We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Not the best it could have been” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hampshire Hotel - Eden Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hampshire Hotel - Eden Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Amstel 144, 1017 AE Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Canal Ring (Grachtengordel))   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #190 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Not the best it could have been”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Great location near to amenities however room reall small more like a single with a queen size bed for two, above a night club so very noisy and to be honest to basic for us. Ordered tea and coffee but this was not replenished and the room was not cleaned to a decent standard.

Room Tip: Try and over look the canal
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert P, Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Eden Amsterdam, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for providing us with your feedback, which enables us to improve our service or product, something we always wish to do. We are sorry that certain details of your stay were not up to standard. We will review your comments with all parties involved and hope you will consider staying with us again in the future. We would like to advise you to look into the different room types we have to offer, to make sure your room will meet all your expectations.

Kind regards,

Robert Pelt
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,359 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    412
    950
    597
    248
    152
See reviews for
213
1,088
149
244
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (328)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Great first time visit to hotel and city. Really pleased with all aspects of our stay. Just one thing - our room on the 4th floor at the front had "1/2 windows", meaning they went from the floor up about 3 feet so the view and the light were minimal. Also they didn't seem to like us asking for ice for the room (I guess they would have preferred we have our drinks at their bar). Location and assistance were great, the price was right and I would stay there again (just not on that floor!)
Nancy N., Ottawa Canada

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert P, Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Eden Amsterdam, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Dear guest,

We appreciate you taking the time to write your feedback on tripadvisor.com, it enables us to improve our product or service, something we always wish to do. Therefore, we will definitely follow up on the remarks you have made. Other than that we are happy to learn you had a pleasant stay in our hotel. We hope to be able to welcome you back real soon.

Kindest regards,

Robert Pelt
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Hotel is in a good location and within walking distance to most attractions, we walked from Centraal Station took around 20 minutes and around 15 minutes to Dam Square. Hotel was clean, bed was comfortable and quite nice for a three star. However the room only had a tiny window so it felt a bit dark and dingy. However the room was quiet and we slept well. Bar/cafe area was also nice didn't have anything to eat though. Lots of restaurants, bars, shops, etc nearby. Check-in and check-out was a bit slow, but overall a good stay and we would probably stay here again but would request a room with a bigger window!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank emmabpink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert P, Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Eden Amsterdam, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Dear guest,

We thank you for writing your review for Tripadvisor. We are happy to learn you had such a pleasant stay in our hotel. We recommend you indeed discuss your personal preferences with us on your next trip to Amsterdam, we have a range of rooms to offer you. We will be looking forward to that next visit!

Kindest regards,

Robert Pelt
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

Our room was upgraded and it was great. The room was very big, clean, and modern with all required amenities (including free wifi in room). The concierge desk was very helpful with bookings, the check-in staff were very good and fast, the bartender was friendly as well. The location was great, and easy to find (we used the front entrance off the water). Although there appeared to be construction, there were no issues. My only suggestion would be to wear socks in the room as the carpet is stiff.

Room Tip: Executive upgrade was great. We stayed on the waterfront, and there was limited noise, but worth the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jellow15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert P, Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Eden Amsterdam, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
Dear guest,

We appreciate you taking the time to write your enthusiastic comments on tripadvisor.com. We are delighted to learn you had such a wonderful time in our hotel. We thank you for your kind words and hope to be able to welcome you back real soon!

Warm regards,

Robert Pelt
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
114 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

We arrived late one evening and was referred to room 106. The room was large and clean, but had a view of a "backyard" with absolutely no "view". We heard quite fast a deep humming sound we could not be satisfied with. Although we had earplugs, we could still hear the annoying sound. The next morning we complained and got quickly and without discussion a new room on the 3rd floor. It turned out that this buzzing sound coming from the elevator. If you stay at this hotel make sure you are far from the elevator! The room has AC. Service has been excellent, nice people at the reception and in the bar. The hotel is perfectly located close to Rembrandt Square, the Blue Bridge and within walking distance of the most scenic in Amsterdam. If you do not get too close to the elevator, we highly recommend this hotel!

Room Tip: Do not choose romm nr 106
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Annette B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert P, Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Eden Amsterdam, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for writing your feedback on tripadvisor.com. We will look into the situation you described with the elevator. Other than that, we are happy to learn you had such a pleasant stay in our hotel and beautiful city. We hope to be able to welcome you back in the near future!

Kindest regards,

Robert Pelt
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

First time in Amsterdam, really pleased with location, easy access to trams & restaurants, room was upgraded when we arrived, staff very friendly & helpful, excellent value, love the Piano bar downstairs

Room Tip: Our room didn't have a view but then that's not what we paid for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert P, Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Eden Amsterdam, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Dear guest,

We appreciate you making the effort to write your comments on tripadvisor.com. We are delighted you had such a wonderful time in our hotel. We thank you for your kind words and hope to be able to welcome you back real soon!

Warm regards,

Robert Pelt
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Good location, clean and has all the necessities. The hotel staffs are also friendly and helpful to provide direction and arranged transportation for me. As this hotel is located strategically near Damrak, it is actually quite convenient to walk which you’ll see quite a lot of Amsterdam and all the main attractions. There’s also the Ice bar a few doors away if you need to have some drinks.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Julian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert P, Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Eden Amsterdam, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for writing your review for Tripadvisor. We are happy to learn you had such a wonderful time in our hotel. We appreciate your kind words and hope to be able to welcome you back in the near future!

Kindest regards,

Robert Pelt
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
NH Amsterdam Caransa
NH Amsterdam Caransa
#101 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 764 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
NH Amsterdam Schiller
NH Amsterdam Schiller
#139 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Amstelzicht
Hotel Amstelzicht
#169 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 314 reviews
Plantage & the East
Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampshire Hotel - Eden Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampshire Hotel - Eden Amsterdam

Property: Hampshire Hotel - Eden Amsterdam
Address: Amstel 144, 1017 AE Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel) , Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #190 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampshire Hotel - Eden Amsterdam 3*
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Eden Hotel Amsterdam – Hampshire Eden is in a unique location. Right on the Amstel and with an abundance of hot spots within easy reach: Rembrandtplein, the Stopera, Waterlooplein, De Kleine Komedie and Theater Carre. Various museums are close by including Rembrandthuis Museum and Foam photography museum. The area is also teaming with options for dining out as well as fantastic shopping streets, such as Kalverstraat and Leidsestraat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Hampshire Hotel - Eden Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amsterdam Eden Hotel
Eden Hotel Amsterdam
Best Western Eden Hotel
Best Western Amsterdam
Best Western Eden Amsterdam
Best Western Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing