We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“worst hotel in amsterdam”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Delta Hotel Amsterdam City Centre
Ranked #343 of 376 Hotels in Amsterdam
Reviewed November 29, 2011

when we arrived we were told we had to pay cash even though we made card booking ,i refused ,was told to get cash from atm ,i refused,staff got very cheeky,eventually paid by card in their restaurant so of to a bad start,the rooms have not been updated since the 70s.the bed was broke .plobably 30 years old,the worst pillows ive ever seen in a hotel,not even a full duvet to cover the bed.i went in to check the shower, turned on the shower and the shower head flew off the wall ,soaked me [still fully clothed]and flooded the bathroom ,could hear everything from the bathroom above,paid 4* price for 1*hotel . never b back here again and as for the breakfast!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank peter d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (793)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

296 - 302 of 793 reviews

Reviewed November 28, 2011

Had read the reviews on the internet, only after booking. Was apprehensive prior to the visit.

We have no problem in locating the hotel, and check in was easy. The service staff was very courteous and prompt. However, we have to pay 10 euros for some tax (not sure what it is), and 25 euros deposit (for phone calls).

The bedroom assigned was reasonable in size (compared to other hotels in Amsterdam). But the mattresses for both beds were too worn out and soft! We literally sank into the mattress.

TV programmes are available in various languages. We were surprised that there were also two programmes from CCTV (China), one in Chinese, while the other in English.

Generally, the overall experience is good, and it would be much better if the mattresses can be replaced.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy_C99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2011

Location location location must be the key to the pricing here because I couldn't see how this hotel can justify charging 60 Euros a night for a single room that wasn't any better than any of the hostels you can find dotted around Amsterdam.

I was most aggrieved at check in when I was informed the credit/debit card machine had broken and if I wanted to continue the reservation I'd have to pay cash. After carefully planning how much cash I'd needed to bring with me (and hence getting best exchange rates and paying minimum commission) I was a bit cheesed off that I'd now have to withdraw cash from a foreign ATM and be hit with charges I hadn't planned for. No great problem, I know, but it was their manner that really grated me.

Once through reception it becomes clear that they don't reinvest much in this hotel. The carpets were torn and dirty, stairs wonky, rooms patchy and no curtain. Someone's obviously making a lot of money out of this place.

But, it's saving grace is that it is located half way up Damrak - 5 minutes from Centraal Station, 5 minutes from Dam Square, 5 minutes from the Red Light District, shopping precinct right behind.

Okay if all you're after is somewhere to put your head down for the night and you're not exactly after the Ritz, but come on Delta - be a bit more realistic with your pricing.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hungry_Hippo_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2011

this is the worst hotel me and my friends had ever stayed in the was 10 of us had an 8 man room and a 2 man room. the beds were not cleaned proply they only flip the sheets and give you new towels there was damp on the wall and to top it off the room had MICE we found mouse traps and mouse POSION and they dont want you take take food in the room the only hotel iv ever known to be like that and if you do you will lose your deposit but now we know why. the mice had eaten threw a pack of my mates chrips/chips. will never use this hotel again and i go twice a year. for 95euros a night you should not have mice in your room DO NOT USE whatever the price or deal worst hotel EVER.

Room Tip: choose the eden hotel at rembrantte square
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank terry p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2011

The Delta is situated in a very central position which is always a good thing when staying in a city. I had read some of the reviews which were poor, but only stayed in this hotel because we were meeting friends who had already booked. Our room had grubby carpets and net curtains and the curtains that were coming off the rails. However the bed linen was clean and the bed comfortable. We stayed at the back of the hotel which was over the kitchens but it was quiet and the bathroom was clean.
The staff on the desk were friendly but the hotel is tatty and well past it's sell-by date, it reminded me of student accomodation, so at around 95 euros a night it seemed expensive. The seats in reception were very stained and breakfast was the poorest I'd ever had in a hotel before. Ever!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fluffbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2011

six of us stayed here for 3 nights , from the outside and the reception area the hotel looks nice but that all changes when you start to go up the stairs, with the torn, dirty and smelly carpets. then into the room dirty mirrors, torn wallpaper and damp and mould patches on the wall.the bathroom was clean.the beds where do i start you would be more comfortable sleeping on the floor if it wasn't for the mice in our room.my friend was woken up by a mouse running across her arm when she was asleep, it was our last night thank god.told reception but did nothing. the breakfast was fine but need to be down early for it.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank irishkilcullen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2011

We stayed here on a Saturday night... Hotel was nice enough. Good price, lift that worked. Rooms in back are quiet. Breakfast in adjacent restaurant, but we slept in and missed that!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Avenue Hotel
Avenue Hotel
#166 of 376 in Amsterdam
1,598 reviews
Centrum
Hotel The Exchange
Hotel The Exchange
#118 of 376 in Amsterdam
1,281 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
XO Hotels City Centre Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Singel Hotel Amsterdam
Singel Hotel Amsterdam
#178 of 376 in Amsterdam
976 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Multatuli
Hotel Multatuli
#245 of 376 in Amsterdam
541 reviews
Centrum
A-Train Hotel
A-Train Hotel
#116 of 376 in Amsterdam
941 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Delta Hotel Amsterdam City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Delta Hotel Amsterdam City Centre

Address: Damrak 42/43, 1012 LK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum , Dam Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #343 of 376 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: $114 - $311 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Delta Hotel Amsterdam City Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Delta Hotel Amsterdam City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amsterdam Delta Hotel
Delta Hotel Amsterdam
Delta Amsterdam
Delta Hotels Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing