We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rather poor”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampshire Hotel - Beethoven Amsterdam
Ranked #203 of 367 Hotels in Amsterdam
Thessaloniki, Greece
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Rather poor”
Reviewed October 12, 2012

Stayed there for 3 nights - due to attendance of an event at RAI convention center. It is indeed within 10-15min walking distance of RAI - so no need to use public transport to get to RAI. The part of Amsterdam where it is located is upscaled -- the scenery is quite charming -- and quite safe.

The hotel is a quite old building. The floors and ceillings are probably made of wood. You could hear people walking on the top floor -- the ceilling makes terrible creaking sounds. Very alarming during night time. People walking down the corridor are felt (produced trembles inside the room and heard LOUD.Neighboring rooms have NO sound insulation. Woke up many times during the night of the noise. Very bad sleeping quality and also some sounds come from the outside very early in the morning.

Staff were moderately helpful. No major complaints there. Charged 115 Euros/night through travel agents, + 10euro City tax for 3 nights.

Cleanliness was OK. The TV set was a flat screen from Samsung, but required a special chip card to be paid for to work. So no pay noTV. WiFi was free at the lobby, so it was possible to check email. Breakfast was decent -- but nothing to brag about. Breakfast area a bit small. Overall,since it was so difficult to sleep because of noise, I give it a low rating, and will not use their services again. 5mins walk down the street are M-Citizen and WTC, with much newer buildings available.

3-4 restaurants within direct vicinity,including chinese, italian and mexican. A super market is in the end of the block (Albert Heijn chain) -- and yes tulip seeds are available there.

Room Tip: Probably ask something on the top floors not facing the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tipoukoitos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

435 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    188
    120
    34
    19
See reviews for
57
184
31
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

We booked this hotel because they were having a promo that time, and I would say that we made a really good choice. Our hotel room is big and always clean. We paid extra €25 (i think) for breakfast buffet and room internet, but the breakfast buffet was worth it. But the room internet was awfully slow though, and not very convenient, as you have to type a long password everytime you use it. But overall, I would recommend this hotel; the staff is always very helpful and friendly, and the tram stop is practically in front of the hotel, so it's convenient if you're coming in late. There's a grocery near the hotel, so you could get things you might've forgotten to pack, a bakery if you want to grab a quick bite, several restaurants and there's a Starbucks nearby as well. I also like that it's in a quiet part of Amsterdam.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Aida205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2012

Myself and a friend stayed at this hotel in July as somewhere to stay during the night after busy days exploring the city. The hotel itself was simple and clean with a good sized room and en-suite bathroom. When we checked in we were offered breakfast and unlimited WIFI for €25 a night which I thought was very overpriced seeming as most hotels offer free WIFI. We got round this problem by visiting the Starbucks across the road where they provided free WIFI. The location of the Hotel is ok, despite being located a good 45 minutes walk away from the centre of town there is a regular tram line with a stop directly outside the hotel offering two tram services throughout the day. The staff at the hotel were fairly friendly and helpful and spoke near perfect English (which is normal in Amsterdam). Not sure whether it was just because we travelled at the start of the summer but the hotel seemed almost empty and a bit lonely. upon leaving the hotel we were asked to pay city tax which seemed a bit strange seeming as we had spent almost £400 in the city and now we were being asked to pay tax on top of that, however I cannot blame the hotel for this as I expect this is the same in all hotels across the city. Te City itself is brilliant but a bit pricey so ultimately you get what you pay for so bring plenty of cash!

Room Tip: Don't bother with the €25 upgrade for unlimited WIFI and breakfast as it is just not worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gavin O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2012

Nice, clean place to stay. Booked it at bookings.com. Paid 135Euro...a little higher than I would normally pay to stay in this type of hotel but it made up for it being a very nice part of Amsterdam and it was end of July..peak season. We had a room for 3 people, and we had plenty of room to spread out. It even had a large area as you walked into the room for us to spread out our luggage. The bathroom was very nice with a great shower. Every room has access to a back patio area. We were on the top floor and it had a great view of Amsterdam from there. With plenty of windows in the room on both sides to give you a great breeze. It also has air conditioning, not normally found at all hotels. We needed it, because the weather turned hot as we ended our trip.

They have a nice coffee machine for you to get your morning coffee (free) with lattes, etc, but they do not include breakfast (another 10Euro which i think is a bit high for breakfast) The hotel is very close to the nicer shopping district and a short walk to the museums. There is a bike rental place nearby, which will let u rent a bike late in the day for 3 hrs for only 6 Euro. The best part of this hotel is that you are staying in a residential area, so you meet locals as you are looking in nearby shops and eating at nearby restaurants. On the same block is a great coffee place, meat store, fancy clothes stores, and several good restaurants. We had dinner at the end of the block, Restaurant called Eetcafe Fidelio. It was really good. We ordered the mussels, and it was the biggest order we have ever received. For 18Euro, we had a least 50 mussels and it came with a salad and french fries (pat at). It was in a delicious wine, vegetable broth and had a very good taste. We also ordered the Sashimi Salad. Good portion of Tuna Sashimi on top of a green salad with asian dressing (could have had a little more dressing), but still very delicious. My mother order the capriccio appetizer and she enjoyed it.

It took about 10 min to get to Central Station to catch the train to Schiphol. I would stay here again just to be out of the tourist area near Central Station.

Room Tip: Top floor has the best views but lower floors looked a little more upscale.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lovetoboatfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2012

I've stayed at this hotel in August 2012 for one night in an ensuite single room.
Pro's:
- very easy to find and accessible via public transport
- friendly, welcoming staff
- free wi-fi in the lobby (but not in the rooms! - see con's).
- clean room, spacious enough for one person
- comfortable bed
- coffee making facilities in the room & hairdryer.

Con's:
- 10E to get wi-fi in your room seems a bit excessive
- small lobby
- no restaurant
- small bed, even for a single (I found it comfortable as per pros section but anyone larger than me would've felt a bit cramped)


Overall I found this hotel a good place to spend a night in Amsterdam and I'd recommend it to other travelers. It's pretty basic, no-frills accomodation with good price-quality ratio.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank travelobee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Helens, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2012

this is the second time my wife and i have stayed at the hampshire hotel. the hotel is in a great location the most comfortable bed i have slept in a hotel. the breakfast is great i would go to the hampshire hotel every time i went to amsterdam great.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank glyn007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Southern Finland, Finland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2012

We spent four nights at Hampshire Hotel Beethoven with my boyfriend in the beginning of July. I would say that my rating on the hotel on an international scale would be below averige, but for Amsterdam I'd say that the price-quality ratio is quite good. Here are some of the major pros and cons:

Pros:
+ We arrived around 11 a.m., and we were given a room immidiately, although the check in is officially at 2 p.m.
+ the rooms are rather spacious (we had a standard room, but we were also offered a superior room for 10€ extra per night)
+ the rooms are spotlessly clean (especially the bathroom!), the towels are changed daily and no sign of bedbugs whatsoever
+ during daytime, access to the city centre is very easy, trams 5 and 24 run every five minutes
+ the hotel is in a nice neighbourhood, approx. 3-4 km from the city centre, with a supermarket around the corner, bakery next door and a few nice cafés and restaurants. And also a cheese-shop and a liquor store!
+ there was a frigde in the room, although it wasn't mentioned in the amenities
+ air-conditioning, a shared balcony and a large, opening window in the room
+ As hotels in Amsterdam are very expensive, we got a good deal: 350€ for four nights.

Cons:
- the biggest con was the VERY LOUD housekeeper who began to stomp around the corridors around 8 a.m. and also kept on banging the storage room's door that was located next to our room (our room was number 402). The soundproofing of the rooms and especially the doors is extremely poor, so sleeping after 8 a.m. was practically impossible despite earplugs (and I am not exaggerating, it was really VERY, VERY loud). In addition, on the last day the housekeeper came into the room at 8 a.m. despite the "Dop not disturb" -sign we had at the door.
- The hotel is not located at the centre, so it is not as easy to pop over to the hotel for a quick rest, as it is if the hotel is more centrally located. Also, the night buses are not quite as frequent as the trams during daytime, so one night we ended up walking approx. 15 min. and then waiting for the bus for 30 min. at Leidseplein. The trams run until half past midnight though.
- The aircon temperature control did not work, so if the aircon was on, it became freezing within 15 min. So it was good for a quick cooling/refreshing, but we couldn't have it on all the time. Also, a few times late at night it seemed that the aircon did not work at all.
- The fridge stopped working on the day before we left, and we never found out whether someone had turned it off or if it had broken up.
- The corridor on the 4th floor looked pretty worn out and had a weird smell, but the rest of the corridors on the other floors were much cleaner.
- The mattresses were quite bad and the pillows lumpy. I slept well though, at least until 8 a.m....
- No breakfast included in the price
- You had to PAY to use the TV (!!!) and to use the internet, even at the lobby it was 5€/hour.
- The room had a strange small kitchennette that had practically nothing in it, despite the sink and empty cupboards. It also looked like it was in the middle of renovation. I guess you were not supposed to use it...
- The housekeeper did not replace the toiletpapers etc. before we ran out completely

So, all in all an average stay, a little pricy for what it had to offer, but reasonable for Amsterdam. With a few improvements, such as free TV and internet as well as a quieter housekeeper it would definitely be good for the price. If you're not looking for luxury, you want to save some money and you are willing to tolerate some downsides, it's a good choice. The cleanliness is top-notch!

In Amsterdam, I recommend you buy ticket for museums in advance in order to avoid queuing, especially for the Anne Frank house! Joordan was a very nice neighbourhood and I also recommend the Albert Cuyp street market in De Pijp. There is so much more to Amsterdam than the red light district...

Room Tip: Avoid 402 because its located next to the cleaning/storage room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank AmsterdamWanderers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Best Western Delphi Hotel
#176 of 367 in Amsterdam
495 reviews
Amsterdam Tropen Hotel
#136 of 367 in Amsterdam
799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Central Park
#173 of 367 in Amsterdam
484 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
The Alfred Hotel
The Alfred Hotel
#226 of 367 in Amsterdam
699 reviews
Vondelpark
Conscious Hotel Vondelpark
Conscious Hotel Vondelpark
#89 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampshire Hotel - Beethoven Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampshire Hotel - Beethoven Amsterdam

Property: Hampshire Hotel - Beethoven Amsterdam
Address: Beethovenstraat 43, 1077 HN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #203 of 367 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampshire Hotel - Beethoven Amsterdam 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you’re enjoying a city break or are on a business trip; you find a warm and friendly welcome at the Hampshire Hotel Beethoven in Amsterdam Zuid (South). The hotel is conveniently situated in the prestigious ‘Beethovenstraat’, a street best known for its luxury shops and variety of trendy bars and restaurants for fine wining and dining. The neighbourhood ‘Amsterdam Oud Zuid’ is a beautiful area and great to experience every day Amsterdam life at its best. Enjoy tasty classic dishes at Brooks Brasserie. The brasserie is available for a cup of coffee, drinks, light meal, breakfast, lunch or dinner. Looking for the hustle and bustle of the Amsterdam city centre? With trams stopping right on the hotel’s doorstep, you get there fast and easy. Or stop on the way at interesting spots such as the newly renovated Rijksmuseum, the beautiful Vondelpark, the Albert Cuijp market and the vibrant Leidseplein with its bars, terraces, shops, cinemas and the new DeLaMar Theatre. Close to Hampshire Hotel Beethoven is the Amsterdam Zuid (South) station, from which metro 50 takes you directly to Amsterdam Arena. Here you find the ArenA football stadium, the Ziggo Dome concert hall, the Heineken Music Hall and much more to keep you entertained. Travelling for business? Due the location of our hotel in the South of Amsterdam it is also very popular with business travellers. The Amsterdam RAI convention centre and the Amsterdam WTC (World Trade Centre) are within walking distance and also the Amsterdam VU (university) is easily accessible. Hampshire Hotel Beethoven offers an outstanding service and comfortable rooms. With a private bathroom with bath tub or shower, flat screen TV, coffee and tea making facilities, a laptop safe and Wi-Fi internet free of charge, you will find all the comfort you need to unwind and recharge for the next day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampshire Hotel - Beethoven Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampshire Hotel Beethoven
Hampshire Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing