We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, clean, basic room” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampshire Hotel - Beethoven Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hampshire Hotel - Beethoven Amsterdam to your Saves list
Hampshire Hotel - Beethoven Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Beethovenstraat 43, 1077 HN Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #225 of 357 Hotels in Amsterdam
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Good location, clean, basic room”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

I've stayed at this hotel in August 2012 for one night in an ensuite single room.
Pro's:
- very easy to find and accessible via public transport
- friendly, welcoming staff
- free wi-fi in the lobby (but not in the rooms! - see con's).
- clean room, spacious enough for one person
- comfortable bed
- coffee making facilities in the room & hairdryer.

Con's:
- 10E to get wi-fi in your room seems a bit excessive
- small lobby
- no restaurant
- small bed, even for a single (I found it comfortable as per pros section but anyone larger than me would've felt a bit cramped)


Overall I found this hotel a good place to spend a night in Amsterdam and I'd recommend it to other travelers. It's pretty basic, no-frills accomodation with good price-quality ratio.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelobee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
St Helens, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

this is the second time my wife and i have stayed at the hampshire hotel. the hotel is in a great location the most comfortable bed i have slept in a hotel. the breakfast is great i would go to the hampshire hotel every time i went to amsterdam great.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank glyn007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Southern Finland, Finland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

We spent four nights at Hampshire Hotel Beethoven with my boyfriend in the beginning of July. I would say that my rating on the hotel on an international scale would be below averige, but for Amsterdam I'd say that the price-quality ratio is quite good. Here are some of the major pros and cons:

Pros:
+ We arrived around 11 a.m., and we were given a room immidiately, although the check in is officially at 2 p.m.
+ the rooms are rather spacious (we had a standard room, but we were also offered a superior room for 10€ extra per night)
+ the rooms are spotlessly clean (especially the bathroom!), the towels are changed daily and no sign of bedbugs whatsoever
+ during daytime, access to the city centre is very easy, trams 5 and 24 run every five minutes
+ the hotel is in a nice neighbourhood, approx. 3-4 km from the city centre, with a supermarket around the corner, bakery next door and a few nice cafés and restaurants. And also a cheese-shop and a liquor store!
+ there was a frigde in the room, although it wasn't mentioned in the amenities
+ air-conditioning, a shared balcony and a large, opening window in the room
+ As hotels in Amsterdam are very expensive, we got a good deal: 350€ for four nights.

Cons:
- the biggest con was the VERY LOUD housekeeper who began to stomp around the corridors around 8 a.m. and also kept on banging the storage room's door that was located next to our room (our room was number 402). The soundproofing of the rooms and especially the doors is extremely poor, so sleeping after 8 a.m. was practically impossible despite earplugs (and I am not exaggerating, it was really VERY, VERY loud). In addition, on the last day the housekeeper came into the room at 8 a.m. despite the "Dop not disturb" -sign we had at the door.
- The hotel is not located at the centre, so it is not as easy to pop over to the hotel for a quick rest, as it is if the hotel is more centrally located. Also, the night buses are not quite as frequent as the trams during daytime, so one night we ended up walking approx. 15 min. and then waiting for the bus for 30 min. at Leidseplein. The trams run until half past midnight though.
- The aircon temperature control did not work, so if the aircon was on, it became freezing within 15 min. So it was good for a quick cooling/refreshing, but we couldn't have it on all the time. Also, a few times late at night it seemed that the aircon did not work at all.
- The fridge stopped working on the day before we left, and we never found out whether someone had turned it off or if it had broken up.
- The corridor on the 4th floor looked pretty worn out and had a weird smell, but the rest of the corridors on the other floors were much cleaner.
- The mattresses were quite bad and the pillows lumpy. I slept well though, at least until 8 a.m....
- No breakfast included in the price
- You had to PAY to use the TV (!!!) and to use the internet, even at the lobby it was 5€/hour.
- The room had a strange small kitchennette that had practically nothing in it, despite the sink and empty cupboards. It also looked like it was in the middle of renovation. I guess you were not supposed to use it...
- The housekeeper did not replace the toiletpapers etc. before we ran out completely

So, all in all an average stay, a little pricy for what it had to offer, but reasonable for Amsterdam. With a few improvements, such as free TV and internet as well as a quieter housekeeper it would definitely be good for the price. If you're not looking for luxury, you want to save some money and you are willing to tolerate some downsides, it's a good choice. The cleanliness is top-notch!

In Amsterdam, I recommend you buy ticket for museums in advance in order to avoid queuing, especially for the Anne Frank house! Joordan was a very nice neighbourhood and I also recommend the Albert Cuyp street market in De Pijp. There is so much more to Amsterdam than the red light district...

Room Tip: Avoid 402 because its located next to the cleaning/storage room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank AmsterdamWanderers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgrade, Serbia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

We stayed in Hotel Beethoven in April 2012 for five nights. Hotel is classic 3* hotel. Very small lobby in front of the reception, Very small breakfast area, but breakfast is good (buffet style).
Staff is ok. But not very friendly. Rooms are very basic, but clean. Location of the hotel is approx. 5 km and it is a bit far to walk to city center, but we used tram (10 min ride) station is front of the hotel which is very convenient. Area of the hotel is nice, you can find almost everything you may need, and also there is couple of restaurants close by. All in all nice 3* hotel in magnificent city. Amsterdam is must see destination.

Room Tip: Try to get room with terrace, they are bigger and much more airy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sasa608
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

The hotel staff was friendly, but the rooms were a little dirty. The walls were discolored and the beds lumpy. Overall I would say this hotel is average. Clean bathrooms. The hotel is very close to the tram with east access to Dam Square.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brooke1004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012 via mobile

We stayed overnight at this hotel and the location is brilliant - easy access to trams outside and direct link to long term and cheap parking at Olympic Stadium and also into heart of city. Supermarket, cafes, bakery and quality shopping all on doorstep of hotel. Rooms were clean and reasonably spacious for a European city. The staff were very helpful and gave practical advice for getting around Amsterdam. If I had a criticism (which is minor by comparison to the plus points of this hotel) is that the bedrooms were a little dated/tired and the breakfast area a little cramped and also a bit dated/tired. However I do not consider that these points are substantial enough to warrant any reduction in my 5 star review rating of this excellent hotel which overall represented great value for money.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank StevenJ58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

I stayed in this hotel as I needed to be close to University and my expectations were not high after reading the reviews...but! the stay was perfect.

Rooms: perfectly clean, it has paid tv basic furniture and no mini-bar but I was amazed how this hotel was kept clean!

Staff: the receptionists were extremly polite, spoke perfect English and I would rate the service higher than in some 4* hotels.

WIFI was in the whole hotel but it was only free in the lobby, if you required connection in your room you would have to pay £10/24h.

The location: it was in a nice neighbourhood of amsterdam surrounded by the best restaurants I have visited, chocolate shop, cheese shop supermarket and it was very safe and lovely, quiet part of Amsterdam. To the city centre it takes you about 20 mins by tram 5 which is outside of the hotel.

I would stay in this hotel again!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank radka1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
3.1 mi away
WestCord Art Hotel Amsterdam
0.5 mi away
Qbic Hotel Amsterdam WTC
Qbic Hotel Amsterdam WTC
#142 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,269 reviews
0.4 mi away
citizenM Amsterdam
citizenM Amsterdam
#37 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 3,764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West
0.9 mi away
Hotel Central Park
Hotel Central Park
#183 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 352 reviews
3.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Blue Square Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampshire Hotel - Beethoven Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampshire Hotel - Beethoven Amsterdam

Address: Beethovenstraat 43, 1077 HN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #225 of 357 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampshire Hotel - Beethoven Amsterdam 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hampshire Hotel – Beethoven is a comfortable and convenient three star hotel in the prestigious Beethovenstraat in the popular neighbourhood Oud-Zuid. Hampshire Hotel – Beethoven is centrally located in Amsterdam, near the city centre, the conference centre Amsterdam RAI, the World Trade Center (WTC) and the VU (university). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Travelocity, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Hampshire Hotel - Beethoven Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampshire Hotel Beethoven
Hampshire Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing