We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great location with a very comfortable bed” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hampshire Hotel - Eden Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hampshire Hotel - Eden Amsterdam
Ranked #204 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great location with a very comfortable bed”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2014

Well what can I say, staying at the Eden hotel was an absolute joy! In a good location right next to Rembrandt square. Which has a great coffee shop called Smokey's. The bed was extremely comfortable and I was guaranteed a good nights sleep because of it. Room size was about average which is fine to me as I don't plan on staying in the room the whole holiday, its just a place to sleep.
We had a lovely bath/shower combination, which was wonderful. The rooms are a bit rundown in some ways but who really cares? especially for the price that you are paying. Hotel staff were very friendly.
Would defiantly stay here again if we go back to Amsterdam.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hayley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas h, Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Eden Amsterdam, responded to this review, July 27, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Eden Hotel Amsterdam - Hampshire Eden and for sharing your experience with us on Tripadvisor. It is great to know that you found our location convenient for your stay. We are delighted to read that you experienced excellent service throughout your stay at Eden Hotel Amsterdam - Hampshire Eden , which is something we always aim for.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back as our guest in the future.

Yours sincerely,

The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,571 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    444
    1,020
    650
    277
    180
See reviews for
243
1,185
159
273
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (349)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2014

We arrived at this hotel on a cold day in May after a transatlantic flight and were welcomed by friendly staff. We were not able to go straight to our room as check in was a couple of hours later but were advised by the wonderful Concierge how to get to the relaxing Canal Ride just a few streets away.
Once in our room we were so pleased to find comfortable beds and a delightful view of the canal.
The bathroom was very cute with black and white tile and well appointed.
I would visit this hotel again as it was very centrally located and easy to reach by the 169 bus from the airport.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gemma L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas h, Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Eden Amsterdam, responded to this review, July 27, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your experiences with us. We are happy to read that you had a great stay with us! We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back as our guest in the future.

With regards, .

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin, ca
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2014

Stayed by myself in this hotel. THere are entrances on both sides of the building and very near rembrandt square where there are a lot of restaurants and coffee shop. The front desk is ok, nothing to remember about. Near tram stop and theater. The concierge is friendly and good. The room is a bit small for my liking but I guess this is the normal here in Amsterdam. Free local calls and safe available. Will definitely use it because of location. I did take the daily breakfast and I recommend to take it especially if you are a tourist. They have bacon, sandwich, juice, sausage, eggs, etc and lots of small stuff that you can fill yourself. If you eat here before going out it will save you money before you go out and explore.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank accessdenied
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas h, Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Eden Amsterdam, responded to this review, July 27, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time writing a review. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2014

Stayed here for one night but could have stayed longer! The bed was one of the most comfortable Ive ever slept in in a hotel. The room was nice and spacious, and despite being clean, looked slightly run down, a few marks on walls etc but nothing major.The room was very comfortable and the bathroom was great- bath and shower. Hotel is located in a lovely street on one of the many rivers. Our room did not have a view, but this was no problem as we were only there to sleep! Room was very quiet, no noise at all. Concierge was very helpful and efficient. Hotel is about 10/15 minutes walk from the central station with is great. You can get a train from the airport to central station, and with the short walk to the hotel - its very easy to access the hotel. Over all, a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sharon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas h, Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Eden Amsterdam, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear guest,

We are happy to read that you had a great stay with us! We are delighted to read your comments; particularly your thoughts on the service you received throughout the entire stay. Our team is always at your service to assist you with any future requests.
Besides, we value your comments regarding the comfort and cleanliness of the room, which is very important to us.

We hope to welcome you back soon!

Kind regards,

The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2014

Premier room was good - basic and clean. Minuses were the furniture was arranged strangely with a cumbersome desk in the middle of the room that was attached to the floor so it couldn't be moved. Another minus was there was no refrigerator. On the positive side was the fantastic canal views. This feature was enough for us to be happy to stay again.

Room Tip: Desk in a strange, obtrusive position that couldn't be moved. Could do with a refrigerator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampshire Hotels

Helpful?
1 Thank oViMao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas h, Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Eden Amsterdam, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your experiences with us. We are happy to read that you had a nice stay with us! We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back as our guest in the future.

With regards,

The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2014 via mobile

Firstly it has to be said that the location was ideal!!! So close to the tram stops and the different attractions including Rembrandt square and the Ice Bar. However When we arrived our room wasn't ready and we had to wait nearly a hour to check in...we didn't realise that there was an additional city tax charge on the booking too and we were on a tight budget so this threw us a little. The room itself was clean and basic but so so small!!!! You couldn't freely walk around the bed!! The staff were polite but the star had to be the guy on the concierge desk...he was so polite, friendly and really accommodating. I don't know if I would stay here again as you have no comfort in the room so maybe for a one or two night stay it would be ok but defo no more!!!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Traleeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas h, Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Eden Amsterdam, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your experiences with us.
The comments have been forwarded to the team and it would be a great pleasure to welcome you back as our guest!

The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2014

This was the hotel chosen by our tour, stayed for 3nights, average size and clean rooms, ok staff, good restaurant, very nice location in amsterdam, good price if booked online, not with the tour operator

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeffrey168
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas h, Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Eden Amsterdam, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for writing a review on Tripadvisor. We look forward to welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards,

The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
NH Amsterdam Caransa
NH Amsterdam Caransa
#113 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 840 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Amstelzicht
Hotel Amstelzicht
#178 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
NH Amsterdam Schiller
NH Amsterdam Schiller
#154 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,360 reviews
Plantage & the East
Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Albus
The Albus
#62 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampshire Hotel - Eden Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampshire Hotel - Eden Amsterdam

Property: Hampshire Hotel - Eden Amsterdam
Address: Amstel 144, 1017 AE Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel) , Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #204 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampshire Hotel - Eden Amsterdam 3*
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Eden Hotel Amsterdam – Hampshire Eden is in a unique location. Right on the Amstel and with an abundance of hot spots within easy reach: Rembrandtplein, the Stopera, Waterlooplein, De Kleine Komedie and Theater Carre. Various museums are close by including Rembrandthuis Museum and Foam photography museum. The area is also teaming with options for dining out as well as fantastic shopping streets, such as Kalverstraat and Leidsestraat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hampshire Hotel - Eden Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amsterdam Eden Hotel
Eden Hotel Amsterdam
Best Western Eden Hotel
Best Western Amsterdam
Best Western Eden Amsterdam
Best Western Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing