We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap hotel, lousy rooms, good location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Delta Hotel Amsterdam City Centre
Ranked #327 of 366 Hotels in Amsterdam
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Cheap hotel, lousy rooms, good location”
Reviewed October 30, 2013

Delta Hotel has a very nice location, in Damrak between the Central Station and the Royal Palace. Despite this central location at least my room (on the back) was perfectly quiet. But this is almost all the good stuff that can be said about this hotel.
The guy at the counter when I checked in was very rude and unpolite. My room was clean but with a very "cheap" feel: the matress was very unconfortable, the shower was fixed with a toothbrush - yes, a toothbrushed used as a shower holder and the tv only worked from time to time. The breakfast was plenty in quantity but with small variety of stuff to pick from. All in all, I wouldn't recommend this hotel has good value for money.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LNFilipe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

747 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    130
    199
    126
    247
See reviews for
78
203
51
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Haifa, Israel
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 28, 2013

Stayed for a night.
The hotel located on Damrak street which is a great location.
Other than the location- hotel is very noisy, dirty and rooms are ridiculously small.
Staff was very nice.
could not sleep because of the noise.
i have to say that i usually stay on business hotels- but it was really noise.
i didnt feal so safe eather...

Room Tip: rooms far from the sreet are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eliad D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013 via mobile

Ok so it's not the ritz but staff were friendly, room was usably and the breakfast was crap, but it's Amsterdam ! I've been to Amsterdam 8 times and cheap prices mean you get what you pay for and there's a lot worse hotels you could stay in around the area. I always eat out unless it's 5* but did try the breakfast (basic is not the word). So just pop over to baba's get a coffee n a dooby and you'll have a great day Other than that place suited its purpose. I would use this hotel again.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flintshire67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
1 review
Reviewed October 18, 2013

The hotel is very basic.but beds,room and bathroom was clean.thats all you need.the best thing is its location.no need for any transport,everything is within a few mins walking distance.i would def use this hotel again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

This place is a dump! There is no other words. We couldn't find any comfort (dirty, too small, outdated, dark). For this price, you can expect at least soap in the bathroom. This hotel is below every standard. The only one advantage is the location. It's in the city center near Dam square and the central station. It's very convenient and close to a lot of tourist spot such as De Wallen. To my mind, it doesn't justify the price. Damrak street is good located, but it's a loud and dirty street... I do not recommend this place, not even for one night. You will find better hotel in Amsterdam!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ohio347
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2013

Rooms were clean but it was noisy due to work on the main road outside (not their fault) and the breakfast included was good considering we only paid €40 per head per night. It was very central and close to pretty much everything. Good if you're looking for a cheaper alternative.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back away from the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carra O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2013 via mobile

This place is the biggest dirtiest hole I have ever stayed in! 3 star hotel I really don't think so!! My wife woke up after our first night there crying her eyes out searching for another hotel as it was that bad! Hotel dirty, room dirty and our towels for 3 days were not changed just folded. The destination is perfect it's just a shame it's not being given a little tlc as it could be so much nicer. Just be wise n don't book this hotel, we won't be ever again

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Hotel The Exchange
Hotel The Exchange
#108 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,163 reviews
Centrum
Avenue Hotel
Avenue Hotel
#167 of 366 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,486 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel CC
Hotel CC
#142 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Luxer
Hotel Luxer
#69 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,003 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Tulip Inn Amsterdam Centre
Tulip Inn Amsterdam Centre
#291 of 366 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,533 reviews
Centrum
Singel Hotel Amsterdam
Singel Hotel Amsterdam
#159 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 915 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Delta Hotel Amsterdam City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Delta Hotel Amsterdam City Centre

Property: Delta Hotel Amsterdam City Centre
Address: Damrak 42/43, 1012 LK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum , Dam Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #327 of 366 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Delta Hotel Amsterdam City Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Delta Hotel Amsterdam City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amsterdam Delta Hotel
Delta Hotel Amsterdam
Delta Amsterdam
Delta Hotels Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing