We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Eden Hotel Amsterdam
Nearby Hotels
$329
$293
NH Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$296
$265
NH Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$506
$491
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Amsterdam Marriott Hotel(Amsterdam)
$275
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Banks Mansion(Amsterdam)
$444
Official Hotel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$260
$244
Kimpton
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$489
$374
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Lloyd Hotel(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
$88
$84
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hilton Amsterdam(Amsterdam)
$240
$209
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Ambassade Hotel(Amsterdam)
$276
$260
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (3,129)
Filter reviews
3,129 results
Traveler rating
598
1,227
782
319
203
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
598
1,227
782
319
203
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrembrandt squaregreat locationamstel riverflower marketexecutive roomwalked everywherebars and restaurantsbathroom doorcentral stationtram stopcity breakred light districtconciergedameurope
Filter
Updating list...
1,406 - 1,411 of 3,129 reviews
Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

We used an Expedia voucher to get an upgrade so our executive room represented good value with a view of the canal.

The room was modern, clean and the bed was comfy.

Service from the concierge and desk staff was good. The location was perfect for sightseeing and there were lots of restaurants and bars nearby

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Con_and_Julie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

I used to think 4star meant pretty bloody sexy but maybe in capital cities it's harder to maintain standards! My opinion is this is 3 star. The room was fine - very clean as was the bathroom - good maid service making up everyday with clean towels, replacement tissues etc.
I just had a couple of issues a) we rang 5 times to ask for an iron and ironing board - and actually got them over 90 mins later. We were waiting to go out so we were annoyed - they kept saying yes in a few minutes!
b) the sheets were very small for the mattresses so all the bedding was untucked and all over the place immediately.
c) the view was of a brick wall about 2 foot away with scaffolding between.
These may sound petty but added to this the general décor, taped off areas in lobby, expensive set price only breakfast - just not quite 4star.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AJF42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013

My friend and I stayed at the Eden at the beginning of July and we were very disappointed with it. On a positive note, the hotel is located near Rembrandt Square so it was close to restaurants and some souvenir shops. The cost of breakfast at the hotel was outrageous (15 euro if paid in advance, 18.50 euro if paid at the time you eat) so the hotel's close proximity to a Starbucks proved helpful as my friend and I simply got breakfast there each morning instead.

Now for the negatives.

1) The hotel staff was snotty at best and rude at worst. They were not very helpful when it came to requests for information and the staff at the reception desk insisted on referring us to the concierge desk instead for the simplest of requests (as a side note, the concierge had to be called to come to his desk by the employees at the reception desk).

2) The hotel is located right next to a canal; while this was good for photos, it proved to be extremely loud every single night. The people who boated on the canal played music and yelled/laughed/spoke very loudly until sunrise.

3) The room was not very clean and the carpet looked as though it had not been vacuumed in weeks.

4) The door to the en-suite bathroom was more like a glass partition. It did not close (it merely swung in and out), it was see-through, and you could hear every sound made in the bathroom from anywhere in the room (kind of gross).

If you are looking for friendly staff, a clean hotel room, or a quiet night's sleep, do NOT choose this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Krista H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

We stayed in the Eden for 6 days, in the last week of May 2013. On the very last day, 3rd June 2013, we got back to our room and the door would not open. There was some defect in the card key and we had to go thrice to the reception to get it sorted out before the door could be opened. Finally a member of the staff arrived and opened the door with her key. She said that the reason for the door not opening could be due to the battery in the lock being faulty.

When we opened our locked bags, we discovered that a SONY XPERIA phone, some Indian rupees and 2 watches were missing. Our bag had been locked with a 3 digit code lock and someone obviously had the time to scroll through all the combinations possible to find out the combination to open the lock, during our 6 day period.

It seems suspect that the robbery took place on the very last day, just as we were due to leave, so that we could not even follow up with the hotel staff in person. The night desk receptionist only said that the cleaning staff have left and he would refer the problem to the manager the next day.

When we arrived in India, we got a mail from the manager stating that the cleaning staff could not enter the room since the door did not open for them as well. However the member of the staff did manage to open our door, so his excuse seems unbelievable.

He offered us a free day's stay the next time we visit Amsterdam. How would this make up for our loss in any way? Did he think we would seriously ever stay in a place where we lost so much already?

PLEASE BE CAREFUL WITH YOUR BELONGINGS IN THIS HOTEL. IF A LOCKED BAG IS NOT SAFE, THEN ANYTHING IS POSSIBLE.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank CandidaM1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Eden hotel is a very classy property in Amsterdam. It gives you a small sense of Luxury. The rooms and common areas are nicely decorated, and the staff is very professional. We had no issues with noise from the buldings nearby, as others have reported. As far as breakfast, we didn't try it, as we found it to be a little bit expensive. The location is great, within walking distance from any place in Central Amsterdam.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AGGlobalTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews