We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Heemskerk Suites- Adults only
Ranked #99 of 365 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Pisa, Italy
2 reviews
“Excellent”
Reviewed April 6, 2013

great place! our apartment was beautiful and very comfortable; spacious and clean. the hosts are very kind and they gave us a lot of useful information. We enjoyed our stay very much. highly recomended.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 748AlexC748
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    8
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
30
89
8
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Didcot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2013

I found this in Amsterdam because I was looking for an apartment with creature comforts rather than a hotel where I have to live out of my suitcase. My apartment was big and clean with a very comfortable bed. The lounge had a nice sofa and the bathroom was great (especially the shower which had multiple jets!) The location is really good, just around the corner from the concert hall. Norman the owner was very friendly and recommended some great restaurants for Italian and Balinese food. I'd stay here again without hesitation!

Room Tip: I was in the 'water' room and the shower was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mitnat234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Where do I begin with this place? My husband and I have been looking for a spacious two-room hotel suite for the five years we’ve been going to a major trade show at the RAI. I wake up early to work. He paces in the night. We need two rooms.

The problem is that anything spacious in Amsterdam is wildly expensive. So I searched all over the Internet for a conveniently located place with lots of room for a 5-night stay. I stumbled across Heemskerk. It seemed too good to be true – big bedroom, big living room, full kitchen, spacious bathroom, smack in the middle of Museumplein.

Suffice it to say, it’s the real deal. Look at the hotel’s own pictures. There’s no trick photography. The suites are spacious and well appointed.

I can’t imagine anything that would better suit our needs. But it’s not for everyone. It’s more an apartment than a hotel. There’s no full-time operator or receptionist, although the proprietor responds quickly to any messages. Regular housekeeping is available but it costs extra. Not a problem for us, as we rarely use housekeeping anyway on our business trips. As long as there are plenty of towels, tea bags and coffee rations, we’re good.

There was all of that and more, down to the robes.

This place is awesome for business or for pleasure. A family with two kids would be very comfortable with the extra couch/bed and the grocery store across the street. The museums are in walking distance. For business, the place is one mile from the RAI and the train is just around the corner. Business meetings? The classy living area is just right.

Internet is free (normally can cost up to $30/day in standard hotels).

I hesitate to recommend this place so enthusiastically, because it’s sort of a secret I want to keep for myself, but Norman deserves the business. He is passionate about this place. It used to be a standard hotel and he has clearly invested a ton of money and heart into it.

Our room was less than $200/night. We had breakfast service for one morning and it was fresh and delicious.

This is a bargain and a gem. Tell him I sent you.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Julie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ascot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2013

I usually book one of the big hotels in Amsterdam but a colleague booked this one for me and it was a really nice change. Big, clean apartment, bright and airy with a balcony. Really good location just round the corner from the concert hall.

Norman the owner was very helpful and recommended some great restaurants!

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MartineDB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2013

We absolutely loved and enjoyed our stay at the Heemskerk Suites. The hosts were great: Sonia communicated with us before arrival and was very helpful and thorough regarding all the requests. Norman was always happy to help us and talk about Amsterdam, things worth seeing/visiting and making sure that we felt like at home. The apartment we stayed at (Fire) is a lovely, Dutch-like, very spacious 1-bedroom flat with all the amenities you can wish for. The hosts also advised us where to park our car and with the Concertgebouw (no 1 among Amsterdam attractions at tripadvisor!) literally at our doorstep, the experience was absolutely amazing. We will be definitely returning to Amsterdam and to Heemskerk Suites!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dkengland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto, Portugal
2 reviews
Reviewed November 24, 2012

The apartment is fantastic! Very clean, equipped with all the necessary, beautifully decorated and the little details so amazing! The location is very elegant close to everything.
The host Norman gave us the best welcome! We really loved the Heemskerk Suites! Thank you Norman for the wine and the cookies!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ana A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California, United States
1 review
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Great, attractive, and spacious room in a very central location with an incredibly friendly staff. Nice old style Dutch touches but in general very modern and hip decor. Would come back in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jason S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Conscious Hotel Museum Square
Conscious Hotel Museum Square
#83 of 365 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 925 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel JL No76
Hotel JL No76
#29 of 365 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 985 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Roemer
Hotel Roemer
#72 of 365 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Aalders
Hotel Aalders
#52 of 365 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,273 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Conservatorium Hotel
Conservatorium Hotel
#11 of 365 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,228 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Fita
Hotel Fita
#13 of 365 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heemskerk Suites- Adults only? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heemskerk Suites- Adults only

Property: Heemskerk Suites- Adults only
Address: Jan Willem Brouwersstraat 25 | Amsterdam Centre, Museumplein, 1071 LH Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Hotel Heemskerk)
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#5 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#5 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#10 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#37 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#65 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Heemskerk Suites- Adults only 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Heemskerk Suites has 4 luxury suites, only for adults, and are situated in the most exclusive neighborhood of Amsterdam and located in an historical building in authentic architectonic style "Amsterdamse School" (Art Deco). The four suites are totally renewed. All suites will welcome you in a relaxing sphere and will embrace you, whether it is your holiday or your business trip. The privacy and comfort of all suites will make sure you will have a pleasant stay. The location is ideal, in the beautiful and quiet surroundings of the museum district where you can find the Van Gogh Museum, Rijks Museum and the Museum of Modern Art, all located next to the Museum plein. The famous Vondel park is just around the corner. For some exciting nightlife you can visit the Leidse plein, which is within only ten minutes walking distance. The RAI Congress Centre is easy to reach by public transport or even by foot. Supermarkets or street markets are 5 to 10 minutes walking. We will provide you with all the information you may need and we can also book any tour for you. We do not serve dinner at our but there is a wide variety of excellent restaurants in the neighborhood. For breakfast you can of course use the kitchen in the apartment or visit one of the breakfast cafes which you will find nearby. Personal assistance and making our guests feel at home is our number one priority. We welcome people from all nations and nationalities. See you soon at Heemskerk Suites!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Heemskerk Suites- Adults only reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heemskerk Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing