We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good 3 star hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampshire Hotel - Beethoven Amsterdam
Ranked #215 of 373 Hotels in Amsterdam
Reviewed July 11, 2012

We stayed in Hotel Beethoven in April 2012 for five nights. Hotel is classic 3* hotel. Very small lobby in front of the reception, Very small breakfast area, but breakfast is good (buffet style).
Staff is ok. But not very friendly. Rooms are very basic, but clean. Location of the hotel is approx. 5 km and it is a bit far to walk to city center, but we used tram (10 min ride) station is front of the hotel which is very convenient. Area of the hotel is nice, you can find almost everything you may need, and also there is couple of restaurants close by. All in all nice 3* hotel in magnificent city. Amsterdam is must see destination.

Room Tip: Try to get room with terrace, they are bigger and much more airy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sasa608
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (453)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

175 - 181 of 453 reviews

Reviewed July 7, 2012

The hotel staff was friendly, but the rooms were a little dirty. The walls were discolored and the beds lumpy. Overall I would say this hotel is average. Clean bathrooms. The hotel is very close to the tram with east access to Dam Square.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brooke1004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2012

We stayed overnight at this hotel and the location is brilliant - easy access to trams outside and direct link to long term and cheap parking at Olympic Stadium and also into heart of city. Supermarket, cafes, bakery and quality shopping all on doorstep of hotel. Rooms were clean and reasonably spacious for a European city. The staff were very helpful and gave practical advice for getting around Amsterdam. If I had a criticism (which is minor by comparison to the plus points of this hotel) is that the bedrooms were a little dated/tired and the breakfast area a little cramped and also a bit dated/tired. However I do not consider that these points are substantial enough to warrant any reduction in my 5 star review rating of this excellent hotel which overall represented great value for money.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
Thank StevenJ58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2012

I stayed in this hotel as I needed to be close to University and my expectations were not high after reading the reviews...but! the stay was perfect.

Rooms: perfectly clean, it has paid tv basic furniture and no mini-bar but I was amazed how this hotel was kept clean!

Staff: the receptionists were extremly polite, spoke perfect English and I would rate the service higher than in some 4* hotels.

WIFI was in the whole hotel but it was only free in the lobby, if you required connection in your room you would have to pay £10/24h.

The location: it was in a nice neighbourhood of amsterdam surrounded by the best restaurants I have visited, chocolate shop, cheese shop supermarket and it was very safe and lovely, quiet part of Amsterdam. To the city centre it takes you about 20 mins by tram 5 which is outside of the hotel.

I would stay in this hotel again!

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank radka1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2012

We began a two-week tour of Europe with a stay at a less-than-good hotel. There was construction all-around the building, there was NO parking, the room was way outdated, the service was below average. Avoid.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eagleterry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2012

This hotel is really easy to get to from Schipol airport. Just like it says on the hotel's own website.
Our room - 320 was rather plain, walls really needed a fresh coat of paint, preferably not just white, and a couple of pictures etc. It was in the 'Annex' part of the hotel and the corridors were also in need of a refurb.
Bathroom was OK but larger people may find the toilet space challenging!
We had a small balcony with a small wooden folding table, and two matching chairs, and were visited by the occassional pigeon. The view of the nearby back gardens was pleasant.
We thought that breakfast at 10 Euros each was rather expensive and decided instead to buy croisants etc from the nearby large supermarket, which was staffed by very friendly, English speaking check-out assistants. However, be aware that the shop Albert Heijn although being a large chain, does not take credit cards, only Maestro, so all purchases have to be made with cash. On only our second visit to this store, we were offered their Bonus card, which gives automatic discounts.
We bought a 72 hours (3 days) Amsterdam City Card for 60 Euros each. This gave us unlimited tram rides around the city (a 24hr pass is 7.5 Euros), a canal cruise for 1 hour, and access to a good number of museums and attractions. We visited two or three museums each day average cost 8-12 Euros each, so for 20 Euros a day the Amsterdam Card was good value for us.

Room Tip: Front facing rooms may have noise from trams. Back facing rooms overlook gardens of the next street...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rainbows75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2012

We enjoyed our stay at the Beethoven Hotel. We walked with our luggage from Amsterdam Zuid Railway station to the hotel (about 20mins). We thought about catching the Route 5 tram, but it was a pleasant afternoon and the walk along leafy Beethovenstraat provided a good introduction to Amsterdam.
The hotel is situated in a reasonably quiet neighbourhood near pretty canals with a range of cafes, restaurants, convenience stores and other shops within walking distance.
Our room was at the front of the hotel overlooking Beethovenstraat and was large enough to be comfortable and had everything we needed. Our room like other areas of the hotel, was decorated with musical motifs and Beethoven paraphernalia. The small breakfast room adjoined the hotel lobby and doubled as a WiFi lounge providing the only free internet in the hotel. The breakfast arrived via a “dumb waiter” and was quite adequate with both hot and cold selections.
We were a little concerned that we might have been staying a bit far away from the city action, but the hotel proved to be just a 20min tram ride away from Dam Square via trams on routes 5 and 24. There was a tram stop just out the front of the hotel and tickets and maps for public transport were available at hotel reception.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the hotel may be quieter, although the trams didn't worry us in our room ov...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beyondmetoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Washington
Hotel Washington
#266 of 373 in Amsterdam
509 reviews
Best Western Delphi Hotel
#175 of 373 in Amsterdam
524 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia
Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia
#111 of 373 in Amsterdam
880 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Amsterdam Tropen Hotel
#135 of 373 in Amsterdam
858 reviews
Qbic Hotel Amsterdam WTC
#91 of 373 in Amsterdam
1,735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampshire Hotel - Beethoven Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampshire Hotel - Beethoven Amsterdam

Address: Beethovenstraat 43, 1077 HN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #215 of 373 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: $84 - $307 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampshire Hotel - Beethoven Amsterdam 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you’re enjoying a city break or are on a business trip; you find a warm and friendly welcome at the Hampshire Hotel Beethoven in Amsterdam Zuid (South). The hotel is conveniently situated in the prestigious ‘Beethovenstraat’, a street best known for its luxury shops and variety of trendy bars and restaurants for fine wining and dining. The neighbourhood ‘Amsterdam Oud Zuid’ is a beautiful area and great to experience every day Amsterdam life at its best. Enjoy tasty classic dishes at Brooks Brasserie. The brasserie is available for a cup of coffee, drinks, light meal, breakfast, lunch or dinner. Looking for the hustle and bustle of the Amsterdam city centre? With trams stopping right on the hotel’s doorstep, you get there fast and easy. Or stop on the way at interesting spots such as the newly renovated Rijksmuseum, the beautiful Vondelpark, the Albert Cuijp market and the vibrant Leidseplein with its bars, terraces, shops, cinemas and the new DeLaMar Theatre. Close to Hampshire Hotel Beethoven is the Amsterdam Zuid (South) station, from which metro 50 takes you directly to Amsterdam Arena. Here you find the ArenA football stadium, the Ziggo Dome concert hall, the Heineken Music Hall and much more to keep you entertained. Travelling for business? Due the location of our hotel in the South of Amsterdam it is also very popular with business travellers. The Amsterdam RAI convention centre and the Amsterdam WTC (World Trade Centre) are within walking distance and also the Amsterdam VU (university) is easily accessible. Hampshire Hotel Beethoven offers an outstanding service and comfortable rooms. With a private bathroom with bath tub or shower, flat screen TV, coffee and tea making facilities, a laptop safe and Wi-Fi internet free of charge, you will find all the comfort you need to unwind and recharge for the next day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hampshire Hotel - Beethoven Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampshire Hotel Beethoven
Hampshire Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing