We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All you could want for a short break” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampshire Hotel - Beethoven Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hampshire Hotel - Beethoven Amsterdam
Ranked #212 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
285 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
“All you could want for a short break”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

Let me start by saying we were both unwell during out four day visit to Amsterdam but from a bug collected from home and had nothing to do with our accommodation or stay.
We had made the booking a month neforehand and requested a quiet room on our reservation and I am pleased to say that they accommodated us accordingly. They have two 'suites' in the annex of the building and we got room 406 so it was up in the lift to floor three, walk the whole corridor and then yup two flights of squeeky stairs until your room. It was twin beds which was a little disappointing but for some this would be more than acceptable.
The hotel is clean and tidy if a dated and tired looking in the decor side but the room had all the things you would expect and was cleaned to a high standard.
The number 5 and 24 trams stop in the middle of the street almost straight outside the front door which is great for travelling around the city but doesn't help in the quietness stakes. We could hear the rumble even at the furthest point away and so I am sure all other rooms would be the same (if not worse). The trams run from five in the morning until just after midnight. But it is true to say that after the first night neither of us were overly disturbed by them (in fact by the third night we never even realised they werte running).
Front desk staff were exceptionally polite and always greeted us when leaving and returning and I thought that was a nice touch.
Value wise - well I would put it straight in the average category, neither expensive or cheap for Amsterdam. Yes you can find cheaper but then you lose quality and yes you can find more opulent hotels but then you will pay the price for it. Having stopped quite a lot in Den Haag then the price I pay there is comparable to this hotel although the ones in DH are newer and therefore win on the decor stakes.
Having roamed the city and past quite a few of the other hotels we were considering them I am happy and satisfied with our stay at the Beethoven and would readily recommend it to couples or families.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room away from the road to reduce tram noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Weekend_Roamer1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    159
    101
    28
    17
See reviews for
42
150
28
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014 via mobile

We booked this hotel very last minute on 27th March and then checked in at 6 pm on the 28th. We was on the first floor and the room was clean and tidy. When we arrived we asked the receptionist to stay in a balcony room, which she advised was the last room which allowed us to smoke outside. (The balcony was very dirty we must say needs a paint lift). But ask away!
We booked the trip through Expedia & they said 70 euros for the balcony room which we quickly rejected.
The room was basic with two twin beds pushed together. But very comfy. It has a lot of tv channels which caters for all nationalities.

The Hotel had breakfast for €10 all you can eat buffet. We decided to get the number 5 or 24 tram into the city which was easy. For 48 hours it cost us €24 and only takes 15 mins. Otherwise walking is around 25-30 mins which we did on a nice sunny day . There is plently to do round the hotel including different coffee shops that are more traditional e.g. yellow mellow! And restaurants on a nice quite road.
Turning right outside the hotel and walking 200m up to the fish shop and taking a right, is a great cheap supermarket .
We would recommend this hotel just don't smoke inside! :)

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Maybe W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castleford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
124 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

Just been here with two friends will definately be going back.Hotel was clean ,staff were friendly and helpful,rooms were clean and comfy.We did room only so cannot comment on food apart from it looked good in passing.Ideally situated next to two tram stops

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wezer123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

I really enjoyed my stay here. Hotel staff were very friendly and helpful with directions and service. Didn't go for the breakfast deal so can't really comment on this. As mentioned in other reviews, tram and bus stop are nearby and this hotel is situated within a quiet spot. I stayed on the 3rd floor within twin rooms and the room was spacious and beds were comfortable. I would recommend this hotel to anyone as I didn't want a hotel within the centre away from all the noise.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Atif K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

Great location with a Tram stop just outside the hotel. Zuid station is 2 stops away which should give you a fairly good idea if you wish to take a train from the Shiphol airport to Zuid and then reach the hotel.

Decent sized rooms (request for those overseeing the road) with basic amenities. While it does not have a minibar or a snack counter in the room, the location of the hotel is such that there are grocery stores (on its right as you step out of the hotel) as well as series of eateries - just get out and take a walk towards the left. Breakfast is free - though there isn't any variation, I wouldn't mind it if I got to stay there for a business trip for a week or so. And, if one is staying for a week, the hotel offers one of the best deals in that location.

What I loved most was the friendly staff at the reception. They are always ready to help out be it with directions, suggestions for eateries, etc. I will stay there in my next visit.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank samgogh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

Me and my friend went for my birthday, very nice hotel, from the airport the taxi charged us nearly 40 euros. If i would have known how easy it was to get there on public transport i would have gone for this. WE had room 406 on the 4th floor, a bit annoying that we had to take the lift to the 3rd floor then take stairs, but overall the room was very spacious, bathroom had bath with shower, tea and coffee in room and towels changed daily.The hotel is located not in the central but trams are regular and you can buy a 24, 48 and 72 hour iamsterdam card from reception. There is a little supermarket shop a couple minutes walk away that you can go and buy things which you would like, theres a starbucks and a couple of coffee shops around, couple of resturants also. For nightlife we went to liesbein friday night and ra 2nd night which are both ok theres alot of bars and resturants there they play a lot of dance, hypno kinda music so if thats what you like then you'll be in heaven. You get barged a lot with no sorry so be prepared to drop a couple of drinks bars and clubs, i think its the nor there, drink are so expensive so basically it would be better to drink before going out. There was a night bus 358 which was every hour i think it was perfect because you can use your iamsterdam card.
Theres plenty of places to go during the day depending on what your into, and easily reachable from the hotel.
On the way back to the airport we caught tram number 5 for 2 stops which brought us very close to the train station just a couple mins walk the train ride was about 10mins, so very easy to get to. VERY NICE BREAK AND HOTEL. Also the reception staff are very helpful.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank uniek_07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

Nice clean room, towels changed everyday , kettle for tea and coffee included. You can pay extra 10 euros and have breakfast there, tram stop right outside for centre (10 mins) supermarket 50 yards away from hotel. if you want to see the sites buy a Iamsterdam card they are for 24, 48, or 72 hrs you can use the trams, buses ,metro and trains and canal ferrys free for your duration, plus you get free admission to most museums and the zoo and also get a large discount on canal trips .we even went around the ajax stadium free. As trams are minimum 2.80 and attractions are from 15.00 upwards so well worth investing. Quite expensive to eat the nearer to the centre you are lager prices ranged from 5 to 8.50 a pint. BEWARE you have to pay to visit toilets 50 cents really loved the break would use this hotel again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tina19601960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
BEST WESTERN Delphi Hotel
#157 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 388 reviews
Plantage & the East
Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam
Amsterdam Tropen Hotel
#127 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Europa 92
#187 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 497 reviews
Hotel Central Park
#163 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampshire Hotel - Beethoven Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampshire Hotel - Beethoven Amsterdam

Property: Hampshire Hotel - Beethoven Amsterdam
Address: Beethovenstraat 43, 1077 HN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #212 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampshire Hotel - Beethoven Amsterdam 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hampshire Hotel – Beethoven is a comfortable and convenient three star hotel in the prestigious Beethovenstraat in the popular neighbourhood Oud-Zuid. Hampshire Hotel – Beethoven is centrally located in Amsterdam, near the city centre, the conference centre Amsterdam RAI, the World Trade Center (WTC) and the VU (university). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, getaroom.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Odigeo, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Hampshire Hotel - Beethoven Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampshire Hotel Beethoven
Hampshire Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing