We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location and convenient accommodation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampshire Hotel - Eden Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hampshire Hotel - Eden Amsterdam to your Saves list
Hampshire Hotel - Eden Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Amstel 144, 1017 AE Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Canal Ring (Grachtengordel))   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #191 of 363 Hotels in Amsterdam
Level Contributor
60 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Perfect location and convenient accommodation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014 via mobile

Location is the best as far by only 2 mins walking from the Rembrandt square, 10 mins walking from Dam square and 15-20 mins walking from Amsterdam central station. Rooms are so convenient with cosy and clean renovated bathroom and shower but the con is the small double bed. We did not have the chance to be accommodated in a room with a canal view however our room was satisfactory, we asked for a baby/child cot when booking through the internet and indeed our request was covered. The concierge was quite friendly and helpful. The front desk staff were also decent and speedy. The hotel has a comfortable and a simple up to date style and interiors which was also nice. I highly recommend this hotel for couples and groups as it gives a high Value for Money and is so much reasonable and fitting to a leisure trip in Amsterdam.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank AlySotouhy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas h, Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Eden Amsterdam, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your experiences with us.
The comments have been forwarded to the team and it would be a great pleasure to welcome you back as our guest!

Kind regards,

The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,345 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    409
    945
    593
    247
    151
See reviews for
208
1,085
148
242
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (324)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

Booked 2xsingle rooms, both were basic but very clean and well maintained. The public area's of the hotel were always very clean and tidy. The reception staff were always very friendly and helpful, the concierge was invaluable. I didn't use any of the hotel facilities - but the reataurant etc looked very nice!! Perfect as a base to explore Amsterdam.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Jeremy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas h, Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Eden Amsterdam, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much in taking the time in sharing your experiences with us. thank you for the compliments.

Kind regards,

The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

We book with Eden hotel EVERY time we fly to Amsterdam for a long weekend!

Their prices are great compared to other hotels in the area; hotels think by making their lobby flash and modern with water features and blue lights makes them better than other hotels; far from the case.

Eden has a very basic layout, yet it's quiet, comofrtable and has great value.

The staff are lovely and they keep hold of your bags when you're checking in / out of a room prior / post flights.

The rooms are quiet, they have great space and are clean!
We've been 3 times now; great for couples but not sure for family.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebecca M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas h, Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Eden Amsterdam, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Dear guest,

We are happy to read that you had a great stay with us! We are delighted to read your comments; particularly your thoughts on the service you received throughout the entire stay. Our team is always at your service to assist you with any future requests.

Kind regards,

The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights really only looking for somewhere comfortable to sleep! The location was fantastic, we payed for the upgrade and had an executive room overlooking the canal! Thank goodness we had this upgrade because I hate to think how small and basic the economy room would be?! The hotel reception is tidy and what you would expect from a 4 star hotel. The room however was very basic, little noisy from outside but only what is expected with the location! Sadly the cleanliness or lack of it was the biggest let down, hostels in Asia are five star compared to this hotel, stains on the carpet and the wall from the previous occupants and the bath tub had a few pubic hairs floating around! After reading the reviews I decided to stay put, have a feeling we would have moved to maybe a worse room?! Instead stayed out aslant as possible ;-)

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jbrown0303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas h, Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Eden Amsterdam, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time in sharing your experience with us. I am sorry to read we did not meet your expectations about the room. We constantly work on improving our service and standards. We do hope that this will not deter you from visiting us in the future.

Kind regards,

The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

Positives are it is well placed in Amsterdam centre. We stayed 5 days and easily walked everywhere including back homeward bound to the station from this hotel. I got a good nights rest and the hotel was quiet despite being busy and full and central. Negatives are it is basic, not the cleanest and you have few essentials provided. Half a loo roll and a broken shower gel dispenser and only one towel provided. No tea or coffee or water available in the room which is a first for me.
However, I liked staying there despite this. I suspect the real reason being Amsterdam is such a wonderful City. I'd probably stay there again, now I know what to expect and can accommodate for that, but wouldn't readily recommend it as it is basic and a tad worn out.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SamAFC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas h, Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Eden Amsterdam, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much in taking the time in writing your experiences in Tripadvisor.
Good to hear you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Forest, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

This hotel was in the thick of all good things Amsterdam. A beautiful canal view around the corner from Rembrandt Square, and walking distance to great shopping. Beware the bikes and scooters! Very little pedestrian room on the walkways on Amstel, but easy enough to navigate once you get the rhythm of it.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampshire Hotels

Helpful?
1 Thank Diane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas h, Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Eden Amsterdam, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time writing a review. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morehead City, North Carolina
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

We have stayed at The Eden before, and would stay there again. We opted to get an upgrade at check in and were able to get a wonderful river and canal view room. The staff is always helpful and the location can't be beat. All this and a great value for Amsterdam.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampshire Hotels

Helpful?
Thank CalicoGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas h, Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Eden Amsterdam, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much in taking the time in sharing your experiences with us. Thank you for the compliments.

Kind regards,

The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
NH Amsterdam Caransa
NH Amsterdam Caransa
#104 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 758 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
NH Amsterdam Schiller
NH Amsterdam Schiller
#140 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Amstelzicht
Hotel Amstelzicht
#166 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 313 reviews
Plantage & the East
Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampshire Hotel - Eden Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampshire Hotel - Eden Amsterdam

Property: Hampshire Hotel - Eden Amsterdam
Address: Amstel 144, 1017 AE Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel) , Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #191 of 363 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampshire Hotel - Eden Amsterdam 3*
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Eden Hotel Amsterdam – Hampshire Eden is in a unique location. Right on the Amstel and with an abundance of hot spots within easy reach: Rembrandtplein, the Stopera, Waterlooplein, De Kleine Komedie and Theater Carre. Various museums are close by including Rembrandthuis Museum and Foam photography museum. The area is also teaming with options for dining out as well as fantastic shopping streets, such as Kalverstraat and Leidsestraat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, HotelsClick, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hampshire Hotel - Eden Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amsterdam Eden Hotel
Eden Hotel Amsterdam
Best Western Eden Hotel
Best Western Amsterdam
Best Western Eden Amsterdam
Best Western Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing