We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Patrick (Ireland)”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampshire Hotel - Eden Amsterdam
Ranked #187 of 371 Hotels in Amsterdam
Reviewed February 3, 2014

We stayed in this Hotel for two nights Hotel was very nice. Staff were very friendly and helpful (Receptionist Staff, Bar Man, Breakfast staff and Concierge was particularly helpful looking after bags and booking taxi etc..) We will go back to Amsterdam again and would stay here again. We were there with friends and some said their rooms were small but our was fine. Not the kind of city you spend much time in your room anyway :)
The Hotel location is super as its 1 minute walk from Rembrandt Square which in its own right is very safe and pleasant with many Bars, Coffee Shops and many places to eat. From here you can get a Tram or walk if you wish to go down town (15min walk).

Room Tip: We had to check out on Sunday morning. Check out time is 12pm. Hotel Staff knocked on our door at 10...
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampshire Hotels
1  Thank Patrick E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas6192013, Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Eden Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for your comments and wonderful review.
We hope you had a pleasant stay with us.

Kind regards,

The management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,867)
There are newer reviews for Hampshire Hotel - Eden Amsterdam
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,117 - 1,123 of 2,867 reviews

Reviewed February 1, 2014

Over the course of 30 years my wife and I have stayed in a wide variety of campgrounds, hostels, and hotels in this, our favorite city. Even a Boat Hotel and a houseboat. But this stay topped them all.

We'd stayed at the Eden before and liked the standard hotel rooms a lot. But we learned that there are also apartments connected to the Hotel so we took a chance on them. Sort of expected a little efficiency but liked the idea of being able to cook our own breakfasts. What a delightful surprise to find ourselves in a full 1 bedroom with a perfect view of the Amstel Canal. And the price was amazing- no more than the hotel room had been. The bed was very comfy and quiet. Shower is excellent with great water pressure and unlimited hot water. We had two flat screen TVs with a good list of channels but never used them. Who has time for TV in Amsterdam?

The Eden's location can't be beat. A lazy person could stay within a 6 block radius indefinitely. Rembrantsplein is right behind the building so all sorts of restaurants,stores, coffeeshops, and even a Smart Shop are within a 2 minute walk. We easily walked from Centraal Station with our bags ( take Kalverstraat- smoother pavement, no cars ). One can also take a tram from the station -they stop a block away. Google maps may direct you to Waterloopein on the 51 but it's much easier to take a 4 to Rembrantsplein. A cab ride to the station costs about 7-10 euro. Vondel Park, Leidseplein, the museums, the red light district, and the Joordan are all quite walkable. We took a tram once in a week, only because we went to an excellent restaurant ( Libero ) that was a bit far out for a rainy night.

As was the case on a previous visit, the staff were uniformly friendly and polite. When I e-mailed to add an extra day Nathalie responded very promptly and took care of everything without a hitch.

A word of caution: this is not an apartment for the mobility impaired. The stairway is steep and winding and there is not a lift. The shower requires a substantial step up as it is in a high soaking tub. But these are not negatives as long as one is reasonably fit.

Today we're moving on to an apartment in Paris that lists for 300 euro per night ( we're bargain hunters and wouldn't dream of paying anywhere near that ). We both agreed that we'd be perfectly happy if our apartment there turned out to be as nice as the one at the Eden. This has to be one of the best lodging deals in Amsterdam. Not every website will show the apartments and there aren't a lot of them so if you're considering a visit to Amsterdam book as early as possible.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank shrinkguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas6192013, Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Eden Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded February 2, 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for your great review.
We hope you will visit our hotel again.

Kind regards,

The management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 4 days 5 nights and found the hotel to be of an excellent standard. Very clean and staff very friendly. On our first day we were well advised of local attractions by concierge. Professional and would definitely stay again. Brilliant location

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Balbir M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas6192013, Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Eden Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded February 2, 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for your comments.
We look forward to welcome you again.

Kind regards,

The management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2014

Nice value hotel compared to the surrounding hotels but...

I booked on the web site a superior room as I paid the upgrade fee, but they simply informed me at the front desk that they didn't find a room for me!!!???!!

it ended up in a small box "called room" where you can barely move, overlooking just a wall.

room was not kept well, TV was supper small hanged almost on the ceiling, small closet.

NEVER AGAIN!

Room Tip: Don't get a standard room under any cost.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mohamed M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas6192013, Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Eden Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for your comments and observations.
We are sorry that you did not had a pleasant stay with us.
We will inform our staff about this matter..

Kind regards,

The management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2014 via mobile

Booked here for one night Sat 11th Jan through Expedia for £75 per room per night. Can not fault it and it's definitely the best place I've stayed in this city. It's perfectly located with the river Amstel directly in front of the hotel and the Rembrandtsplein directly behind. 10 mins walk to Dam Square and the Red Light District (15 mins to the station) along picturesque canals. The hotel is well presented inside & out. As it was one of our party's birthdays while we were there they kindly upgraded our rooms. The rooms were very nice, modern and comfortable with a great view of the river. The staff were very pleasant, especially the concierge who kindly looked after our luggage after we'd checked out and prior to us leaving the city. I'd strongly recommend this hotel & look forward to hopefully staying here again.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
Thank D_Dutch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas6192013, Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Eden Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for staying at the Eden Hotel Amsterdam - Hampshire Eden.
We are happy to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us.
We hope to welcome you again next time.

Kind regards,

The management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2014

The Eden is a reasonable standard hotel, clean with friendly staff.
Centrally located near Rembrandt Square with one entrance opening up on the square side near the trams and pubs and restaurants, the other to the canal and hop on hop off canal boats.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nigelmthomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas6192013, Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Eden Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2014

Dear guest,

Thnak you for your response on tripadvisor.
We hope to welcome you again.

Kind regards,

The management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2014

With the river Amstel on one side and the Rembrandtplein (Rembrandt Square) on the other, this hotel is perfectly situated for anyone spending a few days looking around Amsterdam. The canal taxis are only a short walk away and there are many restaurants around the Square.

The bed was very comfortable with real soft pillows and a big fluffed up doona. We slept soundly before starting each day in the large dining room area with a hearty buffet style breakfast that included a good selection of food.

What a pity I had not known how easy it was to hop on the tram for a short ride from the train station to the stop just outside the hotel. I would have been able to avoid the taxi driver's 20 Euro unrequested scenic tour of Amsterdam.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chris_Toffer_John
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas6192013, Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Eden Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for your response on Tripadvisor.

Kind regards,

The management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
NH Amsterdam Schiller
NH Amsterdam Schiller
#149 of 371 in Amsterdam
1,585 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
NH Amsterdam Caransa
NH Amsterdam Caransa
#118 of 371 in Amsterdam
986 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Amstelzicht
Hotel Amstelzicht
#186 of 371 in Amsterdam
363 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Albus
The Albus
#152 of 371 in Amsterdam
85 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
NH Carlton Amsterdam
NH Carlton Amsterdam
#240 of 371 in Amsterdam
2,490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampshire Hotel - Eden Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampshire Hotel - Eden Amsterdam

Address: Amstel 144, 1017 AE Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel) , Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #187 of 371 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: $136 - $321 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampshire Hotel - Eden Amsterdam 3*
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Eden Hotel Amsterdam – Hampshire Eden is in a unique location. Right on the Amstel and with an abundance of hot spots within easy reach: Rembrandtplein, the Stopera, Waterlooplein, De Kleine Komedie and Theater Carre. Various museums are close by including Rembrandthuis Museum and Foam photography museum. The area is also teaming with options for dining out as well as fantastic shopping streets, such as Kalverstraat and Leidsestraat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hampshire Hotel - Eden Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amsterdam Eden Hotel
Eden Hotel Amsterdam
Best Western Eden Hotel
Best Western Amsterdam
Best Western Eden Amsterdam
Best Western Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing