasteful restaurants and cafes catering to the locals and the small businesses that are located nearby. A short jog around the corner brings you to a side entrance of the Vondelpark which is great for morning runs or lunchtime picknicks.
The apartments themselves are tastefully decorated and everything works. We stayed in Water and it is a perfect size for two people. The bathroom is generous and kitchen appliances are all clean and in good condition. The apartments on the first floor have access to s small balcony which you don't get on the top floor.
This is definitely a gem whether you're here for fun or business. Wifi is available in every room and there is plenty of room to relax if you have a few hours to kill.

Helpful?
2 Thank Duck4360
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

Cannot fault in any way, close to museums, 15 mins to dam sq. Norman is great, always happy to talk, knowledge of Amsterdam is superb. We drove, Norman told us its €8 a day at Olympic stadium, but you must report to the car park attendant before you leave the car park when you arrive or you may be charged the more expensive rate. The apartment was great, we were 3, good kitchen, lovely bathroom and great bed, I would always recommend Heemskerk suites.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Melvin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pisa, Italy
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

great place! our apartment was beautiful and very comfortable; spacious and clean. the hosts are very kind and they gave us a lot of useful information. We enjoyed our stay very much. highly recomended.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 748AlexC748
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel JL No76
Hotel JL No76
#29 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 769 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Aalders
Hotel Aalders
#48 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 1,166 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Roemer
Hotel Roemer
#52 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken
Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken
#77 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 838 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Conscious Hotel Museum Square
Conscious Hotel Museum Square
#90 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 812 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heemskerk Suites- Adults only? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heemskerk Suites- Adults only

Property: Heemskerk Suites- Adults only
Address: Jan Willem Brouwersstraat 25 | Amsterdam Centre, Museumplein, 1071 LH Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Hotel Heemskerk)
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#5 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#10 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#32 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#37 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Heemskerk Suites- Adults only 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Heemskerk Suites has 4 luxury suites, only for adults, and are situated in the most exclusive neighborhood of Amsterdam and located in an historical building in authentic architectonic style "Amsterdamse School" (Art Deco). The four suites are totally renewed. All suites will welcome you in a relaxing sphere and will embrace you, whether it is your holiday or your business trip. The privacy and comfort of all suites will make sure you will have a pleasant stay. The location is ideal, in the beautiful and quiet surroundings of the museum district where you can find the Van Gogh Museum, Rijks Museum and the Museum of Modern Art, all located next to the Museum plein. The famous Vondel park is just around the corner. For some exciting nightlife you can visit the Leidse plein, which is within only ten minutes walking distance. The RAI Congress Centre is easy to reach by public transport or even by foot. Supermarkets or street markets are 5 to 10 minutes walking. We will provide you with all the information you may need and we can also book any tour for you. We do not serve dinner at our but there is a wide variety of excellent restaurants in the neighborhood. For breakfast you can of course use the kitchen in the apartment or visit one of the breakfast cafes which you will find nearby. Personal assistance and making our guests feel at home is our number one priority. We welcome people from all nations and nationalities. See you soon at Heemskerk Suites!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Heemskerk Suites- Adults only reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heemskerk Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing