We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't believe that hotels like this still exist...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampshire Hotel - Beethoven Amsterdam
Ranked #206 of 367 Hotels in Amsterdam
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Can't believe that hotels like this still exist...”
Reviewed October 31, 2013

I was in Amsterdam for business and unfortunately had to settle for this hotel as all others where fully booked. Arrived at the hotel, check in, got to the 3rd floor and was met with the most awful smell. Got to my room to hear a 'drip, drip, drip' sound and discovered that my radiator was leaking. Changed to another room to find a radiator with rust/dirt marks, and a very grubby feeling room. Tried to purchase in-room wi-fi, but couldn't complete the transaction. TV channel selection was very poor, so gave up and turned in for the night. Had a good sleep, and shower was good. Absolutely no atmosphere in the restaurant which has been shoe-horned into the 'Reception' area creating a very 'rushed' experience at breakfast. Was glad to leave....

Room Tip: Sheesh - avoid the 3rd floor which has a weird smell?
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HenryTheHoover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

436 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    188
    121
    34
    19
See reviews for
57
184
32
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aachen, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2013

very friendly hotel staff, especially Aziz who helped whenever needed. reasonable prices also during exhibition period. very near to RAI exhibition centre (5 min wich cab, 15-20 min walk). nice Argentinian restaurant next to the hotel and far more in direct neighboorhoud. i would recommend this hotel for business trips.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank avolkhardt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Stopped here for work a few nights and I really love the location. Stayed in Amsterdam a few times previously and this is the best area yet. Beethovenstraat is a stylish and classy neighbourhood with some good shops, bars and spots to eat, and this hotel is smack in the centre of it. worth mentioning here that here's a place at the end of the block called Fidelio Cafe that would make a brilliant local in any city with it's atmosphere, good beers and even better food, but sadly the same can't be said for the Beethoven.

If it was a colour it would be beige. Everything looks like it could do with a facelift.

That said, when you break it down into the raw materials of a hotel for a business trip there's nothing much to grumble about. My room was a good size with a decent bed, a great shower, good sized telly and plenty of natural light with views up and down the main road. The road's quite noisy but it didn't bother me overly. Breakfast was fairly poor but there was fresh bread and fresh juice and I've had worse.

It felt like they'd listened to reviewers advice and improved some of the essentials and this certainly made all the difference for my stay, but there's just no escaping the overwhelming blandness waiting around every corner. It's got zero character. You won't want to come back, but the charm of the area and the fact that it doesn't quite manage to upset you might just mean you forget you didn't really rate it and book another stay next year. Clever Beethoven.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank james_barlow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicosia, Cyprus
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2013

we stayed at the hotel for four nights. the room had enough space for two. The small problem was the bathroom door, which was sliding and didn't actually isolate /seal / from the rest of the space. The staff was friendly and helpful. We found it comfortable enough for our stay. Nearby were a lot of shops , cafe and restaurants which was very convenient. Transportation was very good, since the tram station was a few meters next to the hotel. I would rate it 3+.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phaedra2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2013

We stayed in the Beethoven Hotel for 1 week whilst exhibiting at a major Trade Show (September 2013). When we opened the lift door on the 3rd floor, after we had Registered, we were met by a really vile smell that lingered on for three days before finally dissipating.
Our Double Room overlooked the back (no garden) so it was quieter than the front, but it was dismal and urgently required redecoration, like the rest of the Hotel!
There was no ventilation in the lavatory/bathroom so the towels did not dry, and it was only on the third day that we started throwing them on the floor to get them changed. Even the net curtain in the room was filthy, with what looked like a large blood stain on it!
There was very little storage space for clothes, and what there was required a ladder to reach!
There was no free Internet (in this day and age?) AND they wanted to charge us for it, even though we were staying for seven days!
Breakfast was abysmal, and unchanging every day. There was a poor selection of cereals, no Meusli, totally tasteless fruit salad, the scrambled egg was like rubber, their sausages were small and 'dubious', and the coffee was totally undrinkable.
Reception was dour, and whilst not actually rude, did nothing to make one feel welcome in the venue.
All in all, a tatty, dismal, unwelcoming venue, and best avoided!

Room Tip: Ask for one at another hotel, but if you must stay there, get one at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

Komatipoort, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Amsterdam is an amazing city, and we loved staying at the Beethoven Hotel. The room was comfortable, the staff were very friendly and helpful, and the breakfast was more than adequate. We were a stone's throw away from the tram, so getting to all the interesting places we wanted to visit, like the Rijksmuseum, Van Gogh Museum etc. was easy. The staff provided us with tickets for the tram, and booked us on a day trip to Vollendam and Marken. We were picked up from the hotel by bus and taken to the central tour depot.
The "continental" breakfast included a choice of scrambled egg and sausage as well, which was more than adequate for a good tart to the day.
We loved the street we were in, as we could sit and have a good meal while we watched the normal Amsterdam life go by (mostly on bicycles!). It almost felt like we were part of the community, and we had good fun practising our Dutch phrases.

Room Tip: On arrival we were given the option of upgrading to a better room, which we did. It is a very quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LindaRenecle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawick, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2013

Good clean and comfortable hotel, in a good location. The street is pleasantly tree-lined, with plenty of shops and restaurants nearby, and close to very pleasant walks by a suburban "green-area" canal. The tram stops (5 & 24) into the city centre are 2 minutes' walk away. We had a corner-room over-looking the street, with its trees and park-style benches, which was very nice. Yet there was surprisingly little noise from the street. A local supermarket was just round the corner.
The bedrooms are generous in size, the shower-toilets are well-kept. An electric kettle is supplied along with coffee & tea sachets, sugar & creamers. The wardrobes, however, were disappointingly narrow & small, with only a small amount of hanging space. The shelf space was so high up, that it was only usable by a tall person (I'm small), or someone with a set of steps. The rooms have air-conditioning that you can switch on & off at will. Very useful on a hot day or a warm, still night. The accoustic insulation seemed to be good, as we didn't hear a thing from other adjacent bedrooms.

The breakfast room was just behind the reception area, and was rather small. The TV is always on bringing you the latest international news in English. The buffet breakfasts were fairly good & filling, with cereals, tinned fruit & yoghourt to start with. But the same "boiled" mini-sausages, the same scrambled eggs (though this was nicely cooked), the same 3 sliced cold meats, the same 3 sliced cheeses - every morning for a week, did get a bit boring. A bit more variety would have been nice - e.g. fried bacon, mushrooms, hot tomatoes, small burgers, and perhaps a pot of hot beans. Still, everything was spotlessly clean.
The staff are pleasant & helpful.
It's strictly a No-Smoking hotel. You could be fined 50 Euros for smoking in the bedroom - even if you stand blowing the smoke out of the window; and you'll only get it back when you leave, if the hotel housekeeper is satisfied that no further smoking has taken place.

Room Tip: Ask for one with 2 single beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Evelyn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Best Western Delphi Hotel
#175 of 367 in Amsterdam
501 reviews
Amsterdam Tropen Hotel
#135 of 367 in Amsterdam
812 reviews
Vondelpark
Conscious Hotel Vondelpark
Conscious Hotel Vondelpark
#83 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Washington
Hotel Washington
#270 of 367 in Amsterdam
504 reviews
Hotel Central Park
#181 of 367 in Amsterdam
491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampshire Hotel - Beethoven Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampshire Hotel - Beethoven Amsterdam

Property: Hampshire Hotel - Beethoven Amsterdam
Address: Beethovenstraat 43, 1077 HN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #206 of 367 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampshire Hotel - Beethoven Amsterdam 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you’re enjoying a city break or are on a business trip; you find a warm and friendly welcome at the Hampshire Hotel Beethoven in Amsterdam Zuid (South). The hotel is conveniently situated in the prestigious ‘Beethovenstraat’, a street best known for its luxury shops and variety of trendy bars and restaurants for fine wining and dining. The neighbourhood ‘Amsterdam Oud Zuid’ is a beautiful area and great to experience every day Amsterdam life at its best. Enjoy tasty classic dishes at Brooks Brasserie. The brasserie is available for a cup of coffee, drinks, light meal, breakfast, lunch or dinner. Looking for the hustle and bustle of the Amsterdam city centre? With trams stopping right on the hotel’s doorstep, you get there fast and easy. Or stop on the way at interesting spots such as the newly renovated Rijksmuseum, the beautiful Vondelpark, the Albert Cuijp market and the vibrant Leidseplein with its bars, terraces, shops, cinemas and the new DeLaMar Theatre. Close to Hampshire Hotel Beethoven is the Amsterdam Zuid (South) station, from which metro 50 takes you directly to Amsterdam Arena. Here you find the ArenA football stadium, the Ziggo Dome concert hall, the Heineken Music Hall and much more to keep you entertained. Travelling for business? Due the location of our hotel in the South of Amsterdam it is also very popular with business travellers. The Amsterdam RAI convention centre and the Amsterdam WTC (World Trade Centre) are within walking distance and also the Amsterdam VU (university) is easily accessible. Hampshire Hotel Beethoven offers an outstanding service and comfortable rooms. With a private bathroom with bath tub or shower, flat screen TV, coffee and tea making facilities, a laptop safe and Wi-Fi internet free of charge, you will find all the comfort you need to unwind and recharge for the next day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hampshire Hotel - Beethoven Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampshire Hotel Beethoven
Hampshire Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing