We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“WOULD DEFINITELY RETURN” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampshire Hotel - Beethoven Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hampshire Hotel - Beethoven Amsterdam
Ranked #211 of 363 Hotels in Amsterdam
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“WOULD DEFINITELY RETURN”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

Me and my friend went for my birthday, very nice hotel, from the airport the taxi charged us nearly 40 euros. If i would have known how easy it was to get there on public transport i would have gone for this. WE had room 406 on the 4th floor, a bit annoying that we had to take the lift to the 3rd floor then take stairs, but overall the room was very spacious, bathroom had bath with shower, tea and coffee in room and towels changed daily.The hotel is located not in the central but trams are regular and you can buy a 24, 48 and 72 hour iamsterdam card from reception. There is a little supermarket shop a couple minutes walk away that you can go and buy things which you would like, theres a starbucks and a couple of coffee shops around, couple of resturants also. For nightlife we went to liesbein friday night and ra 2nd night which are both ok theres alot of bars and resturants there they play a lot of dance, hypno kinda music so if thats what you like then you'll be in heaven. You get barged a lot with no sorry so be prepared to drop a couple of drinks bars and clubs, i think its the nor there, drink are so expensive so basically it would be better to drink before going out. There was a night bus 358 which was every hour i think it was perfect because you can use your iamsterdam card.
Theres plenty of places to go during the day depending on what your into, and easily reachable from the hotel.
On the way back to the airport we caught tram number 5 for 2 stops which brought us very close to the train station just a couple mins walk the train ride was about 10mins, so very easy to get to. VERY NICE BREAK AND HOTEL. Also the reception staff are very helpful.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank uniek_07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    165
    104
    29
    17
See reviews for
46
155
28
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

Nice clean room, towels changed everyday , kettle for tea and coffee included. You can pay extra 10 euros and have breakfast there, tram stop right outside for centre (10 mins) supermarket 50 yards away from hotel. if you want to see the sites buy a Iamsterdam card they are for 24, 48, or 72 hrs you can use the trams, buses ,metro and trains and canal ferrys free for your duration, plus you get free admission to most museums and the zoo and also get a large discount on canal trips .we even went around the ajax stadium free. As trams are minimum 2.80 and attractions are from 15.00 upwards so well worth investing. Quite expensive to eat the nearer to the centre you are lager prices ranged from 5 to 8.50 a pint. BEWARE you have to pay to visit toilets 50 cents really loved the break would use this hotel again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tina19601960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naperville, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

My friends and I recently stayed here for 8 nights and enjoyed this hotel very much. The staff was extremely helpful and very kind especially staff member named Aziz. The rooms were a nice size and very clean and comfortable especially for a longer stay. The beds were very comfy and there was a lot of space to move around the room. The bathroom was nice and clean as well. Breakfast was included for us, which was nice so we didn't have to go find a place for to eat in the morning. There is a great bakery next door as well as a Coffee Company and a Starbucks location. We also found the supermarket down the street to be very convenient. The neighborhood that surrounds the hotel is extremely safe and also very nice. The hotel is in a great location. It is convenient to get to and from the airport as well as the City Center, Museumplein, Leidseplein, and Dam Square (basically any tourist attraction). Bike rental is also down the street and the tram stops right in front of the hotel. Free WiFi in the lobby, but if you want WiFi in the room you do have to pay for it. Overall, this is a really a great place to stay in Amsterdam!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EAM91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014 via mobile

Firstly, despite some of the marketing material, this is not a City centre hotel. It's a good 20 minute walk into the centre and we don't hang around when on foot.
That said there's an excellent tram service (No's 5&24) into and out of the centre, from just outside the hotel. A day or multiple day ticket is good value and can be used on all routes.
The hotel was clean, our room it seemed recently refurbished with the usual requisites, for example clean bedding and towels, king sized bed, tea/coffee making facilities, free wi-fi (in reception) etc.
Breakfast was typically continental with ample food to stock for the day.
The hotel staff were friendly and helpful, providing useful advice when asked.
Amsterdammers celebrate New Year so don't expect too many restaurants and non city-centre bars to be open, particularly on New Years Day. We found some little gems in the De Pijp area of the the City, again within easy reach by tram.
Overall a good stay if not a little expensive for what you get (then again it was New Year so expect to pay more).

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Hullbeekeeper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

I have stayed here twice on business trips. Once with the wife and baby too. I work in the WTC, so its a nice 10 min walk from the hotel. The tram takes you into centraal too.

The rooms are nice (I always choose deluxe) and clean, bed is comfortable.

The cons are the toilet is very narrow, if you are a large person you will not like it.

Also the showers are good and powerful yet there is a major design flaw which could be dangerous. If you accidentally turn on the hot water on the shower first ,it is boiling hot water, you cannot access the cold tap as you will get burnt and there are no mains in sight. This happened to me, and i had to wrap 3 towels around my arm and reach the cold taps with my hand. There is a glass which swing in to protect the floor from splashing but as the toilet is right there you cannot access the taps by moving the glass.

4* rating for me.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank delahmed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
savannah, GA
Level Contributor
85 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

Stayed the night going and coming through Amsterdam. Very satisfactory, in a neighborhood close to Schiphol by taxi. Trains also go to RAI station, a stone's throw away and a short taxi ride, if needed. Accommodating young staff, clean, quiet rooms, comfy bed, and all the necessities for about 70 euros a night...much less than the airport hotel which wanted 290 euros and would not try to accommodate an early check-in without insisting on an extra 290 euros if I needed to get into the room before 3. The location is on the tram line, with a straight shot to the major musical attractions. Not glamorous, but very reasonable and good for that needed rest after a long trip. On way back, needed 5AM check-in, so guaranteed a bed by booking extra night. Still, all 3 nights did not add up to cost at airport. Great value.

Room Tip: back of hotel is quieter, but I was in front and had no problems.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dgreenberg2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights for our honeymoon. We werent looking for luxurious places but something affordable and comfortable. Unfortunately this wasnt the place for us.
On the positive side, the staff were so lovely and helpful and the hotel is in a great location. With a tram stop right out the front and about a 20min tram ride / 20euro taxi to central station. Thats where the positives end.
We upgraded our room as the first one was smelly and tiny. This hotel desperately needs a face lift. I am a light sleeper and got hardly any sleep due to the ceiling sounding like it was going to collapse, either that or bigfoot was staying above us. The walls were thin too. I could hear everything from the rooms either side of us and above us. The bathroom was dirty and old and when you shower water just goes all through the bathroom. There wasnt a bathroom fan so it fogged up very quickly.
The breakfast was horrible, we went elsewhere after the first day. There was a fantastic cafe right opposite the hotel.
We were overall dissatisfied with this hotel, it didn't compare to the hotel's website at all.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathryn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Amsterdam Tropen Hotel
#131 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 666 reviews
Hotel Europa 92
#191 of 363 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 534 reviews
BEST WESTERN Delphi Hotel
#153 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plantage & the East
Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam
Hotel Central Park
#162 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampshire Hotel - Beethoven Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampshire Hotel - Beethoven Amsterdam

Property: Hampshire Hotel - Beethoven Amsterdam
Address: Beethovenstraat 43, 1077 HN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #211 of 363 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampshire Hotel - Beethoven Amsterdam 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you’re enjoying a city break or are on a business trip; you find a warm and friendly welcome at the Hampshire Hotel Beethoven in Amsterdam Zuid (South). The hotel is conveniently situated in the prestigious ‘Beethovenstraat’, a street best known for its luxury shops and variety of trendy bars and restaurants for fine wining and dining. The neighbourhood ‘Amsterdam Oud Zuid’ is a beautiful area and great to experience every day Amsterdam life at its best. Enjoy tasty classic dishes at Brooks Brasserie. The brasserie is available for a cup of coffee, drinks, light meal, breakfast, lunch or dinner. Looking for the hustle and bustle of the Amsterdam city centre? With trams stopping right on the hotel’s doorstep, you get there fast and easy. Or stop on the way at interesting spots such as the newly renovated Rijksmuseum, the beautiful Vondelpark, the Albert Cuijp market and the vibrant Leidseplein with its bars, terraces, shops, cinemas and the new DeLaMar Theatre. Close to Hampshire Hotel Beethoven is the Amsterdam Zuid (South) station, from which metro 50 takes you directly to Amsterdam Arena. Here you find the ArenA football stadium, the Ziggo Dome concert hall, the Heineken Music Hall and much more to keep you entertained. Travelling for business? Due the location of our hotel in the South of Amsterdam it is also very popular with business travellers. The Amsterdam RAI convention centre and the Amsterdam WTC (World Trade Centre) are within walking distance and also the Amsterdam VU (university) is easily accessible. Hampshire Hotel Beethoven offers an outstanding service and comfortable rooms. With a private bathroom with bath tub or shower, flat screen TV, coffee and tea making facilities, a laptop safe and Wi-Fi internet free of charge, you will find all the comfort you need to unwind and recharge for the next day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Odigeo, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Hampshire Hotel - Beethoven Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampshire Hotel Beethoven
Hampshire Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing