We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“It was great for one night” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Conscious Hotel Museum Square

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Conscious Hotel Museum Square
Ranked #89 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“It was great for one night”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2014

Had a lovely stay here. It's a couple of hundred yards from Museum plein and the number 5 tram stop, to take you back into Amsterdam Central for a couple of Euros (if you get a cab here from the main station it will cost you about 20 Euros). The staff were friendly and helpful. The rooms were just a bit dull. I didn't feel overly 'conscious' about anything, although the taps and shower were eco friendly and the shower gel was a refillable nailed to the wall to stop the hotel guests pocketing their toiletries! Eco-friendly for the hotel, I'm sure.
The sunday morning breakfast was a lovely buffet served up by superwoman who clearly needed a helper. Liked her lots. If you want peace and quiet, check this place out.

Room Tip: Both our rooms were on the ground floor. Maybe it gets more exciting the higher you go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Antoniofiorucci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

861 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    324
    386
    112
    19
    20
See reviews for
178
360
50
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2014

We booked here because the Hotel is close to Amsterdam's Concertgebouw where we had booked a concert. The location could not be any better for this and it is also very close to the Van Gogh museum and the Rijksmuseum.. The Hotel's other selling point is it's eco credentials. they do keep telling you about it but why not- as far as I'm concerned it is an excellent feature. And what is it like as a hotel? We were very pleased with it. The receptionist went to a lot of trouble - without even being asked - to help us with a parking problem, and all the staff seemed friendly and efficient. Naturally, being Dutch ,they all spoke good English. The room was large and comfortable although there was no kettle for making tea or coffee. Perhaps it's an ecological thing!
We thought the breakfast was good and you could help yourself to plenty.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nicholas H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petah Tiqwa, Israel
Level Contributor
254 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2014

First I'll state the problems with this hotel: it's on the expensive side for what it offers, and doesn't even include breakfast in the price. If you pay for breakfast, you get very little even compared to 3-star hotels, for quite a high price. There was also no refrigerator in our room (they charge extra for this!). There was no kettle in the room, maybe because they're trying to be environmentally conscious (not sure).

Other than that, I really have no complaints. The location is almost as good as it gets, it's close to the major museums of Amsterdam and a number of tram lines to the center (we mainly used 5, 16).

The rooms were large and clean, and everything looked new. There was a large bathtub and everything was provided for, with enough glasses, towels, etc. The aforementioned inconveniences posed significant problems for us, but it's hard to complain about something that seems to be acceptable in most Amsterdam hotels. Still, maybe this is something that all Amsterdam hotels should improve (learn from e.g. Italy) instead of tourists having to get used to it.

The staff members were helpful and we were able to acquire the iAmsterdam City Card at the hotel itself. The hotel has a large lobby where one can sit and plan the day's itinerary while talking to the staff.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ynhockey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2014

We were an hour early than the check in time, so we had to wait for about 30 mins for our room to be ready which is understandable - so we just relaxed and hung out in the lobby which is close to the garden. It was calm, warm and beautiful.

The staff there were pleasant and extremely friendly. The Dutch speak perfect English and explained things very well so its not difficult to get by in Amsterdam!

The bathroom was modern and clean as well. The room was neat, tidy and stylish. Just the basic essentials at its best. They also have multiple fuse/plugs/outlets. Only complaint though is that the pillows were too soft that we had to fold it in two, but still.

Oh, and they have TVs with news channel in English and movies and the likes, we ended up watching Dr. Phil! In Amsterdam! Haha.

Location is just perfect. Halfway to the center and airport. Just take the 197 bus to and from Schipol. Don't worry about transportation cause there's trams and you could rent a bicycle. Plus its a small city so you could just walk.

All in all, a great hotel to just unwind in after a whole day's worth of walking. I felt pretty posh to have been there considering I was on a tight budget.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Syatrah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for a couple of nights with a large family group across 5 rooms. Each room had just the right amount of space for its purpose and the eco approach was stylish but unobtrusive. Had the very British dissapointment of not having free tea and coffee facilities offered in the room but apart from that the staff were lovely and helpful, the location was great (not too central but city within easy reach) and through booking.com we got a very decent price.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Thom H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2014

Boring rooms, boring bordering on rude staff and pretty average to below average rooms.
More like a motel really!
Dirty walls, moldy muffins left out on breakfast counter, no one cleaned the room and reception staff really not interested, I guess they have good job security because they are pretty lousy at there job.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Adeca25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2014

We shared a triple with our 18yr old daughter. The layout suited us perfectly (room 403) and provided excellent value-for-money in an enjoyable location, with a number of excellent bars and restaurants nearby. Staff were delightful. We did not eat breakfast at the hotel, prefering the cheaper option of the coffee stand in front of the Rijksmuseum, where husband and self sat outside under blankets and bought hot chocolate and croissant back to hotel for late-rising teenager!

My sole criticism relates to the pillows, of which there was a choice of two: rock hard and massive or wispily thin and soft - something in the middle would have been better - though it didn't stop our Goldilocks sleeping well.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Swillbos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Vondelpark
Conscious Hotel Vondelpark
Conscious Hotel Vondelpark
#93 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,123 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Aalders
Hotel Aalders
#55 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,198 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia
Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia
#105 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 796 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vondelpark
Hotel Apple Inn
Hotel Apple Inn
#85 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 452 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Espresso
Hotel Espresso
#98 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 748 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken
Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken
#88 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 905 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Conscious Hotel Museum Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Conscious Hotel Museum Square

Property: Conscious Hotel Museum Square
Address: De Lairessestraat 5-7, 1071 NR Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier) , Museumplein
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#72 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#92 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#100 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Conscious Hotel Museum Square 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conscious Hotel Museum Square is a new type of place to stay designed with today’s independent and discerning travellers in mind. The hotel has a beautiful, cutting edge, contemporary interior but also a sustainable operation designed to be kind to the planet. The choice of how ‘green’ guests want to be is completely up to them and there’s a playful side to the hotel that shows up in little eccentric details. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Conscious Hotel Museum Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Museum Square Amsterdam
Amsterdam Museum Square Hotel
Museum Square Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing